1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Clearing the cache

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Vindicator7, Nov 25, 2005.

  1. Vindicator7

    Vindicator7 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    So I have recently noticed a significant reduction in game performance. I thought it was just because I was playing on a larger map, so I started a new game on a tiny map. The game was still choppy on the very first turn, though not has bad, but defenitly worse then a few weeks ago.

    The only thing I can think is that maybe I need to clear the cache. I downloaded the new patch and held "shift" while it was starting up to clear it but I didn't notice any difference in performance.

    Is there a way I can manually check something to make sure the cache is cleared out?
     
  2. Mysterio10000

    Mysterio10000 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    311
    Location:
    Wesley Chapel, FL
    When the game is loading, it will either list something like "XML (cached)" or "XML (uncached)". Holding down the SHIFT key while loading will display the "XML (uncached)" message, meaning the XML cache has been cleared.
     
  3. BeefontheBone

    BeefontheBone Windbag of the sea

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,018
    You can check simply by navigating to the Cache folder and making sure there's nothing in it.
     
  4. MrCynical

    MrCynical Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,507
    Location:
    The Dreaming Spires
    You can manually clear the cache by going to the cache folder and deleting the contents. It's a hidden folder under documents and settings/application data/my games/Civ 4 (or something like that).
     
  5. Mr.No

    Mr.No Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Skopje,Macedonia
    You can find it:
    C:\Documents and Settings\Aleksandar\Application Data\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\cache

    The stuff with Aleksandar is my name so you will have yours.
     
  6. Slbot911

    Slbot911 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    New Jersey
    How do you find hidden folders?
     
  7. MrCynical

    MrCynical Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,507
    Location:
    The Dreaming Spires
    There should be a 'reveal hidden files and folders' option somewhere. They'll also show up if you search the folder.
     
  8. lightnng

    lightnng Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    77
    Open "Windows Explorer" (not to be confused with Internet Explorer; Windows Explorer can be found under start->programs->accessories)

    Go to the "tools" menu

    Go to the "view" tab

    Choose the option to "show hidden files and folders"
     
  9. hbskull321

    hbskull321 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Romford
    How do you get to tools on vista?
     
  10. StrikeQ

    StrikeQ Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Click on the "Organize" option and choose "Folder and Search Options" then the view tab, then "Show Hidden Files, Folders, and drives" which will stand out since it's indented a bit more than the rest.
     
  11. hbskull321

    hbskull321 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Romford
    Thank you very much
     

Share This Page