1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Conquests ini

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Creation & Customization' started by Varlin Saliptor, Dec 5, 2009.

  1. Varlin Saliptor

    Varlin Saliptor Does not hate the future.

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,515
    Location:
    San Marcos, Texas
    I know that a lot of useful things can be achieved by editing the Conquests.ini.

    However.

    I just reinstalled Windows on my computer, and alongside it, CivIII (finally)...hopefully I'll get back into modding. But, intending to enable KeepRes, I found that the Conquests.ini didn't exist. Any ideas?

    I am running Windows 7, if that makes any difference. Any one else have this issue?
     
  2. Mithadan

    Mithadan Wandering Woodsman

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,036
    Location:
    Alberta über alles ;)
    Hmm, nope, but I still run XP.

    What's KeepRes anyway?
     
  3. Varlin Saliptor

    Varlin Saliptor Does not hate the future.

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,515
    Location:
    San Marcos, Texas
    KeepRes makes the resolution of the game stay at whatever your screen is set at, instead of keeping it at 1024x768. That way they don't get all stretched out.

    It is nothing major, really. Just a frustration.
     
  4. Varlin Saliptor

    Varlin Saliptor Does not hate the future.

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,515
    Location:
    San Marcos, Texas
    Ah, nevermind. Found it.

    7 puts it under a filter that says "Compatibility Files"
     
  5. wolf_brother

    wolf_brother Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Messages:
    801
    Location:
    UTC−6
  6. Varlin Saliptor

    Varlin Saliptor Does not hate the future.

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,515
    Location:
    San Marcos, Texas
    Nice link, wb. I didn't know about the voice chat. Or the video mode one... I think I'll stick with KeepRes for that though.
     
  7. Supa

    Supa Out of Cheese Error

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    3,663
    Location:
    Belgium
  8. Moosezilla

    Moosezilla Grognard Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    Canton of Roaring Waste
    Yes it is a nice link, and it is reference, why is it still in Gen Disc?
     
  9. Varlin Saliptor

    Varlin Saliptor Does not hate the future.

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,515
    Location:
    San Marcos, Texas
    Thanks :)

    Probably because it is an ancient thread, and that file is used more to tweak the game settings (or view old settings) then it is to mod. The only modding useful functions are KeepRes if you want to use widescreen graphics, and NoAIPatrol for better barbarians.
     

Share This Page