1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Couple of tiles provide 52 food in Prehistoric Era

Discussion in 'Bugs and Crashes' started by KaiserTom, May 26, 2014.

  1. KaiserTom

    KaiserTom Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    13


    Shows exactly what I am talking about. It's also not a visual bug because I have tested settling the area and it provides 52 food as on the tin (with a bunch of food wasted of course). There was a volcano around that area before but I have yet to see this happen with any other volcano so I am convinced it's a bug or some feature I did not know existed. Save for anyone wanting to mess with it.

    Edit: I should clarify that this is SVN, not V34.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. KMRblue1027

    KMRblue1027 The Crown!

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    Hamilton, NJ
    Which tile I can't find you mouse cursor? I have this bug in my game near a volcano far away from my cities.
     
  3. Koshling

    Koshling Vorlon

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,254
    As I recall, the volcano eruption events add temporary productivity boosts once the eruption stops to nearby grassland. Perhaps that is stacking somehow after multiple eruptions (it's not supposed to)
     
  4. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    26,116
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    That's been the previous diagnosis suggested. That's handled in the python for that event isn't it?
     
  5. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,290
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    It is and the problem would have put some stuff in the log. Unfortunately no one has posted a log showing the errors that would cause this excess of food and I have not had it happen in my game. Thus no clue as to why or where it is happening.
     
  6. Hale_9204

    Hale_9204 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Messages:
    199
    Location:
    Italy
    Has this issue been solved? I'm actually playing a game on SVN v7496 and I've got a barren tile near a dormant volcano which produces 55 food (see pic)
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,290
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    I thought I had but I got the same thing, so no it has not been fixed.
     
  8. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    26,116
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
  9. Hale_9204

    Hale_9204 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Messages:
    199
    Location:
    Italy
    Need something to fix it? such as save, logs and so on?
     
  10. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,675
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    @Hale_9204,
    Now DH doesn't say Which Logs he needs unfortuanately. So I would give him All logs.

    JosEPh
     
  11. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,290
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    I expected something to appear in the PythonErr.log file but it does not. I will need to put some trace prints in. It looks like it is adding food every time any volcano is erupting not just when a new one or dormant one erupt. Going dormant is supposed to remove the extra food.
     
  12. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    26,116
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    It seems like it's always around 50 more than it should be... could it be as simple as being the value is setup wrong?
     
  13. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,290
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    It just adds or subtracts one. We had a problem before that when any volcano went extinct all extinct volcano plots had their resource redone. I have fixed that. Now it seems to be adding one to some plots a lot more than other plots. Until I can get to look at it and code some trace prints to see what is actually happening I wont be able to identify the problem and fix it.
     
  14. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    26,116
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Yeah, I figured it was rather problematic and tricky or it would've been easily resolved. I guess I'll be finding out if it really causes a major game imbalance for whatever city gets the benefit of snuggling up to said volcano.
     

Share This Page