1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Coming back, some questions concerning the state of the game.

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by allypower, Dec 28, 2012.

  1. allypower

    allypower Warlord

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    I left Civ 5 a while ago due to unplayable, unmoddable state of the game it was in when i it first come out.

    At the time, Civ 5 made my graphic card overheat every time while games such as Skyrim had not. The moddablity of the game concerning units were also impossible. There was no way to import custom units into the game. I followed the tutorial but couldn't get my unit graphic to show up in game.

    So after two years of letting Firaxis fixing it, I am trying to come back to see how the game is coming along (the steam God and King sale was a plus). With that I have some questions.

    1. Will it overheat my computer again? Back then my computer spec was: CPU: i7core quad, 2.8 Ghz. Memory: 8 GB. Graphics: ATI Radeon 5700 series, 1 GB of dedicated graphic (however when I ran a check it only showed 730 MB). My computer now is the same except with the GeForce 660 GTX ti, 2 GB of dedicated graphic and a new power supply 700W (compared to the old one 350W)

    2. Is it still impossible to create your own unit graphics? Back then the Nexus Stone Indie Buddy program didn't work for me. I couldn't convert .blend, .max, .nif nor .maya to granny 2 files. My models did not have any animation but I expected to show up. The tutorial maybe was confusing. If this is possible, can anyone point me to a comprehensive, step by step tutorial, I would be grateful.

    3. Concerning Multiplayer - mainly hotseat. I know 6 months into release they added the hotseat capability. My question is how stable is it. Is it possible to run a game full course in hotseat without crashing?

    4. Just a random question, has anyone figured out a way to create a varied stack in the game to help the madness of too many units without be able to move? When I mean varied stack I mean maybe some unit has weight, say warrior has weight 1, a tank would have weight 8, and maybe a tile can have a maximum capacity, where you can fit 8 warriors but only 1 tank.

    Thanks
     
  2. ense7en

    ense7en n7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    995
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Overheating your PC was and is not a Civ issue, it's a PC issue.

    Not sure what would have been wrong, but PSU sounded pretty weak.

    Unless there is something wrong with your hardware, it will run just fine.

    Cannot help with the other questions, sorry.
     
  3. pennjersey83

    pennjersey83 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Long Island , New York
    I play on a 2010 dual core 2.13 ghz laptop with Integrated Intel i3 graphics, 4 gb RAM, and I've never faced on overheating problem. I blow dust out of my fan with compressed air once a month. My laptop is not meant for gaming AT ALL but Gods and Kings seems to run great. The turn timers are pretty quick (10-20 seconds) even on my basic setup. I use DX9 and it seems they've improved the speed of this game since initial release
     
  4. akashsara

    akashsara Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    India
    Pretty sure it won't overheat.
    My computer has far worse specs and CiV runs great.
     
  5. compwiz1202

    compwiz1202 King

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    703
    Location:
    Bethlehem, PA, USA
    The heat could have somewhat to do with the game. I never overheated, but there was a time in the beginning where it got fairly hot. It doesn't get so hot anymore and I haven't made any hardware changes. Although I suppose it could have been driver updates that improved it also.
     
  6. Rellin

    Rellin Norrathian Gnome

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    337
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    The heat is your computer, not the game.
     
  7. apocalypse105

    apocalypse105 Deity

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,705
    if games like gta 4 skyrin , and call of duty doesn't cause overheating

    but a game like civ 5 wh has lover requirements there is a problem with the game mechanic the 1 unit per tile makes it that the computer overheads
     
  8. Rellin

    Rellin Norrathian Gnome

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    337
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    My computer runs the game fine, same as the thousands of other people who are not posting about heat issues. Get better or more fans, clean your system, etc etc. Just because you have a heat issue on your computer does not mean it is caused by the game. The game may make your computer run more hot for whatever reason, but the problem can only be fixed on your end. The game runs fine.
     

Share This Page