confused about what starting arcane tech to go with (such as necromancery)

smjjames

Emperor
Well, I'm not sure where to post this, so if it's in the wrong place, then I apologize about it.

Anyways, I'm new to FfH and in this game I'm doing, I want to get one of the arcane techs, but I'm not sure which one. I'm playing the calabim atm, and I have the ashen veil religion throughout my small empire (I'm playing on a small map, pangaea). Even though everybody else is neutral, a few through another religion, I don't want to damage my relationship with the other civs any further.

As calabim, I have shadow, law, and body mana with one sun mana which I guess is because a city of mine is next to it. I do have one other mana spot, but it's raw untapped mana even though it says the mana type is entropy. I can make the raw mana node anything I want I think.

The main thing here is that I have no idea about what specialization would work or even what exactly each specialization would lead to.

All the four routes LEAD the same place -- you have Knowledge of the Ether, which branches into the 4 types of magic, which all lead back to Sorcery.

As for which one to go for, if I don't have another plan, I often go for either elementalism or divination. Keep in mind this advice is coming from an incurable builder. I even ended up playing Tasunke peacefully...

Elementalism - gives access to good attack spells at the mage level (Fire, Air), good utility at the adept level (Spring, Blaze), and strong summons at the archmage level (all)

Divination - Most of the "builder" mana are in here. Law - reduces maintenance costs, gives the nice Valor spell (and Courage, if you should be near a certain beast). Spirit - Lets me build the Shrine of Sirona. Life - health bonus, access to Aquae Sucellus wonder, can sanctify ruins to minimize the AC (handy because I have to burn most AI cities as they don't fit my placement plan!)