1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Dawn of Civilization General Discussion

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall - Dawn of Civilization' started by Leoreth, Nov 19, 2015.

  1. civcivcivcivciv

    civcivcivcivciv Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    263
    really great mod thanks a lot upload this

    i have a question about missile submarine unit skins

    they are almost old one like a ww2

    wasn't there modern skin ? :)
     
  2. Power_of_Beer

    Power_of_Beer Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Location:
    Sol III
    Great to see v1.13 released. Thank you very much Leoreth for the continued effort you put in this mod!

    I noticed a few things when playing as Japan:

    - I'm not sure if its intended, but being at war with a civ means that this civ is always willing to trade any tech they have with you, making it actually much easier to get the modernization discount this way (in most cases easier than the peaceful way).

    - I had 2 :mad: for demanding Egalitarianism, but 6 foreign civs were running it. Is the penalty capped at 2 :mad:, or just 1 :mad: for x civs running it?

    - The AI really, really, really loves running Subsistence despite having access to all the better civics... not sure how it weights the civics really. Maybe someone can confirm this?
     
  3. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,957
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    Thanks!

    Not that I know of, I didn't deliberately change anything at least.

    Intended, antagonize those Europeans if you want to get ahead :)

    The penalty isn't linear in the number of civs, it depends on which percentage of the world population they control.

    Waiting for confirmation on this?
     
  4. civcivcivcivciv

    civcivcivcivciv Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    263
    there s BUG Options - failed writing inifiles

    autolog.ini, better espionage.ini, bug citybar.ini bug misc hovers.ini

    what should i do ?
     
  5. sercer88

    sercer88 Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,446
    Location:
    MO, USA
    :eek: I REALLY need to consider playing as Japan. I never even thought of this strategy. Japan's next on my list!
    I don't have a save for confirmation, but in my latest game I vassalized a respawned Chinese civ around 1700, and even though they had been alive for around 20 turns or more, they were only running the default civics. I remember seeing one other civ running default civics, but can't remember which civ it was.
     
  6. Mouthwash

    Mouthwash Escaped Lunatic

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    9,368
    Location:
    Hiding
    I can't find anything in any file regarding UU art. (I want some to use in VD xml.)

    I'm fixing Egyptian and Persian graphics currently and will post them when I'm done. :king:
     
  7. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,884
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    Most of them come from the vanilla game. Look in the art files of BTS or vanilla fpk files.
     
  8. Mouthwash

    Mouthwash Escaped Lunatic

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    9,368
    Location:
    Hiding
    I need Patiyodhas, which aren't in BTS.
     
  9. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,957
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    If you have used the installer, the unit art is packaged into FPK files. You can get PakBuild here on CFC to unpack them, or download the specific file from the Git repo.
     
  10. Mouthwash

    Mouthwash Escaped Lunatic

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    9,368
    Location:
    Hiding
    Pakbuild stops responding halfway through unpacking, and the Git repository does not appear to have the files I need: https://github.com/dguenms/Dawn-of-Civilization/tree/develop/Assets
     
  11. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,957
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
  12. Mouthwash

    Mouthwash Escaped Lunatic

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    9,368
    Location:
    Hiding
    OK, great. How do I get them into xml? Right now I'm just replacing "ART_DEF_UNIT" with the appropriate text.
     
  13. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,957
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    Find the art tag in the ArtDefines XML and have the path point to where your art is.
     
  14. AdrienIer

    AdrienIer Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,393
    Location:
    Paris
    Last night I tried a game as Japan, and decided to put Samurais to good use. I first noticed that you can build Samurais from the beginning but start with swordsmen. It seems to be one of the only cases of a civilization starting with outdated units (especially when the most recent unit is its UU).

    Secondly I decided to attack Korea early on, which I did by landing 2 catapults and 4 samurais near Hanseong. One of my samurais lost a 87% battle so things didn't go as planned and at the end of the turn there was an archer in the city with 0.3 strength. I was hoping that the AI wouldn't reinforce, but instead on the interturn Korea collapsed and Hanseong went independent, kicking me out of its surroundings and into Kyoto. I immediately ragequit, so I don't have a screenshot unfortunately. Could you make it so that if a civ collapses with enemy units inside a city's immediate surroundings you don't get pushed away ? Either by automatically putting the player at war with the independents or by some other mean ? It's really annoying to have your conquest be delayed significantly like that.
     
  15. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,957
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    Yeah, it'd be better to just end up at war with those independents. I don't think there even is code specifically to push your units away, it just happens naturally when native culture replaces that of your enemy. The easiest solution would just to place you at war with the independents when a civ collapses while you are at war with it.
     
  16. Publicola

    Publicola Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    574
    I think we'd all appreciate this (I've experienced the same thing a few times myself). The trick would be making sure that the independent civ that you're at war with isn't the same independent civ (of the two available) that you're near in another part of the map. It'd suck to have to deal with a newly belligerent indie city somewhere else when you're just finishing up conquering the original city.
     
  17. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,957
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    That's not unavoidable. Currently, the collapsing civ is evenly split between the two indies (or threeways if barbarians are permitted). Not sure if I want to change that.
     
  18. Chep

    Chep Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,198
    Location:
    Somewhere in Europe
    anyone else think you become "unstable" too easily and it takes the AI too long to collapse once unstable?

     
  19. Hojsimpson

    Hojsimpson Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Messages:
    448
    Location:
    Madrid
    The collapse into three ways turns to razed cities by barbs.
    The collapse into barb could solve the problem of being pushed away and also avoid razed cities.
    The AI also likes to conquer barb cities.
     
  20. Doodlefish

    Doodlefish Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Hi there! I played a great deal of this mod when it was v1.12, but hadn't kept up with the SVN changes, so a lot of the new feature are unfamiliar to me. Can someone explain how exactly the "crisis" system works, and how one can play to best deal with it? It's catching me by surprise a lot right now.

    Case in point, recently I wanted to try Maya, and settled 1 SE on the silver for a bit more production. About 20 turns later, while at exactly 0 stability, I finished researching Mathematics and... immediately lost my only city to Natives. :crazyeye: I'm guessing it happened because I settled 1 outside my core, but... that's pretty darn mean. Maya have it hard enough as it is :(
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page