1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Colonialist Legacies’ Inuit for VP

Discussion in 'Mods Repository' started by pineappledan, Apr 4, 2019.

  1. pineappledan

    pineappledan Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    Messages:
    6,418
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Yeah, I should up the unaak plague to -2 moves. I agree. It's a small change though, so I will wait for a more substantive version to add it to.

    the non-specialist food consumption thing is, indeed, a beast. It does make Inuit possibly the strongest civ. Maybe I could change the food consumption ability to be cut from -50% to -33%, we could try adjusting it.
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2021
  2. looorg

    looorg Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    329
    Since I had a lot of fun with Timurids I decided to try some of the other extra civs to.

    A question -- if you capture and arctic city that has fish those don't get converted to seals automagically, is this intended? Do I sort of have to declare war on someone and hope they come and pillage the fishes so that I can rebuild them as seals? They have all the prerequisites such as being fish next to the coastline that are snow/arctic/thundra. I have not tried yet if I can remove them and replant them myself, in some other fashion, but I don't remember now if that is even possible or not.
     
  3. pineappledan

    pineappledan Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    Messages:
    6,418
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
  4. looorg

    looorg Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    329
    Is there something in the civ that makes it spawn sea resources (coral, crabs etc) on ocean tiles? They are not supposed to be able to spawn luxuries and such but it has happened a few times now (note the thread about Milaes map script). So trying to figure out or wondering if it's the civ or the map script that is doing it.
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2021
  5. pineappledan

    pineappledan Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    Messages:
    6,418
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
  6. Hinin

    Hinin King

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    884
    One other solution could simply be to use the same function as Fealty Serfdom (yield per X non-specialist citizens) and apply it to food. Since it would be affected by modifiers, the level of power per yield is a bit different, so I would begin with 1 food per 3 non-specialist citizens (so that we can see how it goes), with the option to go 1 per 4 (which would be quite the nerf, but as I said, an Inuit player can use modifiers to increase this value a lot if needed).
     
  7. looorg

    looorg Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    329
    I have to ask another question. The spawning of Igluviak after you build an Igloo (the caravansary replacement) on a suitable space (uninproved (owned) snow tile within three tiles of the city) doesn't appear to be triggering correctly.

    It worked in the first city where I built an Igloo, it showed up on the only unimproved snow tiles within 3 tiles of the city (it was a snow tile in the third ring). But for the following two cities that built Igloo there was no Igluviak even tho they also have uninproved snow tiles within the 3-tile radius of the city, they even have snow tiles right next to the city. They own the tiles and all that but they are not worked since an unimproved snow tile has 0 yields. Is it unique tile improvement that can only trigger once?

    (edit)
    inqaluit. first. spawned correctly, three tiles north of the city. i dont remember now if i built the inuksuk that covers that tile before or after.

    inuvik. second. didnt trigger. only snow tile is a ring4 tile (i modded my games to allow working into ring5) so that could explain it if its only within 3 tiles.

    nuuk. third. didnt trigger. it has two or three viable tiles within range. i guess the island is non viable since i started on a inuksuk but didnt finish after realizing it would do nothing on that tile since it wont improve the seal tiles. but the tile next to the city or the one next to that tile just south of the city should have been viable. no improvements, not even roads. in that case tho im sure i built the inuksuk(s) before on the adjacent tiles so perhaps that is interfering since it adds yield so the tiles no longer count as being unimproved?

    c5vox-igloo.jpg

    kangiqtiniq. fourth. snow tile at range4. it triggered. in a tile in ring5 that didn't even belong to this city, or that is to say it was closer to another city (hanoi). But it's within the modified workable range (5) so it's not a 3-tile limit on it.

    arviat. fifth. spawned at range4. once again closer to the city-state i captured (hanoi). but it was the closest snow tile, or well it's a tie since there is another one to.

    nanajnguk, sixth, didn't spawn on the never improved snow island just north of the city.

    c5vox-igloo-3.jpg

    c5vox-igloo-2.jpg

    hanoi, seventh, did spawn, it even claimed an unclaimed snow tile at range 3 west of the city.

    So it's probably not my workable-range modification that is preventing them from spawning, if anything it might have helped them to spawn in a few cities since they did spawn beyond 3-tiles away.

    Could there be a hidden resource on the tile that has not yet been revealed (alu, oil, uran)? That might explain at least Nanajnguk and not spawning anything on the island. The capital is still somewhat weird tho. Guess I should check with some editor if there are hidden resources. Still it's odd. It's somewhat annoying that there is no notification that it failed to spawn an Igloo. I recall that being the case on some of the other "spawn" civs when you constructed a building and it failed to spawn (was it the Buffalo pound that did that? Can't remember now).

    Anyhow that was all my cities. Semi fun game so far if I had not been squeezed in between the Huns and Askia that have a def pact and keep declaring on me non stop.
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2021
  8. pineappledan

    pineappledan Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    Messages:
    6,418
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    I did find some issues with the igloo spawning code, which I am working to fix right now and then testing. Not sure if it will fix your issue, since the error was with the notification pop-ups, but it could be preventing the code from completing properly and reloading.

