1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

CivIII has no space age....Are you disappointed?

Discussion in 'Other Civ-Related Games' started by Bart2k4, Jan 21, 2004.

?

Are you disappointed that CivIII didn't have a space age, like in CTP?

  1. Yes, I am

    26 vote(s)
    59.1%
  2. No, I'm glade

    14 vote(s)
    31.8%
  3. Don't Care

    4 vote(s)
    9.1%
  1. Bart2k4

    Bart2k4 Cybernetic Abomination

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Damn, I gotta' say, CTP feels so complete every time I play it. I absolutely love the Space age. Although when I play CivIII, I feel incredibly disappointed :sad: for missing this exiting age. Now I was just wondering if you people feel the same?
     
  2. puglover

    puglover Disturber of Worldviews

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    9,643
    Location:
    Kansas
    People have different views of the future. What some would view as cool, a lot would view as stupid. It would disappoint a lot of people (me included) if there was a Space Age in Civ. But that's what Alpha Centauri's for.
     
  3. The Person

    The Person Deity +2

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,712
    Location:
    Trondheim, Norway
    That's something I like about CTP, the space age. But putting it into Civ would be overstretching it. Civ wasn't made for space.
     
  4. Titi

    Titi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    554
    Location:
    Angola
    There are no underwater cities either with CivIII.
    It's good to play SMAC and CTP to change from Civ from time to time... (but it is more difficult to start a new Civ game right after, I agree)
    So I'm not disappointed with Civ III not having Space Age.
     
  5. bernhj

    bernhj Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    I like CTP2 "Diamond Age", but the underwater cities are kind of pointless. Although I kind of miss colonizing space in the original CTP.
     
  6. Bart2k4

    Bart2k4 Cybernetic Abomination

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    I never played CTP2 so I don't carry that burdon like you.

    Well, at least I know that im not the only one that enjoyed the space age... Now if only thise survay could be used as *powerful* evidence to pursway the highest corparet executive to *order* the next civ development team to implement it.....

    lol :)
     
  7. DoTheMath

    DoTheMath Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    94
    CTP1 was a bit rediculous, but it is nice to have future tech. I've lobbied `unsuccessfully for techs that appear promissing in today's science mags for civ4, weather mods, water refueling and helium3 mines on the moon for fusion, the space elevator. I'm glad they have it in ctp2.
     
  8. Bart2k4

    Bart2k4 Cybernetic Abomination

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    An orbital particle-beam cannon would have been nice in Civ3 or Civ4....
     

Share This Page