1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Custom Leaderheads Pack

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Graphics Modpacks' started by kochman, Apr 13, 2010.

  1. kochman

    kochman Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    10,818
    Included in this download pack of 142MB are many additional leaderheads that you can plug in to the existing civilizations of Civ 4 BtS.

    DOWNLOAD HERE:
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=14645


    Included are:
    Afonso Henriques - Portugal
    Agemmemnon - Greece
    Alexander the Great - Greece (better art than Firaxis did on Alex)
    Ataturk - Ottomans
    Friedrich Barbarossa - Holy Roman Empire
    Basil II Bulgar Slayer - Byzantine
    Constantine the Great - Byzantine
    Dido - Carthage
    Francisco Franco - Spain
    Hadrian - Rome
    Harald Hardrada - Vikings
    Hiawatha - Native Americans
    Adolf Hitler - Germany
    Jayavarman VII - Khmer
    Julius Caesar - Rome (younger version)
    Khosrau I - Persia
    Alexios I Komnenos - Byzantine
    Maximilian I - Holy Roman Empire
    Menelik II - Ethiopia
    Meiji - Japan
    Maurits van Nassau - Netherlands
    Nebuchadrezzar II - Babylon
    Philip II - Spain
    Ptolemy Soter - Egypt
    Ronald Reagan - USA
    Trajan - Rome
    Vercingetorix - Celts

    If there are leaders you don't want to use, you simply enter the file called "Custom_CIV4CivilizationInfos.xml", find the leader you want, and change the "1" under availability to "0" and save changes.

    A lot of people have done some amazing art here (if I forgot your name, just tell me, and I will add it):
    The Capo
    Nitram15
    Ekmek
    Amra
    Zerver
    cool3a2
    charle88
    Methyl Orange
    NikNaks
    Bernie14
    PW90
    Smeagolheart
    Chuggi
    cfkane
    IgorS
    cybrxkhan
    veBear
    The_Coyote
    Den9510
    pencilgod
    mechaerik
    C.Roland
    RulerOfDaPeople
    Wyz_sub10

    All you have to do to play with them is:
    INSTILLATION INSTRUCTIONS
    1) Download and unzip mod
    2) Create the following directory and place mod in this directory:
    Civilization 4/Beyond the Sword/Mods/Extra LHs*/Assets/Modules
    3) Copy and paste a .ini file from any other mod, and place it in:
    Civilization 4/Beyond the Sword/Mods/Extra LHs*/
    4) Rename .ini file Extra LHs.ini*
    5) Open the .ini file and replace the XML code with the following code:

    Code:
    [CONFIG]
    
    ; Modular XML Loading
    ModularLoading = 1
    
    ; Skip Main menu
    SkipMainMenu = 0
    
    ; Custom Art from user folder is not loaded
    NoCustomArt = 0
    
    ; Custom XML and Python from user folder are not loaded
    NoCustomAssets = 1
    
    ; No Custom Scenario option in main menu
    NoCustomScenario = 0
    
    ; No team play allowed
    NoTeams = 0
    
    ; Read Game options from XML, not .ini
    ForceGameOptions = 0
    
    ; Always start in the standard era
    ForceStandardEra = 0
    
    ; Scenario file (Single player)
    ForceScenario = 0
    
    ; This mod is only for single player games
    SinglePlayerOnly = 0
    
    ; Allow public maps to be used with this mod
    AllowPublicMaps = 1
    
    ; Mod Image file
    ImageFile = 0
    
    ; Name of Mod
    Name = Extra Civs
    
    ; Description of Mod
    Description = Generic Mod
    6) Start Civilization 4 Beyond the Sword, at main menu select Advanced>Load a Mod
    7) Extra LHs* should be an option, select this mod, then select "Go" and the mod should load


    * You can actually name this mod whatever you want, but whatever it is, make sure the .ini file has the same name.