    I'm also testing a nerf for the UA's food consumption bonus, so stay tuned for that as well.
    the code indexes plots owned by the city and then works through them sequenctially until it finds a suitable plot. I guess that strictly speaking that means the Igluviak could be placed outside the workable range.
    This is a possibility. The Igluviak will not be placed over hidden resources
    There is one of these, actually, but it was broken.
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2021
  9. pineappledan

    pineappledan Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    Messages:
    6,418
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Update posted
    Code:
    Unataatik Unaak promotion now gives -2 movement plague (up from -1)
    multiple lua fixes for igluviak placement and notifications. Should work as intended now.
    non-specialist food change reduced to -0.67 (ie. non-specialists consume 33% less food, down from 50%)
    
    credit to @HungryForFood for updating the NonSpecialistFoodChange to accomodate this change. Thank you!
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2021
    m0nk3yst1ck and Hinin like this.
  10. looorg

    looorg Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    329
    I tried the new update. Checking it out tonight and this weekend. The sea luxuries spawning in Oceans are still there, I swapped map script (Ice Age) to use one of the standard once that came with the box or some DLC. So I'm starting to be more inclined that it's something with the civ and not the map that is causing the issue. I guess you will be able to improve the tiles eventually once you learn how to cross oceans? But that is a long ass time away.

    c5vox-inuit-lux.jpg

    Am I the only one that keep getting this issue? Also it only seems to happen around my starting location as I don't find these sea luxuries out in the oceans next to any other civs. Could it possibly have something to do that you can walk on ice? So it considers ice as land as it spawns out the resources? Still I guess that doesn't explain why it doesn't happen anywhere else.

    It only happens to appear when I have a starting location that is in the extreme north or south, so I'm next to or very close the polar caps and the ice there (it is within normal city range and growth). Could it just be running out of space to spawn luxuries properly? SInce it doesn't happen every single time but just some times.
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2021
  11. pineappledan

    pineappledan Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    Messages:
    6,418
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
  12. HungryForFood

    HungryForFood Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    468
    Location:
    Malaysia
    How about instead of moving the Inuit starting location, you convert the Inuit start location to have snow? Using AssignStartingPlots.lua resource placement may work better. Might look weird if they spawn far from the poles though.

    Alternatively, I did a quick look of the starting bias logic, seems like its mostly in AssignStartingPlots.lua itself. Might be possible to add a snow bias, but I don't know how well that would work.
     
  13. pineappledan

    pineappledan Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    Messages:
    6,418
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
  14. azum4roll

    azum4roll Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    Messages:
    1,660
    Gender:
    Male
    You can alter terrain types, just not plot types. Still, it might be best to just add snow and mountain biases at this point...

    If anyone can tell me how to add new bias type I can make it work in the lua.
     
  15. HungryForFood

    HungryForFood Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    468
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Look for GetStartRegionPriorityListForCiv_GetIDs in MapmakerUtilities.lua. VP doesn't change this, so you'll need to get it from C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization V\Assets\DLC\Expansion2\Gameplay\Lua\.

    Then in AssignStartingPlots.lua, look for the function AssignStartingPlots:BalanceAndAssign(). Line 5380 onwards in the VP one specifically for region bias.

    Also need a new define in the Regions table probably.

    I looked inside the DLL, seems that region bias is handled fully in Lua.
     
  16. looorg

    looorg Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    329
    Just reporting that the Igloo/igluviak spawning appears to be working fine now, have not failed to trigger once so far.
     
    Erikose and pineappledan like this.
  17. pineappledan

    pineappledan Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    Messages:
    6,418
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
  18. azum4roll

    azum4roll Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    Messages:
    1,660
    Gender:
    Male
    There's too little snow in the map to have a snow region. It has to be implemented like River and Coast bias, so a new table would be needed. Mountains have to be implemented this way too, if you want to force Inca to spawn near one.

    Though it's very likely that none of the starting locations generated satisfy the "near snow" or "near mountain" requirements. The script picks the best fertility sites in a region as starting locations, and snow/mountain are 0 fertility. Maybe we can read the bias tables first before picking, and force it to pick a snow/mountain plot to start on? That's going to be ugly though.

    Now, how do you add a new table?
     
  19. Vaya

    Vaya Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Location:
    Slovakia, Central Europe
    Is there a reason why Igloo grants bonuses only after 4 worked tiles unlike caravansary which it replaces, where you need to work only 3 specific tiles? I checked the code and Caravansary has set "Building_YieldPerXTerrainTimes100" on all terrain types to 34 whereas Igloo has it on 33. (33x3=99 < 100). Changing this to 34 seems to grant me +1 gold and hammer correctly on 3rd worked coast tile, not on fourth.
     
  20. pineappledan

    pineappledan Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    Messages:
    6,418
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada

Share This Page