1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ1 vs. Civ2 And 3!

Discussion in 'Civ2 - General Discussions' started by madman, Feb 19, 2001.

  1. madman

    madman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2001
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA. USA
    Okay, me and palehorse are talking civ and its eveloution. I feel that any civ after civ1 (including civ3) is a derivitive of the original. Yes civ2 and the like are different from the original, but how different are they? You add a government here and there and some units and a little better graphics and walla, you have a new version of the same game. Now, Im not saying that is bad, Im simply stating that civ2 is not that much different from the original. Oh tell me the ways Im wrong.

    "I have not yet begun to fight"


    ------------------
    madman
     
  2. Thunderfall

    Thunderfall Administrator Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    12,134
    Gender:
    Male
    I agree. It was a good thing that Microprose didn't make Civ2 completely different from Civ1...

    [This message has been edited by Thunderfall (edited February 20, 2001).]
     
  3. Cedric Greene

    Cedric Greene Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Messages:
    751
    Location:
    CT
    I think that this should be obvious, as the game is called Civilization <u>II</u> and not something else. SMAC is the civilization idea tweaked and CTP is Civ turned to crap. But Civ II is and should be an evolved version of Civ

    ------------------
    "I could give you that advance, but then I'd have to kill you." -CivNet chat macro
     
  4. MrLeN

    MrLeN Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    Messages:
    308
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Yeah, of course they are the same. It's obvious. I don't see a point to even mention it.

    Civ three has an entirely new machine!!!

    Yaaaaaaay!!!

    MrLeN

    ------------------
    Where there is money, there are liars!
     
  5. Alcibiaties of Athenae

    Alcibiaties of Athenae Imperator

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2001
    Messages:
    5,995
    Location:
    Looking for da man
    I think of Civ-2 as being an update of civ-1. As better tech is discovered, the games are (hopefully) improved. I hope that civ-3 is familiar, but with more features and better graphics.

    ------------------
    All knowledge begins with the Phrase: I don't know
     
  6. MrLeN

    MrLeN Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    Messages:
    308
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    It will be all that and more, I am sure!

    I have great expectations for civ III <IMG SRC="http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/redface.gif" border=0>)

    MrLeN

    ------------------
    Where there is money, there are liars!

    [This message has been edited by MrLeN (edited February 25, 2001).]
     
  7. vladmir_illych_lenin

    vladmir_illych_lenin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2000
    Messages:
    884
    Location:
    Civ Fanatics
    I wonder why they are spending all that effort on the graphics. Firaxis should start reading our posts, and make better diplomacy and AI.

    The diplomacy sucks cause:
    AI gets an advantage-can make multiple demands, can declare war at will, and can form alliances so easily

    AI sucks cause:
    well, you know

    The goal for CivIII to aim at is decent AI and diplomacy!
     
  8. MrLeN

    MrLeN Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    Messages:
    308
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    At their site they say that they are paying ALOT of attention to diplomacy.

    MrLeN

    ------------------
    Where there is money, there are liars!
     
  9. vladmir_illych_lenin

    vladmir_illych_lenin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2000
    Messages:
    884
    Location:
    Civ Fanatics
    Yes, but all they showed us in detail so far is the graphics.



    [This message has been edited by vladmir_illych_lenin (edited February 25, 2001).]
     
  10. MrLeN

    MrLeN Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    Messages:
    308
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Well...

    It's pretty hard to show pictures of diplomacy! *hehe*

    MrLeN

    ------------------
    Where there is money, there are liars!
     
  11. vladmir_illych_lenin

    vladmir_illych_lenin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2000
    Messages:
    884
    Location:
    Civ Fanatics
    Show the dip screen, or actually showing the AI winning. nah, that'll give away too much of the game.
     
  12. MrLeN

    MrLeN Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    Messages:
    308
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    LOL

    Patience is a virtue. They said they are working on it, and I believe them

    Sid always 'never' fails

    MrLeN

    ------------------
    Where there is money, there are liars!
     
  13. vladmir_illych_lenin

    vladmir_illych_lenin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2000
    Messages:
    884
    Location:
    Civ Fanatics
    Sid isn't even working on it. He's just a "director".
     
  14. MrLeN

    MrLeN Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    Messages:
    308
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Yeah, he's director of programming, so what he says goes.

    Does that mean that Bush isn't running the country because hes not digging the trench on 3rd ave?

    I think Bush is the president now?

    I know Clinton was 'or something?

    LOL

    MrLeN

    ------------------
    Where there is money, there are liars!
     
  15. Håkan Eriksson

    Håkan Eriksson Commander of the Swedes.

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    1,767
    Location:
    Göteborg, Sweden
    Is call to power realy that bad s everyone says? I never tested it myself.

    ------------------
    This is my cool book:
    John Valdez, vladmir_illych_lenin, Thunderfall, shadowdale, stormerne, Stellar Converter
     
  16. vladmir_illych_lenin

    vladmir_illych_lenin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2000
    Messages:
    884
    Location:
    Civ Fanatics
    I guess your right. I watched too many gangster movies. I thought it was going to turn out where Sid is being used as a puppet so they could lable the game under his name and have good reputation.
     

Share This Page