1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ4 Warlords Info Center

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Thunderfall, Jul 3, 2006.

  1. DynamicSpirit

    DynamicSpirit Fear him of the pink tie Moderator GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    5,900
    Location:
    London, UK
    The fact that financial doesn't build banks fast anymore is nothing to do with Warlords. That change happened in the vanilla Civ 1.61 patch. I don't know about Warlords, but in the patch, nothing replaced it. Financial doesn't to my knowlege build anything faster. Reason is presumably that financial is powerful enough (even overpowered?) as it is.
     
  2. Rule Brittania

    Rule Brittania SAFC Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    Silves, Algarve, Portugal
    i see, i myself did not download the 1.61 patch but i didn't think that the financial was overpowered
     
  3. KrikkitTwo

    KrikkitTwo Immortal

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    12,316
    Ask your Avatar... it wasn't expansive that made her so great (Expansive isn't bad, but Financial was excessively good... although the banks were minimized.

    In any case, any time there is a Unique building/unit any thing that affects the base unit affects it (so Grenadiers get +50% v. Redcoats because redcoats are a type of Rifleman)
    and Shaka builds the ?Iskandra? faster because it is a type of Barracks [He is the only one that builds his UB fast]
     
  4. Jaybe

    Jaybe civus fanaticus Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,560
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Gherald, were you rolling over or clicking something to get that? I haven't been able to get that popup.
     
  5. Rule Brittania

    Rule Brittania SAFC Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    Silves, Algarve, Portugal
    This may have been asked before but when you insatll warlords can you continue with vannila civ saves???
     
  6. Gherald

    Gherald Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    You can still launch vanilla as usual, and finish them there.
     
  7. Gherald

    Gherald Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Jay, just mouse over one of the great specialsits
     
  8. pixiejmcc

    pixiejmcc Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    418
    Location:
    Ingleton, North Yorkshire
    Hey. I've noticed a couple changes that aren't mentioned in the manual, or in the information on the website.

    1. Stolen workers have no mp that turn.
    2. Chops no longer include modifiers. E.g. If I chop stonehenge with stone hooked up it won't double the amount of hammers the chop yields.

    (both are really huge changes imo)

    Has anyone noticed anything else like this?

    I guess another one would be the fact that beakers and gold (and presumably culture) are rounded to the nearest one-hundredth, which makes the whole 0%/100% micromanagement trick void (I'm kinda glad about that :D)
     
  9. Gherald

    Gherald Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    The chop not including modifiers is deceptive. What happens is those base hammers (e.g. 13 on quick speed w/o math) are added to the in-city hammer popup, THEN modified in the usual way, just like the "Overflow from previous build" ones. This is definitely a good thing once you realize what's going on, since you can better micro the tiles you're working on so the total hammers that turn is evenly divisible by 4 or 2 as needed. (hehe -- if you can't eliminate micro, at least make it easier : )

    Workers resisting for a turn is a very welcome change. You can of course still delete them if unwanted.
     
  10. DynamicSpirit

    DynamicSpirit Fear him of the pink tie Moderator GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    5,900
    Location:
    London, UK
    You mean they don't calculate hammers to the nearest 0.01 like gold etc.?

    For realism there really ought to be a -1 relationship modifier: 'You slaughtered our civilian workers when they were surrendering to you' ;)
     
  11. Gherald

    Gherald Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Of course not, hammers are fundamentally different. There is nothing like the slider converting commerce to science/gold at an arbitrary percentage.
    They were engineer corps :hammer:
     
  12. Zoo7

    Zoo7 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    I'm having a really annoying problem I hope someone might have a quick fix for. Whenever I get war weariness in a city and the game must choose a tile to stop working, it consistently picks the tile with the LARGEST food production. This often results in serious food deficit, and ultimately starvation. So I have to go in and correct the situation before it leads to population loss. For each city. And next turn when the war weariness gets worse, I have to do it again. It's driving me nuts :( WTF is up with that, and how do I fix it?
     
  13. Gherald

    Gherald Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Have you considered that maybe population loss in an unhappy city is a good thing?
     
  14. Samson

    Samson Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,483
    Location:
    Cambridge
    The big thing this changes is that you cannot change to a settler/worker during the turn and get the chops but change to a building for the IBT to get the growth. It elimenates an exploit.
     
  15. Watiggi

    Watiggi Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,107
    I don't understand: How does that stop that exploit?
     
  16. Gherald

    Gherald Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Because the chopped hammers are now just like regular production overflow, and are only applied at the end of the turn.
     
  17. Zoo7

    Zoo7 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    Not when the unhappyness is temporary.
     
  18. Watiggi

    Watiggi Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,107
    Oh ok. I will have to keep an eye on that. It does still get multiplied though, doesn't it? For instance, if an Imperialistic leader chops a settler, the production from the chop still gets increased +50%?
     
  19. pixiejmcc

    pixiejmcc Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    418
    Location:
    Ingleton, North Yorkshire
    So, the chop is added to the amount of hammers from worked tiles and specialists and then modified.

    :D I'm glad u noticed that.
     
  20. KrikkitTwo

    KrikkitTwo Immortal

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    12,316
    enable automated citizens and tell your city to focus on food. (and don't have avoid growth on)
     

Share This Page