1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Computer Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread II

Discussion in 'Computer Talk' started by Methos, Oct 7, 2009.

  1. PlutonianEmpire

    PlutonianEmpire Socially Awkward Goofball

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,775
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MinneSNOWta
    Nevermind. I forgot to click the update button. :p

    What are good laptop cleaning services?

    AND FOR FREAKING OUT LOUD, DON'T TELL ME TO GET A STUPID CAN OF STUPID AIR. I DON'T WANT TO TAKE IT APART JUST TO BLOW AIR ONTO IT. I DON'T WANT TO VOID THE WARRANTY.
     
  2. Genocidicbunny

    Genocidicbunny Bug squasher

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,473
    Location:
    Orange Town
    There are none. And you don't need to take it apart. The majority of dust and grime is in the exhaust and the keyboard tray. Either one can be accessed without any disassembly.

    Take your can of compressed air, blow out the keyboard tray (just aim the nozzle between the keys). Then, while holding the exhaust fan so it does not spin, blow into the exhaust vent. Congrats, you have just cleaned out 90% of the dust in your laptop.
     
  3. Turner

    Turner Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    28,169
    Location:
    Randomistan
    Yeah, it's pretty basic. Most of the laptops I've worked on, not all mind you but most, you can access the fan from underneath the keyboard. And since the keyboard is usually a user-replaceable part, it doesn't void the warranty to remove it and blow the dust out. Amazing what a shot of compressed air will do in the right place....
     
  4. PeteAtoms

    PeteAtoms FormulaRandom

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    3,722
    Location:
    Land of Ooo
    Anyone know some cool, shortcut tricks for Windows?

    For example, if you create a shortcut on your desktop and put in:

    Code:
    mailto:person@email.com
    ...you will create a shortcut to Outlook/Thunderbird that automatically sets up an email addressed to the specified person.
     
  5. Genocidicbunny

    Genocidicbunny Bug squasher

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,473
    Location:
    Orange Town
    Actually, that only works if you have mailto: associated with those programs.

    I rarely use my actual desktop (which is why its cluttered) and hence, shortcuts. Windows-R and FAR Manager get me to where I need to be.
     
  6. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    16,770
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Check the parameters for the programs, it is often useful. It depends on the individual programs.

    I keep the Recycle Bin in a corner because I used to keep accidentally dragging things into it.
     
  7. Black Bart

    Black Bart Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Can someone show me a link to a free C++ compiler or other helpful programming tools? I want to start messing around a little with programming.
     
  8. GVBN

    GVBN Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Finland
  9. Genocidicbunny

    Genocidicbunny Bug squasher

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,473
    Location:
    Orange Town
    Notepad++ and MiniGW. I wouldnt start with C++ if you're just learning programming. Start with C. The Kernighan and Ritchie book on C is a decent intro.
     
  10. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    15,897
    Location:
    Canada
    emacs and gcc. :smug:
     
  11. Genocidicbunny

    Genocidicbunny Bug squasher

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,473
    Location:
    Orange Town
    MiniGW is gcc....
     
  12. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    15,897
    Location:
    Canada
    Yeah, I'd argue than linux is a better platform to learn to program on than Windows though.
     
  13. Genocidicbunny

    Genocidicbunny Bug squasher

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,473
    Location:
    Orange Town
    Unix > Windows for programming of course, but not everyone wants to change from windows to Unix/Linux to learn how to program.
     
  14. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    15,897
    Location:
    Canada
    Virtualbox is wonderful for that, I am myself too comfortable with Windows to run any flavour of Linux as my primary desktop OS.
     
  15. Bratmon

    Bratmon Super Bratmon 3

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    /dev/random
    The problem with VirtualBox is exactly that: nobody ever uses their Linux box.
     
  16. Till

    Till Adventurer

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    4,171
    Location:
    Background Noise
    After the recent update, cygwin is now quite viable as a programming platform for simple projects again. You have gcc, make, git, and a bunch of development libraries. Of course if you need to make heavy use of libraries, there's no way around (virtualboxed) linux.
     
  17. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    16,770
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Question: Is there a way, without any extra hardware, to play videos from my computer on a small CRT TV? No high-definition, no digital. Google's not helping me with this as I keep getting HD/digital.

    I don't know for sure if I have a TV-out (is that the right term? I saw it on another forum), but I don't think there's one. I was thinking of connecting it like a dual-monitor but then I realized it may be tricky if the TV is not right next to the monitor, plus I may have programs disappearing onto the other monitor.
     
  18. Cutlass

    Cutlass The Man Who Wasn't There.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    45,334
    Location:
    US of A
    You have to have a video output on the PC that is compatible with a video input on the TV. Identify all the outputs and inputs and you'll probably know yourself if any can be used.
     
  19. stuge

    stuge Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,841
    Location:
    The gale-swept forests of Finland
    Anyone have an idea why I'm having such trouble with Youtube videos? I've tried four browsers (Firefox, Chrome, Opera, IE), and only IE doesn't crash frequently because of a Youtube vid. Oddly enough, embedded vids will cause the crash faster than Youtube itself.
     
  20. Cutlass

    Cutlass The Man Who Wasn't There.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    45,334
    Location:
    US of A
    It's not obvious. Probably a software conflict of some sort. But hard to say to what. Try upgrade video card drivers, upgrade the other programs that the browsers use to display content.
     

Share This Page