1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Dawn of Civilization General Discussion

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall - Dawn of Civilization' started by Leoreth, Nov 19, 2015.

  1. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    32,984
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Be aware that the music selection is implemented in the DLL. You can easily edit through XML which pieces are featured in the existing playlists but the selection of playlists and their conditions for playing require compiling the DLL. But once you are doing that, there is nothing to stop you from using other criteria beyond state religion.

    1. No, it does not. Mostly civilisations are destroyed by collapse before they lose their last city, but that is a sufficient condition for destroying them.
    2. Probably not if you are going for the Unique Historical Victory, which is very tight and challenging for Babylonia due to its comparatively short history (in game turns) and therefore requires both some experience and trial and error. I would recommend a large European civilisation, such as Spain, France or England as your first game, because they have good modifiers, a long game and lots of different ways to grow and accomplish their goals. If you want someone who starts earlier, China is a good choice as well.
     
  2. Thirteen 1355

    Thirteen 1355 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Is there absolutely no way of staying on the map until the modern age if you play a civ that doesn't exist anymore? In that case I feel China is a good start, I like starting from the beginning.
     
  3. Publicola

    Publicola Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    517
    Did you mean Confucian or Taoist?
     
  4. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    32,984
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Of course there is, but it's harder for civilisations for which that would be ahistorical, so as a start civ I would suggest something else.

    Right, corrected.
     
  5. JHLee

    JHLee Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    Messages:
    403
    So if a city has a library but not a market
    (thus giving 25% boost to beakers but none to gold)
    its contribution will differ when I change the beaker slider between 0% and 100%?
     
    Enyavar likes this.
  6. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    32,984
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Yes.
     
    JHLee, Enyavar, 1SDAN and 1 other person like this.
  7. 1SDAN

    1SDAN Brother Lady

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,194
    Is it intended for the Egyptians to crowd their Core so much with cities? In particular, they seem to love to settle cities on the copper.
     
    Lost King, mateyson, JHLee and 3 others like this.
  8. Genghis Khaiser

    Genghis Khaiser Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    488
    Is the "Sack the city" option supposed to remove Wonders?
     
    1SDAN likes this.
  9. JHLee

    JHLee Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    Messages:
    403
    I feel like there are far too many AI doomstacks spawning in the Middle East throughout the game.

    First there are the Greeks who spawn units all the way from Egypt to Persia,
    then there's the Romans who also spawn units in Egypt and Syria,
    then there are the Turks who spawn a good 80 units from Anatolia to Persia,
    then there are the Mongols,
    then there are the Ottomans.

    Seriously, playing as the Babylonians and the Arabs,
    I got the feeling that this was beyond reasonable.
    In order to survive you have to know the exact timing of every doomstack spawns,
    and hope that the AI don't direct all of their free troops towards you.

    This is extremely frustrating, especially for new players who aren't aware of the doomstacks.
    I strongly suggest that free troops be toned down.
    It's not like they can't crush AI opponents with some less troops anyway.
     
  10. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    32,984
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    No, does it? If so, please post a save.
     
    1SDAN likes this.
  11. 1SDAN

    1SDAN Brother Lady

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,194
    It is quite historically accurate, not to mention that Babylon's UHV does not require you to interact with them and Arabia's is balanced around them.

    Playing past the UHV is a challenge mode, and Babylon's is among the most challenging of them all.
     
  12. DanLT3

    DanLT3 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    Can't you spawn the stacks a few tiles away from the cities and still auto declare war. This gives atleast some time to react to the incoming force.
     
  13. Genghis Khaiser

    Genghis Khaiser Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    488
    I take over Marseille but the Wonder it had is gone when I sack it.
     

    Attached Files:

    1SDAN and Leoreth like this.
  14. JHLee

    JHLee Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    Messages:
    403
    Yes, there were a lot of people who invaded that region, but they didn't conjure troops out of thin air.
     
  15. Imp. Knoedel

    Imp. Knoedel Knoedel Imperator Satani Filius Augustus Nooborum

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,526
    Location:
    Land der Mörder, Land der Hetzer
    When a single turns represents a timespan of up to 30 years, they might as well have.
     
    need my speed and 1SDAN like this.
  16. 1SDAN

    1SDAN Brother Lady

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,194
    ^^^
     
  17. TJDowling

    TJDowling Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    547
    Hey, I'm tired of everyone's screenshots looking so much more beautiful than mine so I want to download the Blue Marble terrain pack. Where does the git repository go for terrain packs? Also, is the VD pack incompatible with the develop version? If so, I should skip it?
     
  18. h0spitall3rz

    h0spitall3rz Grand Vizier of Your Mind

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Messages:
    403
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hanseong, Great Korean Empire
    The second message on the welcome thread contains a download link for the DoC-specific build of Blue Marble. I think VD is already compatible with 1.16. (Am I right, Leo?)
     
  19. TJDowling

    TJDowling Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    547
    Yeah, what's the process, do I have to make a git clone and where does that clone go? Sorry, I used the wrong terminology.
     
  20. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    32,984
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Your question sounds like you are already running the git version of DoC. In that case, I suggest you also clone the separate repositories for Blue Marble and VD (in case you want that, see below) simply next to the mod directory in Beyond the Sword/Mods. You will find a BlueMarble.fpk file in its folder, you can then just copy it into RFC Dawn of Civilisation/Assets/.

    For Varietas Delectat, you have to know that the module is currently compatible with the main mod, but it is common for that to change while the base mod is being developed. Also, when you install VD, it will overwrite some existing files of the base mod. That means that if you want to get updates affecting these files through git, there will be a conflict and the update will fail, in a way that is not easy to resolve for you. Essentially installing VD for a git version, even when compatible, will prevent further updates and defeat the purpose of running from git. If you still want to do it, copy the Assets folder from the VD git repo you cloned into RFC Dawn of Civilisation, integrating it into the existing Assets folder (overwrite everything).

    But in that case, just downloading the installer to get DoC with VD is the safer and easier approach.
     
    TJDowling likes this.

Share This Page