1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Cruise Missile Question...

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by CloudXIII, Dec 17, 2001.

1. CloudXIII

CloudXIII Chieftain

Ok, so this is my first time playing civ3 and i finnally get to the modern age and i get a few cruise missile to get egypt back for prevouse events... then when i try to move the cruise missile over water it doesnt go! it just sits there like it would if it where a ground unit that you tryed to move over water. so, then i click some where on the land i was on and it moves there! can any one tell my why it doesnt go on/over water? Is this normal? do all missiles do this?

2. Sparrowhawk

Sparrowhawk The Builder

It's not a bug... It's the way Firaxis designed the game (why, I don't know). I think a lot of people were hoping Firaxis/Infogrames would fix it with the patch, and to tell you the truth I don't know if they did, but I don't think so.

3. CloudXIII

CloudXIII Chieftain

does it happen with all missiles? or just cruise

4. Sparrowhawk

Sparrowhawk The Builder

Just cruise missiles I believe. ICBM's stay in the city that they were built, and Tactical Nukes move like air units.

5. CloudXIII

CloudXIII Chieftain

How do ICMB's fire then?

6. Sparrowhawk

Sparrowhawk The Builder

Direct bombard to anywhere on the planet. Makes sense if you think about it. ICBMs aren't just a missile, they're a whole underground complex and support network.

7. JarHead

JarHead Arcangel

You can take the man out of the Corps, but you can
    Does the C Missile act this way because the Game Engine treats it as a land artillery piece?

I think the best answer is giving Air Missions capabilities to the C Missile. (ref the threads in Creation)

8. Craterus22

Craterus22 King