1. Firaxis celebrates the "Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month", and offers a give-away of a Civ6 anthology copy (5 in total)! For all the details, please check the thread here. .
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We have selected the winners of the Old World random draw and competition. For the winning entries, please check this thread.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Old World has finally been released on GOG and Steam, besides also being available in the Epic store . Come to our Old World forum and discuss with us!
    Dismiss Notice

[C3C] Civ3 on wine (mac) not working

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Macintosh' started by Tooves, Jan 5, 2019.

  1. Tooves

    Tooves Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Hey, (I hope there are still people active on this). Recently downloaded my favorite game ever on my mac using wine, playonmac, and after installing everything, running the game through steam I cant get past the intro movie, I either click through it, and get a black screen (through it appears the game still functions (If i click in random positions on the screen I hear the sounds for game options being selected and can even start a new game (i can hear the music) but the screen is black so I can't play.
    I tried letting the entire intro movie play and get the same result. I have searched all over for a fix, but can't seem to find one.

    Anyone have a fix? my OS version is Mojave.

    Moderator Action: Moved to Civ3 Macintosh forum. leif
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 4, 2019
  2. Inoé

    Inoé Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    I am having the same issue. Did you manage to fix it? Anyone has an idea of what to do?
     
  3. Puppeteer

    Puppeteer Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    Silverdale, WA, USA
    Many months later, and from someone who has never tried to install or use Civ3 on a Mac...

    Try editing Conquests.ini under /<game-location>/Conquests/ and add PlayIntro=0 under the [Conquests] section header. This should skip the intro movie and go straight to the menu.

    You might also try adding KeepRes=1 in the same place. That prevents it from trying to change your native screen resolution. There is also a setting to make it windowed instead of full-screen, and that may also be worth a try, but I don't recall what that setting is and can't find it just now.

    Also, I haven't messed with Wine (on Linux) in years—maybe a decade or more—but there used to be the free version and the paid version, and only the paid one included DirectX support, and Civ3 does need DirectX support. (Actually if I recall, you could compile it yourself if you knew how, but they sold the binaries with DirectX. But again, this was many, many years ago and surely Wine has evolved since then.)

    Edit: It looks like the modern free Wine includes DirectX support. DirectX 9 (-like libraries) should be backward-compatible with the DirectX 8 Civ3 uses in the general sense. No idea how well that translates to reality:

    From the Wine Wiki FAQ:
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2020

Share This Page