1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Clash of Civilizations

Discussion in 'Rise of Mankind: A New Dawn' started by Hashishim, Apr 8, 2010.

  1. Redman77

    Redman77 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime error
     
  2. Hashishim

    Hashishim Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    hmm okay can you perhaps give a screenshot :/
     
  3. iontom

    iontom Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    Seattle
  4. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Hashishim, I've combed through your XML files, and I've fixed a number of errors in them for you. Included are only the changed files. Many of the errors were the cause of CTD's for users.

    View attachment Hashishim.zip
     
  5. Hashishim

    Hashishim Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    okay thanks for that:)
     
  6. os79

    os79 Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Location:
    Eastern USA Coast
    Since I only was and still am interested only in Civs/Leaders/Important folders, you may want to read over the changes very carefully and see if you can see if you need to do the same for other two folders that you have in your pack. Because Afforess only had my RoM folder to debug after I reported CTD.

    Just to help you for your next version :). Good luck. I really liked your pack :), especially Maria Theresa and Atotoltzi :lol:.
     
  7. Hashishim

    Hashishim Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    yeah i plan to do that:)

    @ afforess what where the errors?

    Found where the errors where, by derivative civs tag and artstyle :) and again thanks for checking them:)
     
  8. Killtech

    Killtech Discutator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,022
    Location:
    Bonn, Germany
    good question for others who do modding: what errors can cause CTDs? just to know what one has to watch for.
     
  9. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Referencing objects that do not exist. If you cite an art define, be sure it does exist. If it doesn't, the game will crash when it tries to find it. Ditto with referencing other civ's, like derivative civ's.
     
  10. starverse

    starverse Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    may i request the addition of the Phoenician civ from Civ gold? I love playing as Phoenicians.
     
  11. EDaddy

    EDaddy Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Messages:
    225
    Location:
    Ypsilanti, MI
    RoM with the Clash of Civilizations expansion won't load up for me! I run the RoM mod using "Load a Mod" then the game returns to the desktop with BtS still running in the background, but RoM never loads up! What is a good remedy for this problem?
     
  12. DRJ

    DRJ Hedonist

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,514
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    To wait 10-15 min (!). Then suddenly, it loads (as it did in background already all the time). Normal RoM+AND+some of AArandas stuff without Clash of Civilizations takes long already, but maybe only 5 min.
     
  13. Grathocke

    Grathocke Marquis

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    243
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
    I don't get it. What am I doing wrong? All the new civs, units, etc only don't have icons... only pink boxes. no descriptions or anything. When I meet one of the new civs I get an immediate CTD.
     
  14. Hashishim

    Hashishim Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    which directory did you install it in?
     
  15. Grathocke

    Grathocke Marquis

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    243
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
    I found out the problem. The installer kept putting the individual folders into the modules folder, instead of a Hashishim folder. Once I finally got this figured out, I manually put them into the correct folder and they seem to be working ok now.
     
  16. fox456

    fox456 Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    192
    Hashishim, are these errors corrected in version 1.1? At any rate, thank you for the mod.
     
  17. Hashishim

    Hashishim Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    Nope the errors was found after 1.1 was released, so if you can download it then it'll be good:) but note it is not save compatible so your previous saved games will break. Other than that in the mod mod there are no other critical or minor errors. :) In the first post i i will include the file as a Patch. :)

    Version 1.2 will come out when theres a new version of A new Dawn and RoM :)
     
  18. nutranurse

    nutranurse Unlikeliest of Slash Fics

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,077
    I keep getting the following error when I try to install your modmod, Hashim:



    Which is followed by this whenever I hit 'Retry'





    I've got all the requirements I believe: RoM the latest version + patch and AND the latest version + patch
     
  19. Hashishim

    Hashishim Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    okay the problem here is the steam, so install the mod into some arbituary directory, for example C:/New Folder/
    then just copy the whole Hashishim Folder and put it into your Rise of Mankind/Assets/Modules/ Folder:) and it should work! :) (im not to sure why though it gives that problems but thats the alternative of installation :)
     
  20. nutranurse

    nutranurse Unlikeliest of Slash Fics

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,077
    Alright, that worked. Thanks!
     

Share This Page