1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ5 & Earth maps

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Rhye's and Fall of Civilization' started by Rhye, Oct 3, 2010.

  1. Elenhil

    Elenhil Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    254
    I see a squeezed Red Sea and Persian Gulf. I don't like it.
     
  2. Thor Macklin

    Thor Macklin Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    273
    Location:
    The state of Denial
    Yea neither do I, So I changed it back.

    And What tiles are wrong? Besides the Red Sea and the Persian
    Gulf there are no issues with my map. Actually I AM abit
    bothered with my southeastern asia edit, but I'm not
    sure how EXACTLY to add another row there.
    New map:
     

    Attached Files:

  3. killerkebab

    killerkebab Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    571
    Thor, consider making a hex map - then people might be more likely to take you seriously ;)
     
  4. Thor Macklin

    Thor Macklin Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    273
    Location:
    The state of Denial
    Yes of course, despite the allegations, I do know what I'm talking about.
    And I consider my suggestions to be entirely reasonable.

    But where, may I ask, would I be able to get a template to make a hex
    map?
     
  5. Mxzs

    Mxzs Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Google search = "hex grid generator" might do the trick. I don't know what software you're using, but between a generator, screenshots, and an image editor, you should be able to make a template.

    But wouldn't the easiest option be to take the import made by ecv (here) and make your edits to it? That would save you a lot of bother in trying convert the square-based map to a hex-based map by hand.

    I'm sorry if I'm misunderstanding you and being unhelpful. But I don't think I'm alone in being extremely puzzled: why are you offering up edits to a square-based map for a CiV RFC?
     
  6. Thor Macklin

    Thor Macklin Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    273
    Location:
    The state of Denial
    Well I am merely showing my map edit to the map to show that
    the changes I think should be made are VERY minor.

    I would make my edits to that map, but my time is vaguely
    limited and by the time I would make said changes I'm sure
    a new map would already be made. But none-the-less
    I shall make an effort to make my edits to a map.
     
  7. I_am_sin7

    I_am_sin7 Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    UK
    If those changes are so minor - is there any point in making them? I can't even tell what you changed....Aside from that, I imagine that any map made in civ 5 is going to be substantially different to the Rhyes one you used as an example.

    On topic, i've been playing the maps that rhyes has released, and i have noticed significant map slow downs towards the middle of the game - 20 odd seconds load time, in early middle ages. - no bugs etc, but i stupidly left a mod running in the back, so.
    I'll do better next time rhye i promise!

    I do have a recommendation for europe though, and that is to balance europe by essentially assigning spain to france, scandinavia and denmark to germany / russia perhaps, and ice land to the brits, or possible just inflate britain a bit more to balance out there percentage of land.
     
  8. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,306
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    I don't mind your changes, to be honest, but I also don't think they matter that much. And I especially don't think they constitute "realistic proportions" for Africa compared to Europe like you demanded before.
     
  9. Thor Macklin

    Thor Macklin Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    273
    Location:
    The state of Denial
    Yea, just take a close look and you'll see differences.

    But I also just posted it as an EXAMPLE. But I would gladly scrap my suggestion
    if a new, and better map were made.
     
  10. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,594
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    thor I just wanted to see where the Civ5 map can be improved, not the civ4 one, since it is different...
     
  11. Thor Macklin

    Thor Macklin Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    273
    Location:
    The state of Denial
    Yes I understand that. My reason for posting a cIV styled map
    is because square maps are easier to make then hexagon maps.
    Let me also note that despite the MASSIVE differences between
    the two maps, I just wanted to give you all a vague
    Idea of what I am talking about.

    But to go back and point out geographical issues.

    1. Eastern Europe is cramped. Not by much, just around poland.

    2. Western Europe overstreches into the atlantic, this can be fixed
    by making a SLIGHTLY larger africa. (as in just add afew rows
    and columns to africa and asia.)
    The issue with the overstrech
    is that is makes it possible for certain naval powers to meet
    south american civs too early. Merely add a single row of ocean
    to the atlantic to resolve this issue. (There is PLENTY of ocean.)

    3. Southern China, and Southern India
    Southern China and India need another row to
    help even them out. (Many european powers had
    colonies in India so another row would not give too much
    land to India.)
    See this area?
    http://i54.tinypic.com/2en7n9e.png
    Just add a row below that, this would remove the squeezed
    look that currently exists, also movement from China to
    India wouldn't be limited to 2 units.

    4. America, add a column to the area of the rockies, (check the map I
    posted to see what I mean.) and 2 rows: 1 for canada, and another
    so help give breathing room for america and any european colonies
    in the east coast.

    There, happy?
     
  12. I_am_sin7

    I_am_sin7 Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    UK
    playing the game to the later era as england - im thinking the larger map is too large - turn times are dragging by at 60 mins plus . of course on smaller maps it gets harder to field proper forces in the middle ages. although you could address that with modded rules.
     
  13. civ_king

    civ_king Deus Caritas Est

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16,368
    :eek: THat's a typo right?
     
  14. Thor Macklin

    Thor Macklin Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    273
    Location:
    The state of Denial
    Which map is this anyway?
    The RFC converted map or the one Rhye posted on this topic?
     
  15. Elenhil

    Elenhil Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    254
    Only one of them came in several sizes. Kind of easy to miss, I suppose, given the way this thread got inflated with pointless discussions recently...
     
  16. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,594
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    so, as everybody seems to agree with a middle way between the two sizes, I`ll make it.
    Thor, please post comments relevant to the civ5 map, not the civ4 one.
     
  17. I_am_sin7

    I_am_sin7 Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    UK

    ahh oh golly yes - 60 seconds sorry.Hhahah man that'd be some dedication:p.

    Rhye - have you seen max rigas ww1-2/ scenario. I've been playing it recently and I noticed that the way he implemented territory, for example, british canada is assigned by giving every tile in canada to one city, montreal. Interestingly, the AI doesnt build cities in territory already controlled by culture - this could be a neat method for controlling city growth in a future rhyes mod, by making culture cheap, and increasing hammer and gold production. Just a suggestion - ignore if it you already have plans.
     
  18. Thor Macklin

    Thor Macklin Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    273
    Location:
    The state of Denial
    *Facepalm* I DID. If it for some reason says civ IV in ANY way, it's a typo.
    The entire time I have been referring to the ciV map, me posting a civilization
    IV map was merely as a vague example to help give a mental picture.
    The suggestions I gave apply to ALL ciV earth maps. (not location specific
    earth maps mind you all.)

    I don't mean to sound angry but it seems that this sort of attitude is need to
    make my points.
     
  19. civ_king

    civ_king Deus Caritas Est

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16,368
    Once Firaxis works out the kinks with the Worker AI it should drastically reduce turn times meaning the large map should be entirely feasible when the get it fixed (devs have been working on it for three weeks)
     
  20. Acoustic

    Acoustic Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    It would prolly be in your best interest to wait before making any major decisions for the map. As the next update may bring down the time for turns, as stated before.
     

Share This Page