1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Da Rules - Explained

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Creation & Customization' started by Bluemofia, Mar 2, 2007.

  1. Azmorg

    Azmorg Bretwalda

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Camelot!
    Wow. That was a lot of keyboarding!
    But..., Isn't this a replication of what's in the Civ3ConquestsEdit.chm file?
     
  2. Bluemofia

    Bluemofia F=ma

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    7,976
    Location:
    Dimension called Elsewhere
    No. Because it is very vague at some points, and misleading at others. And others it doesn't even explain.
     
  3. Azmorg

    Azmorg Bretwalda

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Camelot!
    What about doing this for the Scenario Properties?
     
  4. Bluemofia

    Bluemofia F=ma

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    7,976
    Location:
    Dimension called Elsewhere
    I'm going to work on it... Soon. (I'll transform one of my earlier posts into that. And add links to the 1st page)
     
  5. Azmorg

    Azmorg Bretwalda

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Camelot!
    That's the ticket!
     
  6. Bluemofia

    Bluemofia F=ma

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    7,976
    Location:
    Dimension called Elsewhere
    Done. (See 1st post for link. Or post 19.)
     
  7. SWalker

    SWalker Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    Messages:
    252
    Location:
    New Zealand
    This reminds me that I have been meaning to do some experiments on this for my personal mod.
    Does anyone know, if the base time unit is set to months rather than years how the plague works. I had some odd situations (continuous plague ~200AD to end of game) when trying to work this out, but didn't have time to work out exactly what was going on.
     
  8. Bluemofia

    Bluemofia F=ma

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    7,976
    Location:
    Dimension called Elsewhere
    If anyone figures out exactly how plague works, please tell. I don't think it can be changed from years to months, but the strength is really annoying. Sometimes it is weak, only 2 cities take it in, and nothing else, and other times it infects your whole empire, and never goes away.
     
  9. SWalker

    SWalker Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    Messages:
    252
    Location:
    New Zealand
    by setting "base time unit" to months I meant the "Base Unit of Time" dropdown, on the first page of scenario properties.
     
  10. Bluemofia

    Bluemofia F=ma

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    7,976
    Location:
    Dimension called Elsewhere
    Oh.

    I'm not sure, but I think the plague will rage for several turns, even if it's set to last 1 year.
     
  11. Ozymandias

    Ozymandias I saw the Great Library burn.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    9,808
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The lone and level sands
    That's been my experience as well.

    -Oz
     
  12. Azmorg

    Azmorg Bretwalda

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Camelot!
    Yes. I have found that Plague has a mind of it's own.
    I haven't done any specific experimenting, but I have changed the parameters numerous times. My experience is that the game pretty much decides itself how plague is going to work.
     
  13. WildWeazel

    WildWeazel hard-coded Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    6,962
    Location:
    %CIV3%\Conquests\Scenarios\
    Bluemofia, if you're feeling like a masochist, it would be great to have some information on AI behavior. A lot of it is uncertain, but the patterns we have discovered would be useful information to have here.
    Examples:
    builds ~55-60% units with defense strategy flag
    effects of aggression on initial contact
    factors determining choice of government
     
  14. Bluemofia

    Bluemofia F=ma

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    7,976
    Location:
    Dimension called Elsewhere
    Oh, no, I can't do this now, or anytime soon (within 3 months). I need to get AP testing out of the way, and then summer school. (Calc II)

    I'll see what I can do eventually.
     
  15. Derf

    Derf Modular Mushroom

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    595
    Location:
    UK
    Found out something you might want to add under the worker unit flag.
    If a unit is flagged as a worker (In AI flags) and also Offence/Defence (For workers that have attack and defence - I'm working on something concerning that) then the automate worker function doesn't work.
    I tried it to see if I could get automated workers to stop running from barbs etc and just defend themselves.
     
  16. Onslaught_Fei

    Onslaught_Fei Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    I may be interpreting this incorrectly, but, how does the Marketplace/Bank/Stock Exchange and Library/University/Research Lab stach their improvement bonuses beyond this checkbox? Some clarification would be appreciated.
     
  17. Bluemofia

    Bluemofia F=ma

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    7,976
    Location:
    Dimension called Elsewhere
    I meant does not stack by EX:

    10 tax. 1, +50% imp: 15 tax.
    10 tax. 2, +50% imp: 20 tax. Not 22 or 23 tax.
    10 tax. 3, +50% imp: 25 tax. Not 31 or 32 tax.

    Basically it adds to the base amount, not recalculated through each improvement.
     
  18. Onslaught_Fei

    Onslaught_Fei Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Ah, I see. So its additive not multiplicative, or whatever. Thank you for the clarification.

    Is anyone aware on how many times the reduce corruption improvement box stacks? I assume Courthouse and Police Station stack, so would adding a 3rd improvement add more benefit?
     
  19. Bluemofia

    Bluemofia F=ma

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    7,976
    Location:
    Dimension called Elsewhere
    No problem.

    Not sure 100%, but I assume so since the courthouse and police station stack.

    Oh yes. Welcome to CFC BTW. :)
     
  20. WildWeazel

    WildWeazel hard-coded Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    6,962
    Location:
    %CIV3%\Conquests\Scenarios\
    So theoretically, 4 WW-reducing improvements in a city would leave no WW whatsoever...?

    Question: If Building A requires Building B in the city and Building B no longer exists or functions, does Building A still function? I guess what I'm asking is, does the required improvement dependency affect functionality or only availability? Also, if a city loses the resource required for a building, doesn't that building stop functioning?

    btw, for the Standard Tile Penalty in the Govt section, it's 3 or more
     

Share This Page