1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Croatian civilisation

Discussion in 'Civ5 - New Civilizations' started by TrashMan, Oct 15, 2010.

  1. TrashMan

    TrashMan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Croatia
    Hi guys.

    I made a Croatian civilisation and just noticed that the SDK tool doesn't appear on m Stem tools list (and I have dozens of things listed there, even for games I never had or played).

    Could anyone pack it for me, at least till I can find out WTF is going on?

    The Civ should be pretty complete.
    The leader is King Tomislav, and civ has 2 special units - croatian veterans(longswordsman that start with medic and give a small fight bonus to nearby units..but they are expensive) and Domagojs archers (faster and a bit better in close combat than regular ones)

    Their civ trait is +10% fighting bonus in their own territory and +1 gold
     
  2. TrashMan

    TrashMan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Croatia
  3. mislaV_01

    mislaV_01 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Woohoo, Croatia. Nice. Beeing from Croatia i applaud your choice :)
     
  4. TrashMan

    TrashMan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Croatia
    Thanks... finding good old maps and flags was not easy. I spent hours looking for a map and am not happy with the one I found, but it works...meh.
     
  5. T0rca1950

    T0rca1950 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    TY for the Croatian civilization. Great work. :goodjob:

    I like that you choosed king Tomislav and Domagoj's archers, really good choice.
    I don't get the Croatian veterans... :crazyeye:
    Maybe it's better to replace them with Omiš pirates (galley replacement) or by Alkars (knight replacement).

    Just an advice, don't get mad. :goodjob:

    EDIT: Here's an really good picture of Alkar that would fit in the game... Picture
     
  6. TrashMan

    TrashMan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Croatia
    Ya, I'm aware of it, but Alkars are not really a war unit, more like a tradition. Besides, I wanted to bring home just how much fighting Croatia did in the 10th-16th century period.

    Omiš pirates....hmm..not a bad idea, altough thy don't sound like a military units...being pirates.

    I plan to add more modification with time - more unique units and stuff. Right now, I added the Iowa and Yamato battleships for the USA and Japan respectively...and bumped normal battleships with more range.
     
  7. T0rca1950

    T0rca1950 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    So this is not going to be a clean Croatian civilization mod, you'll make other changes to the game too?:(
     
  8. TrashMan

    TrashMan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Croatia
    No, this is a clear Croatia mod..the other modifications are something I'm experimenting with on the side.
     
  9. TrashMan

    TrashMan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Croatia
    Sooo...can anyone pack it for me? I can create the modinfo file mannually, but not the md5 checksums. I tried generating them (there's a neat program that cna do that), but it doesn't work. Crash when I try to load my mod.


    crapola...on the flipside, I created a new, very short intro animation that replaces the regular one..it only lasts 5 seconds :p
     
  10. TrashMan

    TrashMan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Croatia
    An interesting quote from Napoleon, which I will insert into some of the background text or unit description.

     
  11. TrashMan

    TrashMan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Croatia
    I will be adding new icons and changes to this....IIRC, a civ can have more than 2 unique things, yes?

    Either way, I think I'll change the civ trait, but I'm not sure what to make it.

    I defiantely want to keep the +10% combat strength in friendly territory, but want to add something to it. Probably positive and negative.
    +1 happines per city?
    -1 happines for annexed city? or something.... Hm..might require scripting.

    Anyone got any ideas?

    EDIT: Found this...interesting source for ideas:
    http://hercegbosna.org/forum/povijest/hrvatski-ratnici-kroz-stoljeca-t2763.html
     
  12. i101

    i101 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    .de
    Thank you for the croatian civ mate. I like it that you choose King Tomislav as their leader, regarding the special units, Domagojs archers are a perfect choice but the veterans dont seem to fit in, at least for me. Maybe some sea units or a better seaport, Ive read that when Tomsilav beatback Hungary and Bulgaria he owned a significant amry and a powerful fleet (source in german: steindorff; croatia: from the middle ages up to present). Regarding +10% combat strength in friendly territory sounds nice and the idea to give a malus of -1 happines for annexed citys seems fair too.

    Keep up the good work mate. Btw. if you need webspace to host your file, PM me, I can provide you.

    Cheers.
     
  13. TrashMan

    TrashMan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Croatia
    Nah, webspace or file hosting ain't an issue.
    The two stumbling points are that I can only work on the mod over weekends and that the SDK doesn't appear on my download list, so I have to do everything manually.
     
  14. TrashMan

    TrashMan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Croatia
    Still can't get the SDK and Mod Buddy...still can't get the mod to run 8(validation).

    Can anyone PLEASE pack it for me?

    http://www.mediafire.com/?fcvxe5714x6ena8

    B.t.w. - added unit portraits. Fixed the civ trait (-10% unhappines from pop and city growth)
     
  15. TrashMan

    TrashMan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Croatia
    :(

    No one is willing to help I guess?
     
  16. Justicex

    Justicex Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    332
    The SDK is there, I'm not sure why you can't see it. I had a problem finding it too until I remembered that the "official" name is "Sid Meier's Civilization V". So look near the bottom of the Tools list and you should find it there :D
     
  17. TrashMan

    TrashMan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Croatia
    I'm tellin you it ain't there...

    Meh.
     
  18. NedimNapoleon

    NedimNapoleon Weird Little Human

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    6,022
    Location:
    Bosnia
    Nice, pretty nice
     
  19. [CRO]Nemesis

    [CRO]Nemesis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Croatia!
    Add +100% (or 66%) hammers when building units in war time as special trait. Whenever we were attacked we managed to create an an army really fast. Just remember Vojna Krajna in 17th century where people moved from all parts of Austrian empire because of the low tax rates under the condition that they would automatically join army if war starts...
     
  20. Svinja Pauk

    Svinja Pauk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    10

Share This Page