1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ5Unit: kuznetsov

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Unit Graphics' started by Ekmek, May 2, 2013.

  1. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    Here is the kuznetsov. It had a weird explosion vertice that was rigged and I kept it there but it made the ship appear raised. not sure if thats for the water or what but test it out and let me know.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    and the destroyers ArleighBurke and BPK1155. They broke my blender though :mad: now I have to reinstall it.:sad:

    EDIT - sorry i uploaded the bpk1155's fbx instead of the gr2. upload has been corrected
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Bergerperson

    Bergerperson An actual Canadian

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    528
    Location:
    Canada
    Ok, so for clarification sake, I am trying to replace the default missile cruiser graphics with the BPK115 unit. You said the fxsxml can be reused, so by that you mean leave the granny file as

    <Granny>Assets/Units/MissileCruiser/MissileCruiser.fxsxml</Granny>

    and put in the dds and gr2 and the unit graphics will be changed? With that, is the same done for the Kuznetsov carrier?
     
  4. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    attached are the fxsxml's you can use. you could also extract them using nexus.

    you need to have a new name for these files and have you art def reference it. and then edit these files to have the gr2s referenced. you can use my yf23 unit modpack as a reference. Also check out the custom unit tutorials for other info. thx.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Bergerperson

    Bergerperson An actual Canadian

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    528
    Location:
    Canada
    I'm planning on just changing the graphics, I'll edit this post with the results of my attempt.

    EDIT: I got another crash, but I have to focus on writing a research essay proposal right now. When I finish, I'll take a look later tonight when I get back.
     
  6. ww2commander

    ww2commander Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,243
    Location:
    Australia
    Ekmek,

    Are you converting civ4 units on request or just working through them randomly. Would love if some civ4 ww2 units were converted that will help fill the missing gaps of existing units Darnell has made :)
     
  7. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    converting civ4 is fast as long as the meshes are shared and the unit requested doesn't need that many bones rigged. Plus if you do the xml & fxsxml work I can probably crank out a unit in 5 minutes.

    Post the download links and i'll see what I can do.
     
  8. Bergerperson

    Bergerperson An actual Canadian

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    528
    Location:
    Canada
    Ok, looking at the YF23 model for the unit, I think I am way over my head in relations with my very limited xml knowledge. I see Units_YF23_Art.xml and all the lines in it, do I just more or less copy the default missile unit's lines into a file of the same sort (.xml) and use that?

    I'm very confused right now.
     
  9. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    yes copy the destroyer.xml (thats the template I used) for art and stats over the YF23 ones.
     
  10. Bergerperson

    Bergerperson An actual Canadian

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    528
    Location:
    Canada
    So, I opened up a separate civ5artdefines_unitmembers.xml, and the lines...

    Spoiler :


    Are these the only lines needed for the 1155 unit? The other things in the YF23 file, the viseffects, the trigger, the unit, and the fxsxml (For the YF23) are not needed?

    By this you mean rename a4destroyer.fxsxml to 1155.fxsxml?
     
  11. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    All the files in yf23 are what you need. if it says yf23 change it to what your name is. if it calls for a file (i.e. yf23.gr) change it to the gr2 file I gave you. Mess around with it and do some trial and error, thats how I figured it out.


    edit. if you need to start simpler. rename the the dds file and the gr2 file I gave you to yf23 (after deleting the original ones) then start the mod to see it in game. then edit from there.
     
  12. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    8,643
    Location:
    France
    You can't use civ5artdefines_unitmembers.xml since patch .674, the code in there is for DLC or base game, not mods.

    Get the template from whoward69 here, that'll give you the right code to use in a mod.
     
  13. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    8,643
    Location:
    France
    I'd like the Fairey Swordfish, please

    civ4 version
     
  14. ww2commander

    ww2commander Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,243
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks :)

    I may take up the offer when I get a chance to look through the civ4 units again. I think I can get the xml and fxsxml stuff out of the way on my end with little problem.
     
  15. Bergerperson

    Bergerperson An actual Canadian

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    528
    Location:
    Canada
    So what about Units.YF23.xml? Since I'm not creating a new, separate unit, is that file needed?
     
  16. GeoModder

    GeoModder Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    7,512
    Wasn't that model firing torpedo's? Or just bombs? ;)
     
  17. Bergerperson

    Bergerperson An actual Canadian

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    528
    Location:
    Canada
    Swordfish were torpedo bombers for the Royal Navy during World War II. They are credited for sinking several Axis battleships including the Bismarck. So they're firing torpedoes.
     
  18. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    8,643
    Location:
    France
    Well, if someone is able to make a torpedo bomber attack animation, I'll use it :D
     
  19. Bergerperson

    Bergerperson An actual Canadian

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    528
    Location:
    Canada
    Hell, that would add a huge expansion in naval aviation warfare. Regular bombers arelady have a penalty vs. naval units, so making a naval specific attack plane would seriously make a more diverse game.
     
  20. Hulfgar

    Hulfgar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    This is easy to do, to get the right animations is another thing :)

    As Gedemon said the Swordfish would be a welcome add. Danrell did a lot of divebombers but this one is really missing to go with the Ark Royal and the Bismarck.
     

Share This Page