1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Dawn of Civilization General Discussion

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall - Dawn of Civilization' started by Leoreth, Nov 19, 2015.

  1. Imp. Knoedel

    Imp. Knoedel Properly Paranoid Proletarian

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,639
    Location:
    The cooler Germany
    How come with the bazillion wonders that were added in 1.16 Broadway is still missing?
     
  2. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,573
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Broadway was destroyed when they let Andrew Lloyd Webber put on Cats
     
  3. TJDowling

    TJDowling Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    560
    Hey, someone mentioned that a town in your core counts as 1+ towards your stability. Two questions: Is that a town worked by any city in your core or just a town on a core tile? Also, does the town need to be worked to count towards your stability?
     
    1SDAN likes this.
  4. MalayanGamer

    MalayanGamer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    Messages:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    What the hell?
     
  5. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,671
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    The town or village (the improvement) must need to be in your core and it must be worked. The location of the working city is irrelevant.
     
  6. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,573
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    I know right? There's a memorial site in New York, I recommend going there if you ever visit.
     
    1SDAN, trevor and Imp. Knoedel like this.
  7. 1SDAN

    1SDAN Brother Lady

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,415
    Is there any particular reason it's dependent on the improvement tile instead of the city tile @Leoreth?
     
  8. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,573
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Yes.
     
  9. Pawlak

    Pawlak Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Hi, great modmod, I love the newest update but have one issue - is there a way not to get insane amounts of negative stability from foregin relations in late game?
    If I don't do what they ask me, I get -, if I do I typically get - too, cos most of the time they ask me for something that will piss off someone else. No matter how many friendly civs I get, there is always only negative side unless I get vassals on tributraries or def pacts later on. However, if I get defensive pacts, this means getting into huge wars and thus again negative stability. In the end I always have to go isolationist and this kind of resticts me to same civis set every time (state party+iso). Do I miss some solution or is it intended to just get you late game negative stability?
     
  10. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,573
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    I have now addressed all the crashes that have been reported so far (except the UHV victory crash, which has its own thread to take care of it now). There's still a lot of bugs and minor issues left that I will address next. In particular, I will revise foreign relations stability, I have multiple saves to look into for that.
     
    Zaddy and Gianmarco Silvestro like this.
  11. Mxzs

    Mxzs Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Another suggestion: Orbii explained to me that Ethiopia can get Orthodoxy by generating a Great Prophet and using it to "spread religion" even before Orthodoxy has appeared in Ethiopia. Would it be possible code-wise to engineer a similar tactic for Korea? It would remove the chance element for spreading Confucianism to Korea, and would add another building (a GP) challenge. Also, Korea's ability to double up specialists gives its capital the same edge at generating GPs as the Stele gives the Ethiopians, so it probably wouldn't be a crippling requirement to add.
     
  12. Zaddy

    Zaddy Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Messages:
    155
    Much appreciated, thank you so much for taking a second look at it!
     
    Leoreth likes this.
  13. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,671
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    From a coding perspective it is already possible. The spread religion is a not limited to Ethiopia and/or Orthodoxy only. It is a general feature available to all Great Prophets.

    There is a small catch however. Great Prophets can only spread a religion to the core of that religion. Korea is only a historical region of Confucianism, so you can't do the GP trick. Manchuria is in the core of Confucianism, so if you have a city in that region (which is very plausible as Korea) you can use the GP to spread Confucianism to your city in Manchuria.
     
    Mxzs and 1SDAN like this.
  14. Mxzs

    Mxzs Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Well, that takes care of it, then! Thanks!
     
  15. Ecthy

    Ecthy Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    247
    Is it intended I can't switch from Vikings to either the Germans or the English?

    Edit: while switching to the Russians works just fine.
     
  16. Imp. Knoedel

    Imp. Knoedel Properly Paranoid Proletarian

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,639
    Location:
    The cooler Germany
    IIRC you can't switch to civs that are too close, but by what method the game ascertains which civs count as "close" I have no idea.
     
  17. Hickman888

    Hickman888 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2019
    Messages:
    66
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Texas
    Is it intended that, when playing on Marathon speed, the independent town of "Indraprastha" does not spawn for the Indians to assimilate into their empire? I noticed that it spawns on both Normal and Epic speeds, but not on Marathon.
     
    Leoreth likes this.
  18. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,573
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    No, I'll check what is going on.
     
    Hickman888 likes this.
  19. BaneFire

    BaneFire Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    By using cheatmode and alt+z, I changed to Mexico but all their UHV conditions were automatically failed. Is this a known flaw or did I do something wrong?
     
  20. JHLee

    JHLee Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    Messages:
    471
    When compared to before the update, does this mean that one check disables other checks in the same turn?
    Or does the last check prevail over all previous ones in the turn?
     

Share This Page