1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ5 for Mac on Its Way

Discussion in 'News Updates' started by Ginger_Ale, Oct 19, 2010.

  1. Ginger_Ale

    Ginger_Ale Lurker Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    8,802
    Location:
    Red Sox Nation
    According to forum member dojoboy, Aspyr Media, publisher of Civ3 and Civ4 for Mac, officially confirmed its plans to publish Civ5 during the holiday season (it seems no specific date has been given yet). Here is an email they sent out:

    >> See the forum thread
     
  2. civ_king

    civ_king Deus Caritas Est

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16,368
    Heck yes!
     
  3. Skwink

    Skwink FRIIIIIIIIIITZ

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    5,625
    Lets play this! Can't wait for it!
     
  4. Mathalamus

    Mathalamus Emperor of Mathalia

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    6,608
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Calgary.
    why do they release it for a mac anyways? macs aren't designed for gaming. and its market share is too low to make any decent profit from it.
     
  5. Meteor Man

    Meteor Man En Route to M81

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,579
    Location:
    Albuquerque
    Because there are tons of gamers that own macs. I don't happen o be one of them, but I see why they switched.
     
  6. Crezth

    Crezth What's Up, Danger?

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    10,352
    Location:
    Brooklyn
  7. Skwink

    Skwink FRIIIIIIIIIITZ

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    5,625
  8. Camikaze

    Camikaze Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    26,983
    Location:
    Sydney
    There's one thing I'd like to know. Will mods be compatible with the Mac version? That is the only issue that concerns me with this. Once the question is answered, I'll know which version to get. I'm sceptical that they will be compatible (and have no understanding of the technical mumbo jumbo necessary to form an educated opinion), but I feel stupid rushing into buying the Windows version if there's even a slim possibility that the Mac one will offer the exact same benefits.
     
  9. slowjames

    slowjames Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    I liked their ports of IV. I hope that they will release via steamplay, but I will probably rebuy the game for my macs if necessary.
     
  10. moopoo

    moopoo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    729
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Any of the mods out now will work on Macs, there won't be any conflict with XML, LUA or SQL. Mods that change the core files will probably work on Mac if they worked in Civ 4 on Macs, but I don't have a mac so I never looked into this :p
     
  11. Onagan

    Onagan The Dutch

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Location:
    Järfälla, Sverige
    happy with the announcement of Civ 5 for Mac, not happy with the company porting it.
     
  12. Dementual

    Dementual Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Their ports for IV weren't very good, so I hope they do better at not making me hate them this time.
     
  13. j51

    j51 Blue Star Cadet

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,035
    Location:
    Ping Island
    Wahoo! Now I can finally pick a side in the hate/love debate!
     
  14. KnoxvilleBuckeye

    KnoxvilleBuckeye Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Knoxville
    the big question is whether or not us Mac users who bought the game via Steam to play on our Bootcamp installs will have to pay a second time for our fix and will we have to pay extra to get the DLC that we have already paid for (i.e. the Deluxe edition)....
     
  15. AlanH

    AlanH Mac addict, php monkey Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    29,102
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    To avoid any doubt, this is confirmed on Aspyr's website.

    Mods that recompile the CvGameCoreDLL.dll will not work on a Mac unless Aspyr do a better job with Civ5 that they did with Civ4.
     
  16. the Falcon

    the Falcon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    73
    ARGH, no, not another Aspyr port! :(

    Now that Civ's on Steam, I was so hoping for a native build, like Valve does for their own software. :sad:
     
  17. Silv Something

    Silv Something Pi(e) Loving Maniac

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    764
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow . . .
    Me too! :)
     
  18. civ_king

    civ_king Deus Caritas Est

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16,368
    OS X's market share is 10% in the US now if you count iOS which is really just a stripped down version of OS X with touch add and compiled for ARM (takes 5-30 minutes to recompile for OS X)
    I hope so unfortunately Aspyr makes it native not a port (everything except DLL will work)
    THis is correct
    Same here
    Civ IV was natively a POS
     
  19. Lachlan

    Lachlan Great Builder of Civs !

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,072
    Location:
    European Union
    Yeah ! Really Civ 5 on Macs, i will abandon my bootcamp for sure :goodjob:
     
  20. CivDude86

    CivDude86 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    862
    Without dll mods you're at the mercy of Firaxis for fixing the many problems.
     

Share This Page