1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ Tech Tree

Discussion in 'CivRev - Strategy & Tips' started by sigmakan, Jun 9, 2008.

  1. sigmakan

    sigmakan Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    217
    I posted this over on the offical Firaxis forums, but I figured this was a more appropriate place for it anyway since eventually this site will be the central discussion of CivRev strategies. I recorded all the techs available in the demo with what they do, how many beakers, and what you get for getting it first.

    Alpha Version:


    Cost Version:


    One thing I noticed in my most recent game is that I think the bonuses that apply to every city also apply to cities founded after you got the bonus. This is HUGE, especially for the Irrigation bonus (+1 population). Beelining for this tech seems like a viable strategy, because getting it will help your growth immensely.

    Also, I'm going to try and get some info on the advance techs that are still locked in the demo but it may be harder now with a new map(and Cleo doesn't start with Colussus :(). I'll try to keep you guys updated, but if anyone figures out info about the advance techs please post below.

    Thanks!
     
  2. vale

    vale Mathematician

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    742
    Location:
    San Antonio
    I don't remember everything exactly that was unlocked by these techs but the bonuses for first to:

    corporation is +5 gold in each city
    communism is -33% factory cost
    mass production is a free modern infantry

    You can get locked technologies by finishing the tech tree then discovering atlantis.

    You should repost this in the new strategy and tips section also. Nice work.
     
  3. sigmakan

    sigmakan Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    217
    Yea I was trying to do the Atlantis thing, but I accidentally stumbled on the next to it while trying to backfill some techs and I ended up with worthless techs like Ceremonial Burial, Masonry and something else. Now I can't try that amazing Egypt start anymore because the map changed :(

    EDIT: Oh I didn't realize there was a strategy section up already! If a mod could move this topic there that would be great!
     
  4. Ginger_Ale

    Ginger_Ale Lurker Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    8,802
    Location:
    Red Sox Nation
    Moderator Action: Moved, since is more about strategy.

    I will try to update the site with this info soon, but thanks a lot! :)
     
  5. Ferrum Rex

    Ferrum Rex Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    great job man. thanks. I found it a little hard to recognize the contents of the techs.( Im sure that would be fixed with a civilopedia though. )
     
  6. holiday_hawk

    holiday_hawk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    885
    Location:
    Beallsville, Ohio, USA
    i noticed that theres a lot more first to discover reward than on civ IV i thought that was pretty cool
     
  7. Ginger_Ale

    Ginger_Ale Lurker Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    8,802
    Location:
    Red Sox Nation
    Hi sigmakan,

    I have created the page for technologies based on the information in this chart (although it isn't public yet), but I am wondering when/if you plan to update this for all technologies (that is, do you plan on getting the game at a certain date?). Also, if anyone else has other technologies and their corresponding info and wants to post it here, that would be great. This chart has been really helpful. :goodjob:
     
  8. the_ilest

    the_ilest Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    California
    the only one that i think you forgot was the the one that gives you the free airplane fighters, to bad i cant remember what it was called.
     
  9. vale

    vale Mathematician

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    742
    Location:
    San Antonio
    That would be flight.

    And advanced flight gives you bombers.

    But they are locked in the demo and you are up to the whim of the RNG if you get them off of Oxford.
     
  10. durecellrabbit

    durecellrabbit Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Democracy gives you a free Pikeman.
     
  11. KrikkitTwo

    KrikkitTwo Immortal

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    12,283
    Yes, Democracy and CoL can't give the free bonus in the demo because of the Romans and the Greeks being present.

    PS has anyone figured out exactly how the Tech tree Works? ie what is required to unlock a specific tech (besides at least one of the Prerequisites, what aspect of chance is involved, etc.)
     
  12. PaperBeetle

    PaperBeetle Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,660
    Location:
    London
    Still a mystery to me. The manual says "It is possible to research a new technology as soon as you have researched at least one of its prerequisite techs. Researching a tech before you know all of its prerequisite techs increases the new tech's research time, however."
    Both these statements appear to be incorrect. If we needed only one prereq to research a tech, a military win would require only two techs: Riding > Feudalism. As for the assertion about increased cost, I just got offered the "jump" from Alphabet straight to Literacy or Laws, and chose Literacy. The listed cost was 90 beakers. I then bought Writing from the AI, and the cost for Literacy remained at 90.
     
  13. KrikkitTwo

    KrikkitTwo Immortal

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    12,283
    Well I think
    1. At least one prerequisite IS required
    2. Techs probably require a specific ERA to be reached before they can be researched
    3. There may be a chance element
    4. More prerequisites probably increases the chance that you will be able to research a tech
     
  14. Croc

    Croc Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    I think it's one of the direct pre-requisites. So basically one of the techs that directly (not via another tech) link (white line) to the target tech .

    I read somewhere it works on an OR method, not AND like previous civs. So like I said, only one of the direct pre-req's is required.
     
  15. KrikkitTwo

    KrikkitTwo Immortal

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    12,283
    Well its not ONLY or

    ie Horseback Riding dosn't open up Feudalism even though it is directly linked
     
  16. Sandman2512

    Sandman2512 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    In the tech tree there are different sections, for instance you start with access to the first section. I think to reach the next section, you need a technology from the section before that section. Then to research the individual technologys you need to have researched one of the technologys that is connected to it by a white arrow.
     
  17. durecellrabbit

    durecellrabbit Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    I was testing a bit earlier as the Greeks and Chinese. I got Irrigation every time after I research pottery. Construction sometimes needed just Masonary and others both techs. Maths needed boths techs every time. Horseback Riding never opened Feudalism. The Chinese writing opened up new techs while the Greeks democracy didn't. I'm leaning towards a chance everytime you get a pre-requisites provided the unlocked tech is in your current or past era group. I'll need to try leaving Horseback Riding until I get to the middle ages. Me getting Irrigation shows that some techs might be easier to unlock with one pre-requisites or that the RNG was having fun.
     
  18. KrikkitTwo

    KrikkitTwo Immortal

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    12,283
    It would make sense to do something like

    Tech knowledge is acquired

    Check Locked techs that the tech you just reseached connects to

    IF Tech is in current or previous Era
    Unlock tech with chance=# of Prerequisites known / # of Prerequisites tech has*

    *Prerequisites might be Weighted here (probably based on how high level they are, or their cost)

    That way
    1. once all prerequisites are known the tech is unlocked
    2. the tech will not be unlocked unless a prerequisite is researched
     
  19. sigmakan

    sigmakan Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    217
    Well at one point was planning on importing the game, but they wouldnt take my credit card so unfortunately I have to wait until July 8th to get the game. If someone else wants to finish up the techs then feel free to do so, but I'll probably be finishing up my spreadsheet once I get the game.
     
  20. Ginger_Ale

    Ginger_Ale Lurker Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    8,802
    Location:
    Red Sox Nation
    That's no problem. A lot of people won't have the game until July 8th as well, so that information can wait. Thanks again.
     

Share This Page