1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Civilization V: The Mobile Game!

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by NeverMind, Jun 29, 2011.

  1. CivOasis

    CivOasis Ahuizotl

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,005
    Location:
    Sawaiki
    Just because there's bombers and infantry in 1240 B.C. doesn't make it fake. I once had a game as Rome where I managed to get a sem ilarge continent to myself (+ 1 CS), got a new settler in 3 or 4 turns from ruins, colonized the whole island, etc., and pulled of modern era by 1000 B.C., on marathon.
     
  2. Lachlan

    Lachlan Great Builder of Civs !

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,072
    Location:
    European Union
    I think that modern units in 1000 BC will not be doable in final release...
     
  3. LegionSteve

    LegionSteve Motörhead

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,127
    Location:
    England
    I like the English city of Notthingham. That's in Nowhereshire, right?
     
  4. CivOasis

    CivOasis Ahuizotl

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,005
    Location:
    Sawaiki
    Probably, but my point was, as it is possible (albeit difficult) in the computer version, it doesn't by default make the photos fake. Other things might, but that doesn't have too.
     
  5. Lachlan

    Lachlan Great Builder of Civs !

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,072
    Location:
    European Union
    I agree...

    I think these are real screenshots from beta-test...

    In beta-test the rules are not the same...

    That's all...
     
  6. gariman

    gariman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    6
  7. svett89

    svett89 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    The charts can't be very accurate as it shows the first two expansions to World of Warcraft at 7.42 & 6.94 respectively. Considering that WoW had over 12 million players towards the end of 2010 (and I imagine the vast majority of those had both expansions installed, there is close to nothing to do in the game unless you have the latest expansion) the charts can't represent the true amount of units sold in all cases. I also assume it doesn't count digital distribution.
     
  8. Marsoups

    Marsoups Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    48
  9. spicytimothy

    spicytimothy Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    240
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Wait so I have to buy thru gameloft? It's not avail thru the AppStore?
     
  10. Marsoups

    Marsoups Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    I don't think it's available for Iphone.
     
  11. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    31,114
    Location:
    Germany / Netherlands
    :yup: if you take a look at the available brands at the bottom of the site, you don't see Apple listed.
     
  12. Rince

    Rince King

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    673
    Location:
    In your city, poisoning your water!
    It does not seem to be available for any smartphones yet, only Java phones.
     
  13. kuldiin

    kuldiin Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    133
    Bah! :mad:
     
  14. Marsoups

    Marsoups Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    The Zack Morris phone isn't listed either...:sad:
     
  15. anandus

    anandus Errorist

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,855
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    Neither for Android. Well, I can't find it in the Market (yet) :(
    A shame, it looks good to play during commute and such.

    So no iPhones and no Android phones? That narrows down the customer base :hmm:
     
  16. MadmanAtW

    MadmanAtW Knight

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    San Leandro, CA
    Also like how the website lists the price as "{Price}" when I visit. ;) If it gets ported to Android I'll get it, but as is, ah well.
     
  17. Yoshiegg737

    Yoshiegg737 Jungo Jungo

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,587
    Location:
    Canada
    It's not available for iPod? What is this???
     
  18. Lachlan

    Lachlan Great Builder of Civs !

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,072
    Location:
    European Union
    No iOS port :confused:

    Not very nice, i planned to play multiplayer...
     
  19. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    31,114
    Location:
    Germany / Netherlands
    :hmm: sure that there isn't? Java is running on Androids, that shouldn't be a problem.

    Not Gamelofts problem, Apples problem: Apple prohibits Java applications on iDevices, so Gameloft is not allowed to port it to any Apple machine.
     
  20. Helmling

    Helmling Philosopher King

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,677
    What are they thinking? iOS and Android control the vast majority of the market. What kind of sales can they hope for without those platforms?
     

Share This Page