1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Communitu_79

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Map Scripts' started by tu_79, Aug 12, 2019.

  1. HungryForFood

    HungryForFood Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    399
    Location:
    Malaysia
    I tested it myself, I'm sure the use default resource placement choice now works fully. I also tested the map after deactivating my mod, and nothing seems wrong there.

    Will need changes to VP's (and my mod's) AssignStartingPlots.lua. Perhaps I can look into it.
     
    Erikose likes this.
  2. tu_79

    tu_79 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6,911
    Location:
    Malaga (Spain)
    Appreciated it!
     
  3. Dimmy

    Dimmy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    First post is not updated with the latest version 1.14.
     
  4. tu_79

    tu_79 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6,911
    Location:
    Malaga (Spain)
    Done! Thanks.
     
    Dimmy likes this.
  5. tu_79

    tu_79 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6,911
    Location:
    Malaga (Spain)
    Changelog v1.15
    Atlantic ocean set to divide continents more evenly. Big continents should be more similar.
    Removed deprecated code.
    Fixed failsafe code for strategics. Now there's always a minimum quantity assured to appear in the map.
     

    Attached Files:

    glider1, Mitch.sp, bigcat88 and 4 others like this.
  6. azum4roll

    azum4roll King

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    Messages:
    612
    Gender:
    Male
    All changes from 1.13 to 1.14 seem to be undone. Please wait for 1.16.0 for the fix.
     
  7. tu_79

    tu_79 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6,911
    Location:
    Malaga (Spain)
    Have I used 1.13 for 1.15 changes? Strange.

    Now that you're at it, could you remove all deprecated code? It took me a while. If we ever need to reuse code, we can find the old versions.
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2020
  8. arievillo

    arievillo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2020
    Messages:
    32
    Assuming that, since this script was posted here, it works in the vanila version. Right?
     
  9. tu_79

    tu_79 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6,911
    Location:
    Malaga (Spain)
    Should work, yes, but it's balanced for VP.
     
  10. General_Drax

    General_Drax Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2019
    Messages:
    105
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Bologna, Italy
    So do we need to wait 1.16 for a fix or 1.15 is fine ?
     
  11. tu_79

    tu_79 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6,911
    Location:
    Malaga (Spain)
    I'm playing 1.15 without any problem. But probably it is worth to wait for @azum4roll to implement the latest changes. Any ETA?
     
  12. Heinz_Guderian

    Heinz_Guderian Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2020
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Sweden
    Could this be moved to the VP section of the forums perhaps? I have seen (and I was one of them a while ago) that some people dont know about this map script.
     
  13. tu_79

    tu_79 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6,911
    Location:
    Malaga (Spain)
    I think this is the right place for a map that should work for any civ 5 game.
    An advertising could be added in VP section, but where? In the main forum it will be eclipsed in a couple of weeks. In the strategy section, there's already a thread discussing maps. In the modmod section I don't think it will have the same visibility.

    I do my best to advertise it when I'm on the forum, too.
     
    Heinz_Guderian and arievillo like this.
  14. Heinz_Guderian

    Heinz_Guderian Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2020
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Sweden
    Fair enough. Maybe you could add it to your description like Pineappledan has?
     
    tu_79 likes this.
  15. tu_79

    tu_79 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6,911
    Location:
    Malaga (Spain)
    Does it show now?
     
    Heinz_Guderian likes this.
  16. azum4roll

    azum4roll King

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    Messages:
    612
    Gender:
    Male
    v1.15 doesn't have these changes specifically:

    Terra fix:
    - Terra starts don't get the horizontal rift anymore. It divides the biggest continent into 2 pieces most of the time and that creates very cramped starts since Terra places ALL players on the largest area (island).
    - Most city states should spawn on uninhabited areas.
    - Increased minimum starting landmass size to 46% of total land (was 37%). Everyone should have enough space for at least 4 cities now.

    Strategic Balance:
    - Now places one minor deposit of iron and horse 4-6 hexes from your starting position. Not too much, and not too close so you have to actively get them.
    - Removed guaranteed oil.

    If you use neither Terra or Strategic Balance v1.15 is up-to-date.

    v1.16.0 ETA hopefully this weekend.
     
    tu_79 and Heinz_Guderian like this.
  17. Heinz_Guderian

    Heinz_Guderian Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2020
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Sweden
    Yes! :)
     
  18. azum4roll

    azum4roll King

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    Messages:
    612
    Gender:
    Male
    The highly anticipated v1.16.0 is here!

    - New map options:
    Resource Density (Scarce, Normal, Abundant, Random) - affects how many bonus, strategic and luxury resource nodes there are in the map
    Strategic Deposit Size (Small, Normal, Large, Random) - affects the amount of strategic resources each node provides
    Strategic Balance (On, Off) - turns Strategic Balance on or off
    Legendary Start (On, Off) - turns Legendary Start on or off
    With these you can choose to have very little resource nodes on the map with Strategic Balance and Legendary Start both in effect - don't ask me how it makes sense. Note that the map is balanced with normal settings only. If you pick "As base mod" option, the map prioritizes the Strategic Balance option over Legendary Start over Resource Density.

    - Tweaked strategic values so that the map has around 11 iron, 12 horses, 7 coal, 12 oil, 14 aluminum per player (scattered irregularly according to terrain), and around 24-36 uranium in total. You're very likely lacking in at least one of those, so trade with your friends for them!

    - Tweaked feature chance
    Base feature chance unchanged
    Odds multiplier now 1.15/0.85 for fresh water/non-fresh water tiles (from 1.20/0.80)
    Nearby forest multiplier now 1.30 (up from 1.25)
    Tundra hill forests not prohibited; tundra hills get a 0.50 multiplier for features (i.e. forest) instead

    Features (forest, jungle, marsh) should now be slightly less reliant on fresh water and more on nearby forests to be placed.

    If tree triangles are still too rare we might consider raising the base feature chance.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 8, 2020
  19. Cat-du-fromage

    Cat-du-fromage Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2018
    Messages:
    177
    Gender:
    Male
    i don't know if it's already in your list, but is there any chance to see an option to remove the ice blocking north and south :)?(like in the old version of communitas)
     
  20. tu_79

    tu_79 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6,911
    Location:
    Malaga (Spain)
    LOL. The very reason I tweaked the map in the first place was to remove those awful south and north canals.
     

Share This Page