1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Conquest of the World achievement - how to get?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by HamTard, Aug 27, 2011.

  1. HamTard

    HamTard Warlord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    Canada
    It says "As Alexander, defeat every known player by 350 BC"

    I've tried several 1v1 on a duel map and rushed to kill the AI asap. Sometimes I even kill them by 1360 BC, sometimes with Hoplites and sometimes without, but the achievement never unlocks. Has anyone unlocked this and if so, do you remember how?
     
  2. BjoernLars

    BjoernLars Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    270
    Location:
    Anyang, Kyeonggi-do, South Korea
    I remember correctly, "Every know player" includes City States. Try turning them off (or conquering all four).
     
  3. CTH

    CTH Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    399
    Location:
    Göteborg, Sweden
    Play on islands or continents, it is not every player it is every known player. In other words if you only find one you can destroy them and get the achievement. Perhaps a city state is enough.
     
  4. CatGarfield

    CatGarfield Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Helsinki
    I think I got mine playing through the tutorials. The battle tutorial was between Alex (me) and Darius/Persia, no one else involved. Since I've never played as Alex but for a few turns on Deity, that's the only possible way I could have got the achievement.
     
  5. TheMarshmallowBear

    TheMarshmallowBear Benelovent Chieftain of the BearKingdom

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,594
    Location:
    Inside an Ikanda.
    City State is not enough, I tired,

    You need to fully CONQUER ALL CITIES to get the achievements.

    Play it on Settler, and rush with Hoplites, just buy.. and buy.. and buy..

    It is a very easy achievement to get, and I recommend choosing Pangea, just use your original Warrior to find the opposite nation and then start rushing, jsut make sure you wipe out the civilization not just conquer the capital.
     
  6. chgrogers

    chgrogers Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Location:
    Central US
    Another thing to get you more time to use a Hoplite rush is to play on Marathon.
     
  7. TheMarshmallowBear

    TheMarshmallowBear Benelovent Chieftain of the BearKingdom

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,594
    Location:
    Inside an Ikanda.
    I don't recommend doing it on Marathon, because that's gonna raise the time to build Hoplites too, it's not THAT hard to get the achievement.
     
  8. qalsip1977

    qalsip1977 Wonder Lust

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    280
    It is only relevant to AI civs. And the easiest way to get it is to rush Companion Cavalry. I did it with no problems.

    1. Set your science to horseback riding.
    2. Set your warrior to explore the immediate surrounding around (4-5 tiles in every direction).
    3. Build order: worker, settler
    4. Once animal husbandry is done it reveals horses, use your worker to build a road to the nearest horses.
    5. Once your settler is done, move up the road and build on top of the horses.
    6. Start cranking out companion cavalry...3-4 should take out an AI city at this point.

    That should do it :)
     
  9. TheMarshmallowBear

    TheMarshmallowBear Benelovent Chieftain of the BearKingdom

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,594
    Location:
    Inside an Ikanda.
    That is a difficult way

    You can rush Hoplites

    Don't need a second settler

    Just rush.
     
  10. SemperFi2382

    SemperFi2382 Mitten Marauder

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    321
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    I did it like this:

    - Duel Map
    - Pangea
    - Warrior Rush
    - Chieftain iirc

    If you are lucky, the other Civ will start very close, which was the case for me. I had about 4-5 Warriors and just smashed the other Civ. Combined with the low difficulty setting, the AI had only 1 Warrior and just the Capital.

    Did not even get Iron finished before I killed him off.
     
  11. HamTard

    HamTard Warlord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    Canada
    I did a Hoplite rush in duel, pangea, settler difficulty, no city states

    I did it like that 3 times against different AIs but none of the times did the achievement unlock

    do you have to do it on a higher difficulty?
     
  12. qalsip1977

    qalsip1977 Wonder Lust

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    280
    Try my strat instead. Yeah you have to be patient and it relies on horses...but it's easy and OP enough that it's a guaranteed win if you find horses early.
     
  13. Yzman

    Yzman Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,692
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    If you have truly wiped out all of their cities it should unlock. City states do not matter. Are you sure you are connected to steam? Are you using mods?

    If you are using any type of mod or are playing in offline mode on steam you won't get any achievements.
     
  14. HamTard

    HamTard Warlord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    Canada
    I use no mods and I'm definitely online with Steam.

    When I set there to be only 1 AI and no city states, there can't be any cities I'm missing.
     
  15. TheMarshmallowBear

    TheMarshmallowBear Benelovent Chieftain of the BearKingdom

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,594
    Location:
    Inside an Ikanda.
    Well, do you get the pop-up of them admitting defeat? If not you haven't defeated them, you only can get the achievements wants they have no cities left.
     
  16. HamTard

    HamTard Warlord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    Canada
    Yes I get the pop up saying I won, and the prompt to return to the main menu.

    Despite that, no achievement pops up.
     
  17. qalsip1977

    qalsip1977 Wonder Lust

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    280
    Shift-tab while Civ is up and see if you got the achievement. If you didn't, try again, rinse and repeat as necessary :D
     
  18. TheMarshmallowBear

    TheMarshmallowBear Benelovent Chieftain of the BearKingdom

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,594
    Location:
    Inside an Ikanda.
    Ummm, you saying you got the pop-up that you WON The game, not that you wiped out the civilization, you need to take over ALL of the cities, i.e, not just the capital.

    Once you get the rival civilization admiting defeat diplomacy leaderhead, then you get the achievement.
     

Share This Page