    Note: You can put more than one mod into the folder, and you only need to do steps 1 & 2for each additional mod after the first one.


    Note: Screenshot includes names of leaders from my custom civs which are not included in this download. See links in my signature if interested.
     

    Attached Files:

    • LHs.jpg
      LHs.jpg
      File size:
      96.1 KB
      Views:
      1,251
  2. kochman

    kochman Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    10,818
    This pack basically takes all the busy work out of applying new leaderheads. It took me hours to put together, because some leaderheads (most in fact), are not truly module, in that they are not plug and play. I have done all the XML coding you need to do to just drop this in and make it work.

    Please let me know if there are any errors. I tried it and didn't come across any, but that doesn't mean there aren't any.
     
  3. Dagenham Dave

    Dagenham Dave Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    This is pretty much exactly what I've been looking for for quite a while, since I don't want too many additions and I'm too inept at modding and such to add my own. Thanks a lot!
     
  4. kochman

    kochman Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    10,818
    No problem! I figured that some would find it useful.

    Quick note, you can easily change the availability or nation of leaders. Just go into the civinformation.xml, and if you want to take a leader out of the game, find his name, change the 1 to 0. If you want to move him to a different nation, cut and paste the entire section for him and put it in the civ you want...
     
  5. Dagenham Dave

    Dagenham Dave Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    That's a good option for sure. I'm mainly interested in having additional leaders for the civs with only one leader, but romping around the world as Ronald Reagan is very appealing as well.

    Just wanted to make sure, sorry if it's a dumb question. I assume this means the other mods in your sig and not just any mod? For example, I've been using Varietas Delectat recently and it would be nice to combine them.

    I know I said I don't want too many additions... well, not too many. :D
     
  6. kochman

    kochman Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    10,818
    Well... any mod that is truly modular...
    To be modular, it has to be a complete package. Meaning... it has to be able to run as is basically, plug and play... or drag and drop as it were.

    So, yes, any of my civs, you can put them all in the same folder as the leaderheads, and then all the civs AND the new LHs for existing civs will be available. Most of the civs available here are modular, just make sure they are BtS 3.19, or they won't work... a lot of civs unfortunately haven't been updated to 3.19...
     
  7. veBear

    veBear Slumerican Citizen

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,612
    Location:
    Norway
    I actually never tried it before, but now as I am putting together one of those what-I-want-in-my-game mods (that I do not intend to share with anybody.... MVAHAHAHA) I think I shall try them. Looks good.
     
  8. AdmiralVet

    AdmiralVet Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    I can't make this mod work...I've done every step you mentioned, i unzipped the file, i created the directory and i put "Custom Leaderheads" file in it, i made the *.ini file and it doesn't make a difference if i load the mod or not... The leaderheads are just not there!!! Do you have an idea on what might went wrong??? I really look forward to test these faces....:)
     
  9. kochman

    kochman Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    10,818
    What is your directory, exactly?
     
  10. AdmiralVet

    AdmiralVet Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    H:\Games\Civilization IV\Beyond the Sword\Mods\Fresh Leadership\Assets\Modules

    H* is my external disk drive.......
     
  11. kochman

    kochman Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    10,818
    I will have to look at my set up at home and get back to you.
     
  12. kochman

    kochman Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    10,818
    And make sure your .ini and ini.bak files are named: Fresh Leadership.ini & Fresh Leadership.ini.bak
     
  13. AdmiralVet

    AdmiralVet Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Never mind that friend....I was searching other posts and i've come up with a solution: I've changed to 1 from 0 at the "modular loading" entry in BTS configuration file....

    Anyway that's an excellent work!!!!! It certainly gives a fresh air in the game...!! Well done kochman!! :p:D:D:D:D:D:goodjob::goodjob::goodjob::goodjob::goodjob::goodjob::goodjob:
     
  14. kochman

    kochman Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    10,818
    You're welcome! Glad you like it!
     
  15. DocEcho

    DocEcho Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Canada
    Link broken.
     

Share This Page