1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[TOT] Combat lagging out?

Discussion in 'Civ2 - Technical Support' started by L0ki, Jul 16, 2020.

  1. L0ki

    L0ki Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    When I'm playing Civ 2 test of time or civ 2 during combat often the game will hang and just show a spinning circle. I still hear audio but often I miss out on what is going on during combat so I constantly have to look to see what happened after the fact.

    Is this a common problem? Oddly enough using this tool https://github.com/FoxAhead/Civ2-UI-Additions it fixes the bug but that doesn't help me in test of time.
     
  2. JPetroski

    JPetroski Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3,787
    I have the same issue. I've been told it is a windows issue. It doesn't do this on win xp.
     
  3. Knighttime

    Knighttime Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    230
    I used to have this issue as well, but was able to resolve it for Test of Time by running the executable in XP compatibility mode. Right-click on civ2.exe and select Properties, click on the Compatibility tab, check the first box and select "Windows XP (Service Pack 3)". If you are running TOTPP, you might need to do this for TOTLauncher.exe as well.
     
  4. Wooly

    Wooly Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    I have this issue as well. Anyone out there know if there's a fix? I tried running in various compatibility modes per Knighttime's suggestion, but those strangely made the game run so slowly that it was virtually unplayable--never experienced that before due to compat selection.
     
  5. CurtSibling

    CurtSibling ENEMY ACE™ SLeague Staff Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    28,976
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Innsmouth
    If the compatibility modes don't work, then you are stuffed.
     
  6. Wooly

    Wooly Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Darn! Ok, figured that might be the answer... TBH I still feel lucky it works at all on win 10. Thanks, Curt! :)
     
  7. CurtSibling

    CurtSibling ENEMY ACE™ SLeague Staff Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    28,976
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Innsmouth
    No probs - It's really frustrating that these modern wonder OS programs can't allow a humble 1990s game to run without hassle...Oh, well!
     

Share This Page