1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ5 available for preload on Steam - NOW (September, 13th)

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Technical Support' started by mjs0, Sep 13, 2010.

  1. mjs0

    mjs0 The 4th X

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Central Florida
    If you preordered through Steam you can download Civ5 now.
    Moderator Action: Explanation: That means only downloading, you will not be able to play the game until the 21st/24th).

    Moderator Action: For information about Direct2Drive please look at this post.

    The download is 4,551.4Mb total.

    Also on the preload page is a selection of locked achievements (if that interests you):

    Vivre La Revolution - Beat the game on any difficulty setting as Napoleon.
    Treasure Hunter - Discover an ancient ruin.
    Moving on Up - Earn a Unit Promotion
    It's Super Effective - Destroy an enemy unit in just one hit.
    Peace and Prosperity - Begin a Golden Age.
    Second City - Found a second city.
    Seriously?!? - Have another Civ beat you to completing a Wonder 10 times.
    Engineer - Build a Wonder

    There are another 112 more if I am interpreting the next icon correctly.
    Moderator Action: For achievements see here

    I can't take credit for noticing this first that honor belongs to Shurdus:
    but I figured more people would notice it as a new thread!

    Moderator Action: Changed date in the thread title, because of the different date formats. Now it's more clear to everyone.
     
  2. ZimbuTheMonkey

    ZimbuTheMonkey King

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    638
    Location:
    Montreal
    Nice.

    Servers will have some breathing room come launch day. Hopefully we D2D customers get the key soon.
     
  3. .Shane.

    .Shane. Take it like a voter Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,233
    Location:
    NorCal
    Nice!
     
  4. Jamuka

    Jamuka Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    273
    What am I missing? I don't see the option to pre-load it.
     
  5. mjs0

    mjs0 The 4th X

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Central Florida
    In my Steam client I simply went into "LIBRARY->GAMES->Sid Meier's Civilization V" and the preload button was front and center.
     
  6. ZimbuTheMonkey

    ZimbuTheMonkey King

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    638
    Location:
    Montreal
    1. Did you order from Steam? (cause you have to)
    2. Did you restart Steam? (cause sometimes you have to)
     
  7. CommanderZ

    CommanderZ Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    Prague, Czech. Rep.
    I hope there are some more interesting achievements. A love achievements which are fun to attain :)
     
  8. Jamuka

    Jamuka Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    273
    Yeah, it was #2. Just tried that :)
     
  9. Akar

    Akar Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Screw you d2d
     
  10. ZimbuTheMonkey

    ZimbuTheMonkey King

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    638
    Location:
    Montreal
    Why?

    Were you not prepared for this? Why would you get to preload from a purchase made outside of Steam?

    Yeah, screw you D2D, for offering one of the best Civ V deals available (on top of a 10$ discount)... :confused:
     
  11. LegionSteve

    LegionSteve Motörhead

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,127
    Location:
    England
    Hmm, I had pretty much decided to pre-order the deluxe version from D2D, right after tonight's live stream if I like what I see. I don't care about the free civ 3 which I never liked and will probably never play. But I would like the free DLC.

    But now I may change my mind (again) if ordering from steam means I can pre-load it...
     
  12. Scramble

    Scramble Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    292
    Location:
    Canada
    Come on paypal... hurry up and get my money in my account
     
  13. mjs0

    mjs0 The 4th X

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Central Florida
    So...
    When you preload all the files are encrypted, but you do get to see the directory structure and file names.
    A couple of observations...
    - There is a tutorial directory
    - I cannot see any assets for Babylon or other DLC

    Map Scripts:
    • Archipelago.lua
    • Continents.lua
    • Earth_Duel.Civ5Map
    • Earth_Huge.Civ5Map
    • Earth_Large.Civ5Map
    • Earth_Small.Civ5Map
    • Earth_Standard.Civ5Map
    • Earth_Tiny.Civ5Map
    • Four_Corners.lua
    • Fractal.lua
    • Great_Plains.lua
    • Highlands.lua
    • Ice_Age.lua
    • InlandSea.lua
    • Lakes.lua
    • North_vs_South.lua
    • Oval.lua
    • Pangaea.lua
    • SmallContinents.lua
    • Terra.lua
    • TinyIslands.lua
    • West_vs_East.lua

    There are a few strange and intriguing filenames:
    Dinosaur.ani ???
    Deplete.ani
    Mutiny.ani
    AirLift.ani

    I don't have time to look at more now :(
     
  14. Solidamus

    Solidamus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Finland
    Yay! Preloading! It sure downloads fast, getting 2.1 MB/s.
     
  15. lietkynes

    lietkynes Hello sword !

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    883
    Location:
    Rome
    yay, downloading !




    p.s.
    I don't even know why I'm excited, the game is still locked for 11 more days aaargh :-(
     
  16. Shurdus

    Shurdus Am I Napoleon?

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    2,301
    Location:
    Settle in place
    Lol? I made that comment as a joke... :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D Because I figured ppl needed patience and I was wondering how many ppl would look and then get pissed. :p
     
  17. Shurdus

    Shurdus Am I Napoleon?

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    2,301
    Location:
    Settle in place
    7.4 MB/sec here, estimated downtime is a whopping 8 minutes in total.
     
  18. superdudeman

    superdudeman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Excellent. Now how do we HACK this mother so we can start playing it right NOW?!

    Who can hack steam? I demand a hacker.
     
  19. LegionSteve

    LegionSteve Motörhead

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,127
    Location:
    England
    I saw your post in the other thread and just assumed it was a joke, until I saw this thread.
     
  20. Shurdus

    Shurdus Am I Napoleon?

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    2,301
    Location:
    Settle in place
    I saw this thread and figured ppl had thought I was serious and jumped the bandweagon without checking... Haha. :lol:

    Btw it is in, took 9 munites. :D
     

Share This Page