1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Civilization IV+ESRGAN?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Graphics Modpacks' started by nick3open, Jan 4, 2019.

?

Do you want Civ 4 Remastered with ESRGAN?

  1. Yes

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. No

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Maybe

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Never!

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. nick3open

    nick3open Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2
  2. MatteM

    MatteM Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    195
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stockholm
    HD-textures? Don’t know what the specific technique is in this case, but I suppose its based on utilizing hardware better rather than actually altering the texture files? Sure, give it a shot would be interesting to see the results :goodjob:

    I’m supposing now that you will do it yourself, I certainly don’t have the time, besides if it involves reposting the whole game on a filesharing service then technically that would be piracy.
     
  3. nick3open

    nick3open Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Some examples



     
  4. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,722
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Upscaling the texture files is one thing, but I bet you would actually have to change the engine to be able to load the larger files. Not to mention that we are still limited to the same 2GB of memory so we may not even be able to load all of that.

    This algorithm is really cool though.
     
  5. MatteM

    MatteM Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    195
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stockholm
    We are limited to 2gb of memory?? Now you are scaring me, my mod will when it is finished have more than 4000+ units :shifty:
     
  6. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,722
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Unfortunately yes. The game runs as a 32 bit application, which limits the available RAM to 2GB even on 64 bit machines with much more memory. Since this is an issue with the game's EXE, modders cannot do anything to address that. The best we can do is make use of external tools that get us close to 4GB of available memory.

    This is the reason why large mods often have performance issues and MAFs even though they could run fine on modern hardware.
     

Share This Page