1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Civilization I - do you still...

Discussion in 'Civ1 - General Discussions' started by darko82, Feb 15, 2016.

  1. darko82

    darko82 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,276
    Location:
    Poland
    Do you still play Civilization I from time to time? Just for the sake of nostaliga? This game is still huge for me. Hundreds of hours of fun with it. And the graphics was not so colorful as other Civilization games. Any memories you have with it?
     
  2. fyar

    fyar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    343
    I tried playing it recently. I couldn't do it for more than maybe 10 minutes, unfortunately.

    "What the...? How did that barb just walk into my city? What happened to the city defen... oh, yeah..."
    "Where did that other enemy unit go? I swear there were 2 units last turn, and now there's only... oh, yeah..."
    "Oh good, my settler finally finished. But why is my capital back to size 3? I thought it had already reached size 4 several turns ag... oh, yeah..."

    Most of my nostalgia is for Civ II anyway.
     
  3. joncnunn

    joncnunn Senior Java Wizard Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,621
    Location:
    Missouri
    Moderator Action: Moved to Civ I
     
  4. darko82

    darko82 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,276
    Location:
    Poland
    I do not remember this happening. Maybe some bugs? When you build settlers, the population is naturally decreased by 1.
     
  5. raen

    raen Coat of Arms

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,124
    Location:
    Portugal
  6. DukeNukem

    DukeNukem Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    52
    Yes I still play occasionally. Its the only version of Civ I play because it works on DosBox, which means it can run on almost any platform.
     
  7. snuffychan

    snuffychan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Civ I is the only one I have, so I play it lots. It's soothing.
     
  8. Posidonius

    Posidonius Civherder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Messages:
    196
    Location:
    US of gawldarn A
    There ya go. Hell yes. The last two days of my workweek are difficult, but the prize after them are 3 days off. What keeps my eyes on that prize is knowing that i'll get 7 hours of civving as soon as i'm off, grooving a great radio station, and a six of really hoppy beer. After that it's a total crash for 11 hours, but leaves 2 full days, utterly and completely decompressed. Ahhhh.
     
  9. Bjorn F

    Bjorn F Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Cork
    Same here. Found it again after 25 years - that much about sleeping these days... :)
     
  10. Volcanon

    Volcanon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    296
    Soothing until you lose three tanks to a phalanx.
     
  11. bungwahl

    bungwahl Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    I would love to play the original version again, but can't for the life of me work out how to make it work on Windows 10.
     
  12. dom111

    dom111 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    11
  13. mandrakoukos

    mandrakoukos Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    The only game I still play.
     
  14. Xcalibrator

    Xcalibrator Ultraviolet Catastrophe

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,149
    Location:
    Boston
    If you don't mind paying $17 you can get it all neatly DOSBox'd for you at http://www.allvideoclassicgames.com/. It works with XP, Vista, 7, 8, and 10, or Mac OS. I've bought several old games there, including Civ 1. They have Civ II and MANY other games.
     
  15. CELTICEMPIRE

    CELTICEMPIRE Zulu Conqueror

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4,388
    Location:
    Eastern Kentucky
    I play it sometimes. It's by far the one I'm worst at, however.
     
  16. Volcanon

    Volcanon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    296
    Lots of nostalgia until I lose my whole army to a militia or lose a bunch of cities to a militia, or some other funkiness.
     
  17. darko82

    darko82 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,276
    Location:
    Poland
    Use your imagination in such cases. It helps to enjoy the game even more.
     
  18. Spartan_X

    Spartan_X Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    I was always trying to imagine how could a militia defeat a battleship in Civ I ... :p I was imagining that the militia probably had small dinghy boats full with explosives, went to the side of the battleship at night somehow unseen and detonated them :lol: - Yeah, i know, extremely unlikely, but i can't think of any other way. Unless the militias have spears with explosive pointed heads, and somehow someone from a cliff managed to throw one into the barrel of one of the battleship's guns :lol:
     
  19. Gundus

    Gundus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Norway
    Of course a Battleship can lose to a Militia.
    It becomes over-eager trying to get him and then runs aground in shallow waters.

    The bigger they are, the harder they fall...
     
  20. darko82

    darko82 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,276
    Location:
    Poland
    Just imagine it is not a milita anymore, but some super advanced unit or some hidden weapon or hidden technology that you encounter, or a natural disaster :lol:
     

Share This Page