Condensed tips for beginners?

Roger_Mellie

Chieftain
Hi,

I'm new to Civ4 although I played Civ3 quite some time ago. I was wondering if you "experts" could put some short, concise tips in to help us beginners. From my own experience and reading the other threads, I've picked out the following:

-> Build fewer, quality cities.
-> Build near resources
-> Chopping down forrests boosts production, helping early production of buildings and units
-> Build roads to move units across the map much faster
-> Build roads to resources like horses and elephants with roads to enable production of mounted units at all cities (if you have the right techs)

If anyone can post their tips then that would be really great. Please try to keep is in Layman's terms! :)

- Research mysticism first to be able to create Stonehenge and obelisks (this will give you culture to expand your borders)
- Move your scout or warrior around the land in order to discover good spots for a new city or to meet other civs (other civs means: go for defense and expand towards the enemy, fill the gaps at the poles and jungle later)
- If both a warrior and a worker cost 15 hammers, go for the worker in order to develop your city sooner. Choose the warrior if that takes 8 turns (so your city can grow to 2 in the meantime)
- After mysticism, research meditation or polytheism in order to get a religion. If meditation is researched while you are still researching it, change it to polytheism (use the tech-screen by pressing F6). If polytheism is researched also, go for iron working. A holy city gives you benefits.
- After iron working, go for alphabet. Once researched, you can trade your techs with other civs. Trade with distant enemies first, you don't want to give your neighbours the edge. Don't trade your alphabet-tech just yet, you don't want others to be able to trade as well, do you?