1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ5 Music

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Churchill's Hat, Feb 27, 2010.

  1. Churchill's Hat

    Churchill's Hat Mortal

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    325
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Why don't they have some sort of mechanism for uploading music onto Civ 5 so you can customize your soundtrack? This would mean that you could allow people to use their own music, and you could customize it by era. Does anyone else think this is a good idea?
     
  2. mechaerik

    mechaerik Magician

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,064
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I don't.

    Spoiler :
    I think its a great idea.
     
  3. Newcomer24

    Newcomer24 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    139
    I don't get it... wasn't this already in Civ 4?
     
  4. mechaerik

    mechaerik Magician

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,064
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    All you could do was just direct it to a folder and it would start playing the music there. Similar, but not exactly the same.
     
  5. Shiggs713

    Shiggs713 Immortal

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,359
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    you can change every single sound in civ4 if you know how, and its really not that hard.
     
  6. cyther

    cyther Lord of the Dance

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,033
    Location:
    Fane of Lessers
    With modding your own soundtrack into the eras it would be possible. It only requires a bit of XML knowledge.

    Also, if you want less control you could select a folder in options and civ4 would play the songs from there.
     
  7. Newcomer24

    Newcomer24 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    139
    By simply editing a couple of text files you can add any music you want and specify in which era they are to be played.
     
  8. Gamemaster77

    Gamemaster77 PC > Mac

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    998
    Location:
    In a place.
    That would be cool if ciV came with all the previous versions of civ's soundtrack as well.
     
  9. RPG

    RPG Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    658
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Totally agree!
     

Share This Page