1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ4 Beyond the Sword Patch v3.17

Discussion in 'News Updates' started by Thunderfall, Jun 18, 2008.

  1. Thunderfall

    Thunderfall Administrator Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    12,131
    Gender:
    Male
    With a lot of focus and attention on the upcoming Colonization game, Firaxis in a surprising move released a new patch today for Beyond the Sword, labelled version 3.17. This version builds upon the previous one, 3.13, as well as Bhruic's unofficial patch. The new v3.17 patch incorporates numerous bug fixes, gameplay tweaks, and additional features like new map scripts. To view a changelog that lists all the modifications, please see this post.

    Almost 170 MBs in size, the patch is certainly large but well worth it. You can download it in-game by selecting "Advanced" from the main menu and then "Check for Updates". Alternatively, you can download the patch directly from one of the download mirrors below:

    Download Mirrors:
    Atomic Gamer | Strategy Informer | FileShack | GamersHell | WorthPlaying | FileFront

    The patch has likely been released on Direct2Drive as well for individuals who purchased the game online. At first glance, it also seems that the patch is compatible with saves from version 3.13, so you can continue old games.

    Thanks to Astax and Ginger_Ale for the news tip.

    >> Download the new patch
    >> Discuss the new patch
     
  2. OzJeremy

    OzJeremy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I wish they'd finally make the damn thing DVD-independent. I'm not carrying DVDs around with my laptop, which means that until someone releases a no-cd for this version I'm stuck with the last patch.

    Come on, Firaxis, other companies can treat their customers with respect. DVD copy protection doesn't stop the pirates - it just makes people who've just purchased your game hang around on sites full of pirates.
     
  3. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,046
    Location:
    In orbit
    Tried DLing from the DL Database: estimated DL time +1 hr! (Alternate DL location: 7+ mins.);)
     
  4. J-man

    J-man Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,087
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Nijmegen, the Netherlands
    Finally! It's about time, although I thought they where never gonna release a post 3.13 patch. Better late then never.
     
  5. Nicopol

    Nicopol Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    216
    nice to see the long long waited patch :goodjob:
     
  6. fed1943

    fed1943 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Just patched.
    My old saves no longer work.
    Just one pitboss the host said he fixed the game to run with the patch.
    Can someone help me,please? I know nothing of computers.
    My thanks in advance.
     
  7. MacGyverInSpace

    MacGyverInSpace Monarch

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    312
    Location:
    a.k.a. a.a.5, toasters. . . .
    Holy crap... I never thought about that, most of the gamers I know download no-cd's and are tempted by the pirate dls beside them. Sometimes thats the only place to get a no cd, from a .torrent or other dl with illegal .iso files in it. . .
    they ARE hurting themselves!

    Also, YAY PATCH!
     
  8. cephalo

    cephalo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    I hope the SDK comes out soon. My mod is totally broken.
     
  9. Borya

    Borya Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    98
    His name is Bhruic :)
     
  10. Rub'Rum

    Rub'Rum Hates acronyms

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    4,582
    Location:
    Québec
    I've never thought of it that way, but it's so very true.
     
  11. Ginger_Ale

    Ginger_Ale Lurker Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    8,802
    Location:
    Red Sox Nation
  12. chasbolt

    chasbolt RTO

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,825
    Location:
    Lewes, DE
    I only know to uninstall it if you can. I tested it on my desktop and I couldn't play my PBEM games or previous saves. :( I left my laptop alone to keep playing. For now.

     
  13. Luckystrike77

    Luckystrike77 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    548
    Location:
    Kingdom of Norway
    God damn I'm thrilled! Downloading ASAP!
     
  14. Öjevind Lång

    Öjevind Lång Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,371
    YIPEE! YAY! :lol::lol::lol::cool::crazyeye::goodjob::D
     
  15. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,134
    Location:
    israel
    anyone knows when we'll get our hands on the new sdk?
     
  16. cephalo

    cephalo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    It comes in the patch, I forgot this also.
     
  17. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,134
    Location:
    israel
    thanks, thats what i thought.
     
  18. arkguy

    arkguy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    Arkadelphia, AR
    Have it down loaded on to a cd, where and how do I load it? Do I just sllick and drag it in a folder and if so which one? Or just doulbe click on the file and it automatically down loads where it is supposed to. Have the RiseofMankind 2 mod down loaded but not sure if this is is in the right place.
     

Share This Page