1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice
  1. 5StarGen.Xeno

    5StarGen.Xeno Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    So I heard that Rhye was retiring from mod making so does this mean he won't be making an RFC for Civ V?
     
  2. Jarlaxe Baenre

    Jarlaxe Baenre Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,958
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    This has been discussed already. The fan community will have to make it.
     
  3. nody

    nody Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,168
    Location:
    Noviomagus, Batavia
    I thought he wasn't sure about it. I only know for sure he is retired from Civ IV-modding and he doesn't made any promises for Civ V.

    No doubt he will check out Civ V and maybe he will get inspired again...
     
  4. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,589
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    AFAIK, he wants to make a RFC mod for civ V, if the coding isn't too hard. But he promised that RFCGW would get some priority.
     
  5. Dumanios

    Dumanios MLG

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,874
    I'm pretty sure he would wait for expansions that had Spain and the Incans in it.
     
  6. KMRblue1027

    KMRblue1027 The Crown!

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,181
    Location:
    Hamilton, NJ
  7. SalmonSoil

    SalmonSoil Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    358
    Incans can be represented with a city state. But Rhye has said he is concerned about a lack of Spain. (My personal opinion is that the upcoming double dlc contains Spain paired with either Incans or Portugeuse.)
     
  8. Magnificent One

    Magnificent One Stetsons are cool.

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    359
    Location:
    Scotland
    What other civ apart from Spain have they left out?
     
  9. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,046
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Poland :lol: (sorry, had to say it.)
     
  10. SalmonSoil

    SalmonSoil Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    358
    RFC just wont be the same without Poland.

    They also left out Mongolia and Mali. Songhai is pretty much a direct swap for Mali. I would pick Ottomans over Mongols any day but it seems that a lot of people like Mongolia.
     
  11. Baldyr

    Baldyr "Hit It"

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    5,530
    Location:
    Sweden
    I think I'll mod out Mongolia as playable Civ in my own version of RFC and script the Civ historically instead. Because the AI simply isn't going to do what its supposed to.
     
  12. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    I never said that.
    I gave no guarantees, but my intention is to make it, when it's possible for me to work on it. Considering I also ahve to learn Lua, and that there isn't Spain yet, I hope that Christmas time will be an appropriate time for an alpha release.
     
  13. LuKo

    LuKo The Royal Guard

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Poland
    I feel proud again XD

    BTW: I hope that both Spain and Mongolia appears in RFC for ciV (instead of Aztecs, Siam or any "strange" civs)
     
  14. killerkebab

    killerkebab Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    571
    You're planning to do an awful lot in three month's time. When you say "learn Lua", is this like in the Matrix where you just download it to your brain in a matter of seconds and get to work? ;)

    Also noticed civs missing from Civ 4:
    - Spain
    - Portugal
    - Netherlands
    - Maya
    - Inca
    - Ethiopia
    - Carthage
    - Viking
    - Mongolia

    - Mali (though Songhai is similar, I guess)
    - Khmer (though Siam is similar in location)
    - Babylon (DLC)

    Is RFC possible without these?
     
  15. nody

    nody Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,168
    Location:
    Noviomagus, Batavia
    If the Portuguese are in, the Dutch must be in too!

    Spoiler :
    ...in my humble unbiased opinion.
     
  16. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    I stated "alpha". Which doesn't mean "beta". It could be just the map with spawn dates and auto-play.
    If anybody remembers Catapult alphas, that's what I'm talking about.
     
  17. civ_king

    civ_king Deus Caritas Est

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16,368
    IIRC Portugal, Netherlands, Maya, Ethiopia, Carthage, Babylon, Khmer, Mali and Viking were missing on initial release of Civ V, so that only leaves Spain, Inca and Mongolia

    Spain needs to be in and Inca can be represented by city states
     
  18. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,046
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    I'm not all into the Civ5 discussion ... what's 2K's stance on DLC in mods?
     
  19. SalmonSoil

    SalmonSoil Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    358
    They havn't announced anything yet, I'm thinking we'll find out pretty fast on the 21st though.
     
  20. ThatDude

    ThatDude Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Yeah, that's about how it works. But seriously, Lua is a remarkably simple (yet powerful) language which one could learn in a day (being good at is, of course, a different matter).
     

Share This Page