1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ5: US Jet Fighter: F15 Eagle

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Unit Graphics' started by snafusmith, Dec 29, 2012.

  1. snafusmith

    snafusmith Unit Maker

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,549
    Location:
    I've been everywhere, man
    - Wikipedia



    DOWNLOAD HERE!

    ENJOY!
    -Smitty
     
  2. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    8,719
    Location:
    France
    thanks !

    you're fast :goodjob:
     
  3. snafusmith

    snafusmith Unit Maker

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,549
    Location:
    I've been everywhere, man
    You're welcome! It was a good suggestion to do some modern planes, I didn't realize how few there were. Hopefully I'll be able to help lesson the problem. ;)
     
  4. RPG

    RPG King

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    658
    Location:
    Cambridge
    This is awesome! Any plans for a jet for every civ like you did for civ 4?
     
  5. Ogenvi

    Ogenvi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    I hope with this day : DDD
     
  6. snafusmith

    snafusmith Unit Maker

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,549
    Location:
    I've been everywhere, man
    Eventually, maybe. Right now I'm polishing off the final skins for the Russian MiG-29. So far I have a modern Russian skin, Soviet skin, and Ukrainian skin done. I want to finish skins for Iraq, Iran, India & Peru before I post it.
     
  7. Arcangel66

    Arcangel66 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Bremen, Ohio USA
    How is this unit installed? There's no "installation for dummies" file, as I am a CiV dummy.
     
  8. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
  9. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    EDIT: Fixed the rotation and visibility.

    But I notice with my model and Snafu's F15 that not all of the combat animations show up. The plane will fly in circles not dropping anything then the barb is destroyed. The template only uses two bones (body and tail) I tried to create the vertices for the bones not labelled but found in armature but then graphics go screwy (the unit woul appear on the tile it last attached by still be kept from city, weird)


    Any one have any idea why?
     
  10. snafusmith

    snafusmith Unit Maker

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,549
    Location:
    I've been everywhere, man
    Not sure what's up with yours. I used the jet fighter template that danrell made. The F-15 shows up with all the animations just fine. Do you use the edited animations?
     
  11. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    When I put you F15 into the mod all the animations didn't show. I guess thats because I didn't use the edited animations but didn't see anything for the jet fighter. I downloaded it but where do I put it? Can it be part of a mod?


    attached is a mof for your F15 incase you want to use something for testing.

    My YF23 mod is attached with a blend rigging body and tail and a second blend where I tried other bones (hoping that it would work with regular animations, but it didnt).
     
  12. Nutty

    Nutty Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3,163
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Orange County, California, U.S.A.
    Yes. Just add them to your mod, and set them all VFS=true.
     
  13. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    Do I need to add all of them or only the ones for the jet fighter?


    Should edit animations just be a separate mod?
     
  14. Nutty

    Nutty Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3,163
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Orange County, California, U.S.A.
    Obviously, just the ones that your unit uses are required [EDIT: it looks like you only need edited_fx_triggers_jetfighter.ftsxml, though don't forget civ5artdefines_viseffects.xml in the parent folder [EDIT #2: no, don't bother with the viseffects file]], but it wouldn't hurt to throw them all in.

    Hm... You certainly could make it a separate required mod, but at this point I'm not sure there are many people playing multiple mods with those animations included [EDIT: and at 2.6MB for both ancient and modern units, you're not saving much hard disk space anyway].
     
  15. Bergerperson

    Bergerperson An actual Canadian

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    528
    Location:
    Canada
    snafusmith, are you converting Civilization IV unit models into Civilization V? If so can you do this one? Pretty please?
     
  16. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    Thanks, nutty.

    I think I will make a mod out of it just for testing.

    i plan to make my units single unit mods (since i need to test it anyways). Now I just need to get good atlas icon work done
     
  17. Bergerperson

    Bergerperson An actual Canadian

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    528
    Location:
    Canada
    Ok, so I used the F15 unit in the download to try to make a separate MiG29 unit. Everything is fine, all the files and MiG29 textures are in order, except the mod ID

    Question: Can I add just any number in there to make it a separate mod?
     
  18. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
  19. XtremeLord

    XtremeLord Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    phew finally i managed its work for my GK

    edit the file from notepad and learn from ekmek YF23 file, finally i made it work :lol:

    thx snafu
    thx ekmek

    i have to rested my brain first :lol:
     

Share This Page