1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ4 HUD Color Utility

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Utility Programs' started by Lemon Merchant, Jul 25, 2011.

  1. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Professional Killjoy Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7,208
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    ****************** Civilization 4 (BTS) HUD Color Tool ******************

    Now improved! Version 2 has been released with source code.

    Well, kids, I got so fed up with how difficult it is to edit HUD colors in BTS, that I made a little gizmo to do the job.

    This handy little application will allow you to dial up your HUD color of preference and save it to your theme file, without any drama at all.

    This is what it looks like:
    Spoiler :


    You can get pretty much any color under the rainbow. Here is an unfortunate example: :p

    Spoiler :


    And you can find it here in the download section: http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=17360


    Be sure to read the readme file for instructions. I've tested it here at home and it runs fine. Please let me know if you get any hiccups.



    Have fun! :)
     
  2. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,442
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    If this works the way you say it does, then this is a fantastic utility, we need more people and ideas like this, so many many thx.

    Will try out Version 2.
     
  3. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    31,018
    Location:
    Germany / Netherlands
    That alpha chanel value is probably controlling the transparency ;).


    At topic: Nice one :goodjob:. I'm sure it will be useful for some people :).
     
  4. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Professional Killjoy Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7,208
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    Re: #2. it changed by itself? That shouldn't happen. Did you bump the Alpha slider? The ingame picture looks about right, if that's what the color wound up as in #2.

    @ The_J: You are right. The transparency is controlled by the Alpha slider. I'm hoping that I can figure out a way to show a small Civ screenie with the color swatch on top, so that you will be able to better judge the transparency effect.

    I'm glad that you both liked the idea. Thanks for the encouragement. :)

    EDIT: I just took a peek, and I can't duplicate Strat's problem, but I found a quirk that I don't like. I'll fix it this week while I do the transparency thing and release as version 2. Version 1 is fully functional, but the Reset doesn't work after the new colors are saved. You can only use Reset before saving the colors. I'll tweak that. :)
     
  5. Asaf

    Asaf Sleep Deprived

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,326
    Very nice :goodjob:
    I always like seeing utilities which make life easier.

    Next stop - a full scaleform theme editor ;)

    BTW - any intentions of releasing the source code? (another thing I like seeing :lol:)
     
  6. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Professional Killjoy Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7,208
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    Once I release version 2, (probably today, I'll zip the source in with it). I'm just fixing a couple of visual bugs that don't affect the operation of the app, they just bug me. :)

    I might just tackle an editor as "something to do."

    Normal women do gardening, crafts... My hobby is being a total dork. :lol:
     
  7. Asaf

    Asaf Sleep Deprived

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,326
    I was always under the impression that being a dork is normal ;)

    I've been searching for a scaleform editor (at least according to the scaleform website, civ is the first game to use scaleform), but it seems that today they only use flash as a standalone editor. I don't know if it's relevant for this old version...
     
  8. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Professional Killjoy Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7,208
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    Version 2 has been uploaded with source code.

    Enjoy. ;)
     
  9. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,442
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Oh goodie, i got the 1st d/l, YEAH!:p
     
  10. Asaf

    Asaf Sleep Deprived

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,326
    Thanks :goodjob:
     
  11. Optical

    Optical The Fall of the Eleventh

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,734
    Location:
    Help me. I don't know where I am.
    :bowdown: I've been waiting for this for BAT for ages! This is a great utility for Civ, thanks LM! :goodjob:
     
  12. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Professional Killjoy Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7,208
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    De nada. :)
     
  13. Chazcon

    Chazcon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    475
    Location:
    Left Coast
    Just used this, VERY handy, thanks for posting it :)
     
  14. Civciv5

    Civciv5 Grand Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,103
    Location:
    Nergenshuizen, Belgium
    Error!
    Unable to make a backup copy of the file.
    The following exception has occured:
    Acces to the path '...' is denied!
     
  15. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Professional Killjoy Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7,208
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    Run the program as administrator.
     
  16. scatus

    scatus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    when i run the program it never loads. Is there something wrong with my .net installation
     
  17. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Professional Killjoy Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7,208
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    Can you elaborate? Do you get an error message when it doesn't load?
     
  18. scatus

    scatus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    no error messages whatsoever. i run the program as administrator and a small loading icon appears next to the mouse for a second and then goes away and the program never starts up.
     
  19. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Very useful utility. Thanks!
     
  20. hrochland

    hrochland Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,124
    Location:
    Czech Kingdom
    Yeah . I like that . Instead of a large number of HUD files we'll to suply our mods only your utility . I take it . It's great. thanks
     

Share This Page