1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

civ v demo release time announced: 10 AM eastcoast, 7 AM westcoast, 4 PM middle europ

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Necro-, Sep 20, 2010.

  1. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    31,449
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    The game is steam exclusive, so will be the demo. The answer is yes, you need a steam account.
     
  2. GeoModder

    GeoModder Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    7,512
    Just whiling away the minutes...
     
  3. maurizio_if

    maurizio_if Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    tuscany
    can we have the link please?
     
  4. maurizio_if

    maurizio_if Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    tuscany
  5. Johnny Be

    Johnny Be Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Lisbon - Portugal
    20 min. pass the hour and still no demo! :(

    And the civfanatics site e barely holding itself :lol:
     
  6. Muchos24

    Muchos24 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Is the demo up yet???
     
  7. Red Adept

    Red Adept Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    demo finally went up at 26 after the hour.
     
  8. happyturtle

    happyturtle Mrs GrumpyOldCivver

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    860
    I got this off the 2k forums:

    Use check for updates or restart the client, then using steam://install/65900 in run will work

    I've got the demo downloading now. It's also trying to update the main install, but I paused it in hopes of getting the demo sooner than the two hours it first quoted me.
     
  9. Kurgan

    Kurgan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Messages:
    60
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Brussels
    The demo is up:goodjob:
     
  10. Jamesds

    Jamesds Great Scientist

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,158
    Location:
    Highlands, Scotland Uni: St Andrews
    The demo is up, use this link in Windows explorer or Start > Run, or whatever: steam://install/65900

    20% downloaded so far!
     
  11. feelotraveller

    feelotraveller Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Just started downloading.
     
  12. Caeserportugal

    Caeserportugal Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    526
    Location:
    Portugal
    Currently downloading the demo
     
  13. GeoModder

    GeoModder Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    7,512
    Less then 10 minutes to finish the download now. :D
     
  14. ArenaMan

    ArenaMan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    On a boat
    Yes, at Steam. 10.30am.

    I don't think a link is possible, and if it is, I don't now how to do it.
     
  15. negyvenketto

    negyvenketto Scientist

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Location:
    Hungary
    OMG it's more than 4 Gig :cry:
    Why they didn't allow pre-load it as well :confused:
     
  16. -PET-

    -PET- Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Timisoara/Romania
    Downloading ... 4mb/s . Already at 20%
     
  17. LDeska

    LDeska LDeska

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    411
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Poland
    What is the size of Civ5 demo?
     
  18. 4nGeLuS

    4nGeLuS Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    ~4GB. Isn't that the same as the preload for the full game?
     
  19. Maestro_Innit

    Maestro_Innit Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    Derby, England
    Put this in your browser:

    steam://install/65900

    Although I can't get it to work in the UK yet :confused: Even from within the Steam client, the "Downoad Demo" button just does nothing :mad:
     
  20. JamesCivFan

    JamesCivFan King

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    604
    Location:
    Greece
    Exactly the same in Greece. I click on the download button and it does nothing. Wtf's going on ?
     

Share This Page