Creating a mod

JuniperBarry

Chieftain
I have been working on a mod to add a new civilization into the game. This is my first time modding I have gotten to a point where I debugged my code with 0 errors in the code but I get in game and the civilization does not appear on the menu I'm at a loss on what to do from here is there somewhere I can post my files and have someone review it and see where I went wrong?

You can attach your mod to a post on this very thread, assuming the total size of the zipped up version of the mod does not exceed the limits the forum will accept.

1. Zip the version of the mod the game is actually trying to use, which will be found as a sub-folder in ~\Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization VI\Mods. Zip the whole sub-folder for your mod.
  2. To attach the zip to a forum post, look for a button called Upload A File when composing your thread reply: this button opens a browse menu where you can select the zipped folder to attach directly to a forum post.
Above assuming you are using a Windows PC and are not running from a Mac, about which I know nothing. But you can't run Modbuddy from a Mac so I assume you are using a Windows machine.

I did a quick look at your mod on Sinday but I did not have a chance to get back to you that evening or yesterday because of Real Life. Not sure I will be able to make a response this evening or not because Real Life Stuff is still in Real Life Sucks Mode.

Just wanted to drop a quick line to assure I did not forget you -- just having "things" going on that started Sunday afternoon.

Your most basic problem is that you've told the game to use files which are not part of your mod. From your modinfo file
Code:
  <FrontEndActions>
    <UpdateDatabase id="NewAction">
      <File>Core/Joshs_Template_Config.sql</File>
      <File>Core/Joshs_Template_Buildings.xml</File>
    </UpdateDatabase>
    <UpdateIcons id="NewAction">
      <File>Core/Joshs_Template_Icons.xml</File>
    </UpdateIcons>