1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[GS] Co2

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by PurpleHaze34, Feb 17, 2019.

  1. PurpleHaze34

    PurpleHaze34 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Louisville KY USA
    I'm in my first GS game and I built an Ironclad, upgraded a caravel armada to an Ironclad armada, I have maybe 2 factories. I have purposely not built a Coal Power Plant. I discovered I am the leading cause of CO2 in the world at 103 points while the world is at 205.

    Do military units add to CO2? Do unpowered factories? Can someone give numbers when guides everywhere use phrases like "Oil Power Plants produce a moderate amount of CO2"? Are there ratios Coal is 2:1, Oil is 1:1, and Uranium is 1:2?
     
  2. Starwars

    Starwars Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2017
    Messages:
    225
    I don't believe the military units add anything. Regular factories don't add it. Have you built railroads? I think each time you lay down a tile of railroad, there is a small amount of Co2 created.
     
  3. PurpleHaze34

    PurpleHaze34 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Louisville KY USA
    No Railroads.
     
  4. Kibikus

    Kibikus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Messages:
    160
    I think units that consume the "power" resources (coal, oil and uranium) will contribute to CO2 emissions, although I don't have exact numbers.
     
  5. bladex

    bladex Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,358
    102 is nothing wait till you get to the thousands
     
  6. mrjepson

    mrjepson Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    184
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    The units and railroads must contribute a lot. I only ran a coal plant for a very short time before getting all of my power from renewable sources. But I had a lot of railroads and my CO2 was quickly above a thousand, now the coastal flooding has gotten intense.

    As a side note putting the disaster level up to four means you don't need a lot of emissions to have a big effect. It seems to start you 2/3 of the way to the first level of sea rise.
     
  7. AriochIV

    AriochIV Analyst

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    5,617
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    The Coal used to build Ironclads also counts. Any expenditure of Coal, Oil and Uranium (units, railroads, power) counts. And yes, Coal counts more than Oil which counts more than Uranium.
     
    CPWimmer and sonicmyst like this.
  8. Starwars

    Starwars Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2017
    Messages:
    225
    Huh, cool. I was sure that it was only for the factories. You learn something new every day!
     
  9. iammaxhailme

    iammaxhailme Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,044
    Deforestation is related somehow, although that may accelerate CO2 growth, not add to it directly
     
  10. Timothy001

    Timothy001 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    382
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sudbury, Ontario
    In both my games, CO2 has gone haywire (level 4 disasters). Learned from first game. Before I built any power plants, I beelined Coastal Flood Gates. Had 9 of 11 cities protected when sea levels went up. Other 2 lost tiles.
     
  11. DanaLea

    DanaLea Chieftain Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    371
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    how do you set the disaster level? Or is that something that starts at one and rises as the game progresses?
     
  12. Sagax

    Sagax Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,209
    Advanced settings when you create your game.
     
  13. Breadsmith

    Breadsmith Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    76
    Deforestation contributes as a multiplier of CO2 emissions. In my current game, there's enough forest still left that I'm getting a 20% reduction in emissions.
     
  14. rinelkind

    rinelkind Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    Guys i have a question if anyone knows... once you build a plant (coal or oil generate the most pollution), is there a way for it go to away at all? I mean. say I have some coal or oil plant giving +6 power, and that city needs 6 power total.. if then i build a solar panel that gives +2 power, is the CO2 pollution still considered by 6 power or the game takes into consideration that the plant now only gives 4 power needed? and when i have 3 solar panels, so +6 power, does the pollution generated by the plant totally go away, or it's still there? thanks a lot in advance.
     
  15. PurpleHaze34

    PurpleHaze34 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Louisville KY USA
    I also discovered that until your factory is powered it does not add it's value to the 6 tile away cities. I did not think this was clear in the building description.
     
  16. rinelkind

    rinelkind Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    Anyone? :p Thanks!
     
  17. L4Psha

    L4Psha Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2015
    Messages:
    122
    I heard somewhere in nearby thread that green powerplants apply their energy before others. So if you have enough green power for all your needs emissions should stop.
     
  18. TheBlueKing

    TheBlueKing Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    All military units that require resources like coal, oil, generate CO2. In my current game I had zero CO2 until I upgraded frigate to battleship.

    I see no need to build any coal, oil or nuclear power plants. They are useless, you can play game without them and win without any problems (did it on deity level with Maori so far).
     
    rinelkind likes this.
  19. AriochIV

    AriochIV Analyst

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    5,617
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    Deforestation level acts as a multiplier to CO2 levels when determining global temperature rise. According to the tooltips, anyway.
     
  20. TheBlueKing

    TheBlueKing Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    Does planting new forest have any effect on deforestation multiplier?
     

Share This Page