1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

CivV slower with mods?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by mandella, Dec 22, 2012.

  1. mandella

    mandella Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    First of all: Merry Christmas to all!

    Second of all: anyone noticed that the game works significantly slower with enabled mods? I just started playing with two of them and jesus, the difference between the normal, non-modded game and the one with 2 mods is enormous. The time between turns is longer, the whole interface is less responsive, etc. Are there any tips to improved performance of the modded game?
     
  2. civ54lyfe

    civ54lyfe Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    563
    What I've found specifically unresponsive is the game trying to resolve something that will allow a unit's turn to be officially "over". Once one of my units takes an action and is out of moves, the game will sit there... sometimes for a full minute ...with the "A Unit Needs Orders" prompt. And the only unit selected IS the unit that just expended all its move, and was given final orders, and is completely finished. ...and there are no units left to do anything. It just feels like excessive coding somewhere in there, idk.
     
  3. bc1

    bc1

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,260
    Try this:
     
  4. Greizer85

    Greizer85 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,210
    Link doesn't work... What's it do? :we need a 'scratches chin' smiley: In non-technicalese for us non-techies, please. :) I too would like to see this problem fixed.
     
  5. aldon47

    aldon47 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Minnesota
    The same thing will happen to me a lot and it seems that when it gets "stuck" I switch in and out of strategic view and that seems to move things along.

    Some mods tend to slow down my performance too, mostly the ethnic units one but I am on a very low end laptop and surprised I can even play the game. I have to play in windowed mode and direct x 9 but it still plays and thats what matters! :D
     
  6. civ54lyfe

    civ54lyfe Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    563
    My comp is low-end as well. While this "unit turn" I guess could be a graphics/rendering problem, I see that as being unlikely. Because there's nothing to render, I am literally only waiting for the prompt to change from "A unit needs orders" to "Next turn". Nothing is rendered here except maybe the graphic for the prompt change, heh. It's just weird.
     
  7. kaspergm

    kaspergm Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,127
    I only get slower game with CivUP - other Mods don't affect game speed.
     
  8. bc1

    bc1

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,260
  9. alysenne

    alysenne Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    40
    Sigh. I wish that a slowdown is my problem.

    For me, mods cause crashes.
     

Share This Page