1. Firaxis celebrates the "Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month", and offers a give-away of a Civ6 anthology copy (5 in total)! For all the details, please check the thread here. .
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We have selected the winners of the Old World random draw and competition. For the winning entries, please check this thread.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Old World has finally been released on GOG and Steam, besides also being available in the Epic store . Come to our Old World forum and discuss with us!
    Dismiss Notice

Civilians Destroyed Instead of Capture

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by Chibisuke, Jun 16, 2018.

  1. Chibisuke

    Chibisuke Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Messages:
    268
    I'm not sure if this was something implemented in a patch, since I haven't seen anyone talking about it. I have noticed lately that sometimes when I defeat an enemy unit (sometimes in a city, sometimes out on land), and they have a worker or settler with them, the worker or settler gets destroyed rather than captured. Is this a new feature? A bug?
     
  2. eleven11

    eleven11 Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    214
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    Make sure you don't capture the city with a battering ram or siege tower attached to your unit. The support unit will overwrite the civilian unit as only one can occupy a tile.
     
    SharTeel and Icicle like this.
  3. Chibisuke

    Chibisuke Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Messages:
    268
    I considered that too, but I'm playing a game now and I simply captured the city with a warrior. The city had a warrior and settler camping inside. After I captured, the settler was destroyed.

    I even tried doing it with the city still having some health left vs the city having no health left. Both times, the settler was destroyed.
     
  4. liv

    liv Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,394
    It seems to happen randomly. Sometimes you capture a unit and other times you don't (and this is without a support unit). I have not been able to spot a pattern
     
  5. WillowBrook

    WillowBrook Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3,454
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    Also, if you have a great general or admiral attached to the capturing unit, the captured civilian unit will disappear. And I don't think I've ever successfully captured an embarked civilian unit.
     
    Icicle likes this.
  6. Rosty K

    Rosty K King

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    961
    Gender:
    Male
    I have. The only times when this becomes a problem are when you don't have shipbuilding yet - the unit gets stuck forever.
     
    WillowBrook likes this.
  7. Mazyrian

    Mazyrian Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 7, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    This happened to me in my current game with Norway; is there really no way to ever use those units?
     
  8. sixty4half

    sixty4half Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    Messages:
    406
    I just had this issue in my current game. Moved a Frigate onto a Settler and the Settler just disappeared. I reloaded and moved a Caravel onto it and captured it. :crazyeye:
     

Share This Page