1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

combining trade units?

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by muhtesem insan, May 20, 2016.

  1. muhtesem insan

    muhtesem insan Amateur Revolutionary

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    563
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Assuming international trade mechanism isn't changed drastically. Do you think we will or should have ability to combine trade units and military units? Or to make even more prosperous trade routes, combine two trade units?
     
  2. stealth_nsk

    stealth_nsk Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,513
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    If the international trade mechanism isn't changed drastically, it's not possible as trade units aren't real units in Civ5 and exist along the whole trade route.

    However, we could expect the trade system to change a lot.
     
  3. Stilgar08

    Stilgar08 Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Zeven, Germany (Lower Saxony ;)
    Sorry, stealth, don't wanna bug you! But again: Source? I read that nowhere... Only thing I heard is that roads between cities (and maybe civs you trade with) come up on there own... But that's got nothin to do with the trade-mechanics
     
  4. stealth_nsk

    stealth_nsk Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,513
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    It's "could expect", not "confirmed" :)
    Developers didn't reveal any details about trade yet, but several articles mentioned changes in trade.
     
  5. Ryika

    Ryika Lazy Wannabe Artista

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Messages:
    9,395
    Managing Trade Routes is probably one of the most boring implementations in Civ5/BE mechanically in my opinion, so I'd be all for changing them.

    But assuming they're still the same... don't quite see how that would work out. Trade Units would still move into dangerous terrain and get completely out of the player's control, just adding a unit and some sort of "basic protection" doesn't really do much good in my opinion. The system would probably be something like "Trade Routes can move through units and take combat damage instead of being destroyed"(?), but what does that really achieve? If they run through enemy territory they'd still get destroyed and you'd be twice as upset because not only the trade route but also the defending unit is gone.
     
  6. GoodSarmatian

    GoodSarmatian Jokerfied Western Male

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Messages:
    9,408
    Gender:
    Male
    I really hope there's some way to properly assign escorts. I rarely bothered with foreign trade routes in CiV because I knew they were going to be plundered by barbarians.
     
  7. SammyKhalifa

    SammyKhalifa Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    5,654
    I'm not sure there really needs to be a source. It's a new game and there are bound to be new systems. I'm guessing spies if they are here for the "Vanilla" version will be different too.
     
  8. AriochIV

    AriochIV Colonial Ninja

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    5,958
    Location:
    Nehwon
    There is one preview in which the previewer (not the developer) says that trade units can be used to scout foreign cities (if you can see a city's district/improvement layout, you know how it is specialized), which may imply that the trade system has been changed, but this is far from confirmed.

    I would be surprised if you'll be able to assign escorts to trade units in Civ VI, for the same reason you can't in Civ V: trade units move in their own layer and pass through other units, which escorting military units can't do.
     
  9. Hakan-i Cihan

    Hakan-i Cihan Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,354
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Escorts would mean that your military units would cross cultural borders of other civs even if you don't have open borders with them. This could be easily abused by players, but probably not by the AI.
     
  10. Ryika

    Ryika Lazy Wannabe Artista

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Messages:
    9,395
    I actually don't think that's a problem. It could work in a way that makes your Military Unit no longer be an actual Military Unit but rather make it be part of the Civilian Unit. It would not be able to do anything of its own but instead just provide a basic defensive strength to the Trade Convoy so it can survive moving through a few units. Mix that with only being able to decouple the units when the trade route has finished (and therefor both units are back at your own city) and I don't really see how that feature would be abusable.
     
  11. Hakan-i Cihan

    Hakan-i Cihan Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,354
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Yes, that could be a workaround for issues with entering borders without making abuse of it. To extend this idea then it should be possible to detach the military unit each time it is in the originating city even if the trade route is not finished yet.
    But another thing that has to be taken care of is when a "defensive" trade unit enters a tile with an enemy unit. Should it attack, wait on the tile in front of the enemy or take another route (if there wouldn't be a max range for trade units)?
    I am still not sure if a military support unit would work out.
    Maybe it is also good to mention some illogical mechanics regarding the trade units as they are in civ V. Trade units blindly enter tiles with enemy units when they are visible to the player. Or once an civ declares war all trade units to him and from him are destroyed immediately even if the trade units are within your own city.
    As you see there are also other issues which if solved, could lessen the need for supportive military units attached to the trade unit. But still I am not against it as long as it is not abusable and will work well.
     
  12. Ryika

    Ryika Lazy Wannabe Artista

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Messages:
    9,395
    In a system that allows Trade Units to be defended by attaching Military Units I wouldn't even treat "protected" Trade Units as Combat Units. The way I'd make it is that if such a Trade Unit enters a Tile with a Combat Unit it loses a part of its health (depending on the Combat Strength of both units), as well as when it's attacked by a ranged unit. If all of its Health is gone the attached Military Unit is destroyed and the Trade Route can be plundered like normal. Those Trade Units would not cause damage to opposing Combat Units but have a larger Health Pool and take less damage in neutral or friendly territory, so they can withstand some confrontation there but are easily plundered if they try to go through enemy territory. They'd also fully heal as soon as they reach one of the destination cities.

    Overall they should be protected from running into random units, but long trade routes through contested territory should be dangerous.
     
  13. Luis_Ah_Hoy

    Luis_Ah_Hoy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Maputo, MOZAMBIQUE
    I personally think that the Civ 5 trading system is quite satisfying and should be maintained.
    So, for a more prosperous trade route it's only reasonable that I (and/or my trading partner) produce more in terms of Gold, Science, etc. And this of course, is done by increasing the trading cities base production, from resource exploitation to the construction of certain Wonders.

    In fact, the "more prosperous trade units" and the "combination of two (or more) trade units" is
    actually emulated by the increase of the trade output. Only that it is done in a way that doesn't require a manual action.
    Quite practical, realistic enough and it spares us from a boring and unnecessary additional action IMO.
     
  14. toft

    toft King

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    758
    Location:
    €urope
    -----
     
  15. Socrates99

    Socrates99 Bottoms up!

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    2,124
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Michigan
    I'd be happy with a patrol option. Now that traders will be exclusively travelling on roads it'd be nice to be able to set military units with a patrol option. Just set them along the more dangerous sections of road.
     
  16. Luis_Ah_Hoy

    Luis_Ah_Hoy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Maputo, MOZAMBIQUE
    Or protect them, for that matter. Agreed.



    Also agree. But the current system, though far from perfect does make it possible (to some extent) for us to protect trading routes.


    This I disagree. I still find it boring and unnecessary to do this manually, when it's clearly emulated in other ways.
     
  17. Seek

    Seek Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,410
    I'm surprised some folks don't like the trade route mechanics in civ 5 - for me it was one of the most successful additions in BNW. The plethora in BE became a chore for sure, but managing a handful is fine.

    Haven't the devs said multiple times that trade routes are tied into the espionage/rumor system or am I going crazy?
     
  18. Eagle Pursuit

    Eagle Pursuit Scir-Gerefa

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    15,636
    I found that even the small number of Trade Routes in Civ V were tedious. Mostly because you could not sort them by output. At least BE had the previous selection moved to the top of the menu and let you make the trade routes permanent.
     
  19. KrikkitTwo

    KrikkitTwo Immortal

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    12,322
    You could sort them by output (at least in BNW)
     
  20. AriochIV

    AriochIV Colonial Ninja

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    5,958
    Location:
    Nehwon
    It's not super-clear, but I do believe they said that trade routes can generate rumors.
     

Share This Page