1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

CTD when ordering hunter units to attack animals

Discussion in 'Bugs and Crashes' started by ZanThrax, Oct 5, 2019.

  1. ZanThrax

    ZanThrax Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Edmonton
    For the past ~100 turns or so, whenever I order a hunter unit to attack a nearby animal after the screen pans to that hunter, I get a CTD about half the time. (And each time, I realize as I give the order that I should have known it was going to crash.) Any idea if there's something specific I can do to stop it happening? I've taken to saving every turn or two so I can actually make progress in my game.
     
  2. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6,133
    Location:
    Poland
    Upload save
     
  3. ZanThrax

    ZanThrax Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Edmonton
    It's specifically the Sable Trapper units that cause the crashes. There's one just south of Jerusalem next to a Penguin that caused my latest crash.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    26,081
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Good job on isolating that! I'm not sure who can correct it but it's a special cultural unit that wouldn't be hard to comment out for now. What culture generates that thing?
     
  5. ZanThrax

    ZanThrax Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Edmonton
    It's the Tungus cultural unit. I had to look it up in game - I built every culture I could and happened to notice the Sable Trappers when I was looking for a way to increase my total number of hunters.
     
  6. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6,133
    Location:
    Poland
    @alberts2 or @billw2015 could check why it crashes - billw is really good in digging deep in code.
     
  7. ZanThrax

    ZanThrax Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Edmonton
    I just created this save, and got a crash on my next move - I had the sable hunter near the capital attack the black-flagged fox to the west & it crashes.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. billw2015

    billw2015 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    657
    Ah I missed this, I only read the one bug/crash thread. I will have a look.
     
  9. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6,133
    Location:
    Poland
    Can't replicate crash. Upload minidump and your user settings.

    This save takes 45 seconds to process.
    It is Renaissance with 12 players on Prince/Standard/Marathon

    Handicap heavily affects turn speeds, as on higher level unit AIs simply have more buildings and units created on given era.
    AIs are in Classical/Medieval so someone could pick harder handicaps.
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2019
  10. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    26,081
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    It's not likely a crash resulting from bad code but from a bad animation on that unit. We don't have anyone who cares to work with animation so we will have to just take the unit out.
     
  11. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6,133
    Location:
    Poland
    Well this crash doesn't happen for me.
     
  12. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    26,081
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Might be something more code based then. We'll see what Bill comes up with on that.
     
  13. ZanThrax

    ZanThrax Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Edmonton
    It's not 100% guaranteed crash; When I loaded the last save, I was able to make the attack on the fox without issue. I think maybe it's related to the messages / event sounds being queued up when I initiate an attack. At least, it seems to happen more often if the sable hunter comes up as the next unit and I order the attack on an animal that I happen to see nearby.

    I can upload a "minidump" and user settings if someone tells me what that is and where to find it.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. billw2015

    billw2015 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    657
  15. ZanThrax

    ZanThrax Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Here's the most recent one.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. billw2015

    billw2015 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    657
    That is a save file, I want the crash dump please, read the link again!
     
  17. ZanThrax

    ZanThrax Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Edmonton
    I don't know how that happened... I was sure I selected the minidump to upload. But since the boards told me that .dmp files aren't allowed, I must not have.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. billw2015

    billw2015 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    657
    That MiniDump shows you extremely far out of date from the latest version! As I can't reproduce the crash in the latest version, and we intend to release the new version within a week I won't look into it further now.
     
  19. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6,133
    Location:
    Poland
    So looks like we already fixed crash somewhere in SVN.
    Looks like its V38.5 or even V38.1 - you didn't even download V39, which was released month ago or so.

    You are using some version released just after 10103 (SVN versioning was weird - that is minidump used version of previous compilation not current one).
    That is version released year and half ago!
    V39 is SVN 10703
    V38.5 is SVN 10103 or something like that
    V38.1 is SVN 9916

    This means on V40 release we have to get rid all older versions on moddb, so players won't download them and then complain about bugs, that were fixed year ago.

    So zanthrax, this is what you get for playing outdated version (V38.5)
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2019 at 10:04 AM
  20. ZanThrax

    ZanThrax Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Edmonton
    I thought I downloaded the latest version when I downloaded the mod a couple months ago... It's honestly quite hard to tell. Can I keep playing the current game if I download a newer version? Because I don't think I've got it in me to start another play through; I started this one something like six weeks ago and I'm only, what, 28% or so through?

    edit: I was going to ignore the fudge you attitude of the last couple of posts, but I guess the "we're above helping anyone if they don't reinstall daily" attitude means that I'm not even going to get an answer to my question. Oh well, I guess me experiment with C2C has ended early.
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2019 at 8:34 PM

Share This Page