1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Colonialist Legacies: Histories of the New World | Colonial + Pre-Colonial civs

Discussion in 'Civ5 - New Civilizations' started by TPangolin, Oct 23, 2013.

  1. Scapegrace

    Scapegrace Obvious Spambot

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,329
    Location:
    Kent
    Rumours of my death were... pretty accurate, actually. I've really not had my head in the game for the past few months. I guess that with the release of Civ 6, a game that the small charred turnip balanced on my stomach pretending to be a laptop has nary a snowball's chance in a blast furnace of running properly, I got a bit disheartened. I really care about the Civ modding community, and, well... I might not be able to be a productive part of it any more.

    But this is off-topic. Um. Salish return hype? That sounds like fun. SALISH HYPE. =]
     
  2. Neirai

    Neirai the Forgiven

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    985
    Location:
    Canada
    Yeah, now I just have to have free time.

    I'm still in the recovery stage from moving, and my son has a battery of first birthday parties.
     
  3. NiaoMeow

    NiaoMeow Ximicacan? XIMICACAN?

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Messages:
    633
    Location:
    NYC
    Good luck...
     
  4. MaximusPlatypus

    MaximusPlatypus O.O

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    654
    Location:
    the great city-state of Chicago
    I've been playing Vietnam in the NQ Mod. The UA doesn't work in NQ. I was wondering how difficult it would be to give them a different UA (like all Gunpowder units start with double movement in jungle/forest) that could be used in balance-type mods?

    NQ is mostly a MP mod but I really like how it balances out the Social Policy trees. A MP Vietnam on a Rainforest map is frightening :lol:
     
  5. Hoop Thrower

    Hoop Thrower Cyberbolivarian Inkarri

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    2,487
    Location:
    Chile
    Let me see if I understood correctly. You are suggesting to change their UA to a weaker version of the Iroquois UA. An unique ability that per se is extremely weak already?

    Really?
     
  6. MaximusPlatypus

    MaximusPlatypus O.O

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    654
    Location:
    the great city-state of Chicago
    No I don't want the UA altered for Single-play. The UA messes with the GP generation which is probably the conflicts when you use them in this mod. They are still viable, even without a functioning UA. Just a sort of "MP alternate" Vietnam to play in NQ.
     
  7. Chrisy15

    Chrisy15 Flower, Beautiful

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Messages:
    2,063
    You should be more specific than "doesn't work" - what doesn't work? Does the GP gen not increase? Do the Honour policies not change food and culture? The latter could be because of the way the Lua is coded, and would be unavoidable; the former wouldn't have anything to do with the NQ mod and Database and Lua logs are needed.
     
  8. Stef09

    Stef09 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    213
    Noticed a minor bug: In the Australia and Malaysia mods some city-states have been renamed (Sydney to Kingston, Melbourne to Luxembourg, Kuala Lumpur to Jolo?), but when you hover over the city-state with the mouse or click to go to the city-state screen, it still shows the old name. Not game-breaking but mildly annoying... not sure if there's an easy fix?
     
  9. Chrisy15

    Chrisy15 Flower, Beautiful

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Messages:
    2,063
    Fixed in latest Malaysia update.
     
  10. Stef09

    Stef09 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    213
    Awesome, thanks!
     
  11. Chrisy15

    Chrisy15 Flower, Beautiful

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Messages:
    2,063
    Since TPang didn't make an announcement, I guess I'll be the one to declare that Malaysia has been updated!

    Rough patch notes:
    • Pesilat purchase now works, and will also work with CID and Mercs
    • Kampungs no longer require resources to be built; instead they consume an embarked worker, who then becomes one of the nomadic peoples. Note that the naval production modifier will still require naval resources or atolls
    • Workers can now upgrade when within 2 tiles of an enemy unit - note that sight isn't needed on the unit, following in suite of Firaxis' "spider sense" that Workers have
    • Admiral decision now works properly with the CP
    • Culture from excess food has been halved; balance feedback still appreciated
    • CulDiv soundtrack and splashes have been changed; the culture is still Islamic, however
    • UA now works as expected, not giving food to the city if the resource isn't within its borders or worked
    • Culture from food has been unified into one message for all cities, and No Longer Prints Globally!
    • Food from naval units is now represented with MCIS
    • Food from naval now contributes towards the UA's culture output
    • Cultural Development has been added
    • RER support added
    • "Some other stuff between making this file and release" :p
     
  12. Sony_

    Sony_ Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Reykjavík, Iceland
    Not Sure why but it seems that for some reason when I have these mods selected, when I get to the setup page, the page breaks in the sense that I cant scroll down the list.
     
  13. Klisz

    Klisz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    805
    Please enable logging if you haven't already, activate the mods again, and upload your Database.log, XML.log and stopwatch.log (as well as a list of precisely which mods you're using, including non-CL ones). The setup screen scrollbar doesn't work if any civ has less than two uniques, which means that most likely a database error (probably from a mod conflict) is preventing one or more uniques from being added to the game.
     
  14. Chrisy15

    Chrisy15 Flower, Beautiful

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Messages:
    2,063
    >These mods

    Useful. Post Database and Lua logs, along with an actual mod list, so that we can tell what's gone wrong.

    [EDIT] Ninja'd, goddamn. Now my snark looks completely unreasonable :p
     
  15. Neirai

    Neirai the Forgiven

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    985
    Location:
    Canada
    Typically this happens when you have a mod that doesn't have 2 uniques loading into the database -- which all CL mods have. However, if you're using something like EUI, it can mess around with how uniques load and, in some cases (like the Beothuk) wreck the setup.
     
  16. pyroflare77

    pyroflare77 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    667
    Yeah, I'm getting the same problem with Malaysia's update wrecking the civilization picker scroll bar. I looked around a bit and saw LS' Japans had no uniques whatsoever. Loading things up again so I can provide logs. As for mods, I have like a hundred civs and the problem's going to be Malaysia not playing right with one of them. I did notice that the Philippines had been TXT_KEYed out for some reason. Maybe therein lies the issue?
     

    Attached Files:

    • Logs.zip
      File size:
      126.7 KB
      Views:
      29
  17. pyroflare77

    pyroflare77 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    667
    That is, the newest version of Malaysia. The older version worked, despite its own internal bugs.
     
  18. K_Minoru19

    K_Minoru19 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    42
  19. pyroflare77

    pyroflare77 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    667
    Okay, I did a bit more testing with the advanced setup to see what civs are missing uniques. I didn't check everything, but most of LS' Japans and the Philippines are missing uniques when Malaysia is enabled. I did mod the LS Japan set, and what was done is in the OP of this topic, if that would help shed some light on things http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=571423

    Not that it explains why the untouched Shotoku, Kanmu, and Tokugawa lose their uniques...
     
  20. Zooasaurus

    Zooasaurus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Sidoarjo, Indonesia
    With Canada, somehow, i don't get great voyageur as an UU. Instead, i got a thing called "Hunting for furs" instead. What's going on?
     

Share This Page