1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Cloud Destroyer freezes game

Discussion in 'Bugs and Crashes' started by Camber, Aug 3, 2014.

  1. Camber

    Camber Resident Family Therapist

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Location:
    The Great Beyond
    This is a stock v34 game. Cloud Destroyer has been on autoexplore. When I select it and try to move it manually, game freezes and stops working. Earlier I tried moving it manually and the same thing happened, so I started the game up again, went to kill the unit, but must have accidentally hit autoexplore button instead because I found it out exploring here a few turns later (in the save I present here). So obviously it can move, it just can't move under my control.

    Also, I noticed that some of the mouseover info (and civilopedia info) related to the Cloud Destroyer seems to have been taken from info for a missionary unit, and needs to be fixed.

    Not a related issue, but the leader Alberts2 of North America nation was created through a revolution in one of my games, and I was surprised to see him represented as a dragon. Nice. The civilopedia entry for him seems to be about some sheriff in the Old West (totally wrong). I tried to create a custom game with him as one of the leaders and I was disappointed to find it wasn't possible. Is there a way to make him playable?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,311
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Cant help you with the problems above but if you want any of the "cultures" to work you need to do the following:

    1. (see pic 1) you need to change the MLF in the pic to <bLoad>1</bLoad>

    2. pic 2, you need to change where is name is (you'll have to look for it here, its about half way down the page or less) to this <bPlayable>1</bPlayable>

    its that simple, remember to "Just Have Fun" . . . SO

    Memo: also i informed TB about revolutions taking modules that are NOT supposed to be ingame but still does???
     
  3. Camber

    Camber Resident Family Therapist

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Location:
    The Great Beyond
    Thanks for that bit. I found the Cloud Destroyer does fine with autohunt as well, as long as it doesn't actually come across something. When the game goes to show me the battle, it freezes again. My guess is either that a pathway to the unit animations is wrong/broken, or that there is a problem with the unit animations themselves. I tried turning off unit animations though and this did not solve it. I can also try downloading the original unit art and replacing the ones in the game with them. I found the original art. Where in the mod folder does it go?

    Thanks.
     
  4. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,311
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    @ Sparth

    Can you see if the nif and the kfm are any good, if not we will need to delete it from the units area in the steampunk folder.

    It does cause game to stop completely when trying to move it.
     
  5. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    25,161
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I wouldn't have the slightest clue how to help with that last bit. Sorry.
    It's probably not the art in this case I think since it can move around, just not under player control. It'll probably require a debug dll run... I'll look into it later this week.
     
  6. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    22,959
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    We have has a similar problem with other unit. In that case loading it on to a transport caused a CTD. We never did get to the bottom of it and dropped the unit.
     
  7. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,311
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Sparth will look at it later, and if he cant fix it, i will delete it then,
     
  8. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    25,161
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    What unit?

    I'll run the debugger first please... I quite like this unit.
     
  9. Sparth

    Sparth C2C Team Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,311
    fixed this animation bug
     
  10. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,311
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    What was wrong with it??
     
  11. Sparth

    Sparth C2C Team Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,311
    Dunno, I redirect it to BTS airship animation.
     
  12. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    22,959
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Ibex Chariot - it has been gone from c2c for at least 10 versions.
     
  13. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,311
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Its working now thx, i should have figured that out, DUH!!, But i didnt know that it ONLY range bombards:sad:??
     
  14. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    25,161
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Cool... not a code problem. Check.

    Thanks Sparth!

    @SO: If you think about it, if it only ranged assaults then that basically fits as a unit that flies above the battles far below and just potshots whatever it can.
     
  15. Sparth

    Sparth C2C Team Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,311
    Ill try to add back this chariot in v36 after some tests, ok?
     

Share This Page