Civ VI is easy? I don't know...

oakdragon

Stagnating amongst the Siliconians
Supporter
I don't know what version of Civ Vi you all are playing, but I keep getting my butt handed to me on Prince. On this occasion, Sumeria just took my capital on turn 62. :(

Both Sumeria and my only other neighbor, China, had neutral but improving (positive modifier ratio) relationships with me. Sumeria surprised attacked me and then China did also a few turns later. China barely had an opportunity to slap one of my warriors, though, before Sumeria took my cap.

I know I'm no expert, but I usually comfortably won games on King level in Civ V. I suddenly understand why people want to ragequit sometimes. I'd never had that feeling before until Civ VI.

Because of the low warmongering penalty and early advantages the AI get you will always almost have to fend off an early game attack. After you do this the game is fairly easy.

I think the game is easy... if you take enemy cities early, have a good start position, and/or take favorable AI peace treaties.

The game is a lot harder if you have a smaller continent, can't expand as much, and only create just enough troops for defense.

Interesting, the game I lost came from just not having much expansion space, while trying to get an early religion and failing, while the game I dominated happened because I got attacked early, which led me to crank out units to kill everyone on my continent.

In my first game (Prince, which I am still playing), I chose playing on a large continents map and did not adjust the number of civs. It gave me a chance to just fend off the barbarians for awhile to get my feet wet and get a feel for the game. Would it have been the same on a standard map? I don't know.