Dawn of Civilization General Discussion

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall - Dawn of Civilization' started by Leoreth, Nov 19, 2015.

  1. Gritzeldrei

    Gritzeldrei Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2020
    Messages:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    Whenever I go in this forum I am always reminded that this is a massive infestation of History nerds and history buffs (since I'm I as well).
     
    Ringan, black213, Krieger-FS and 2 others like this.
  2. Preacher_ua

    Preacher_ua Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Help me pls. In which year Barcelona and Cordoba become core territory to Spain?
     
  3. Leoreth

    Leoreth Friend Next Door Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    35,321
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Faraway
    It's not based on a year. It happens when you remove the Moors from Iberia.
     
  4. Preacher_ua

    Preacher_ua Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    its 1439 ad and i kill moors like a 400 years ago and its still not core
    Spoiler pic :
     
  5. Just an idea

    Just an idea Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Spoiler :

    def onTechAcquired(iTech, iTeam, iPlayer):
    iCiv = civ(iPlayer)
    iEra = infos.tech(iTech).getEra()
    if iCiv == iSpain:
    if iEra == iRenaissance and player(iCiv).getPeriod() == -1:
    if player(iMoors).isAlive() and cities.owner(iMoors).region(rIberia).none():
    setPeriod(iSpain, iPeriodSpain)
    setPeriod(iMoors, iPeriodMorocco)​


    I looked at the code. If I'm not mistaken it seems that Spanish core change doesn't trigger if they completely kill off Moors before entering Renaissance Era. Not sure if this is intentional.

    Edit: At least I think part of the code that triggers Core changes is Assets/Python/Periods.py
     
  6. Mosguito

    Mosguito Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Just love assets/sound/soundtrack/Christian1.mp3 so much!! :crazyeye::crazyeye: Could anyone tell its name?
     
  7. Gritzeldrei

    Gritzeldrei Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2020
    Messages:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    I noticed that the mountain tile in lower Italy was removed. I liked it as at times an eruption occur and would rain down destruction on my tiles. Kinda reminds of Pompeii
     
    black213 likes this.
  8. DarkLunaPhantom

    DarkLunaPhantom Prince Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    483
    Publicola and Mosguito like this.
  9. Mosguito

    Mosguito Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2020
    Messages:
    11
  10. ShinobiHus92

    ShinobiHus92 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2019
    Messages:
    77
    Gender:
    Male
    Is it possible to add a different culture or strengthen its existing culture? For example: Greece respawned in the early 19th century, but if I zoom in on Athens I noticed that 27% is only Greek while 70% is Turkish. While I do understand game wise Greece was dead for a very long time (I'm playing the 3000BC start date), It isn't quite historical to me. It's not a huge deal, but I was wondering if I can change it manually for my liking :)
     
    RustyBrick likes this.
  11. hnrysml

    hnrysml Warlord

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Messages:
    232
    You can change this in the worldbuilder, if you select the plot you want to edit with the plot data icon, you will see the culture values for each civ and can change them
     
    ShinobiHus92 likes this.
  12. ShinobiHus92

    ShinobiHus92 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2019
    Messages:
    77
    Gender:
    Male
    Thnx a lot! :D
     
  13. ThreeBlackSevens

    ThreeBlackSevens Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2019
    Messages:
    32
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Canada
    Has anyone ever used Public Welfare? I've yet to come across a situation in which it was really even a contender, it always becomes available after both Free Market and Central Planning and seems to be pretty much entirely outclassed by both of them.
     
    1SDAN and Zaddy like this.
  14. Cosmos1985

    Cosmos1985 King

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    692
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    It depends on your situation in-game, which I guess it's how it's supposed to be. If you have a lot of corporations, it is often worth it. It is not always the best civic to choose in every situation, but if that was the case, it would be OP and in need of a nerf.
     
  15. topsecret

    topsecret Believer Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,740
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    At the Foot of the Cross
    UHV as Persia: :strength:

    The best way to deal with Greek Conquerors is to eliminate Greece first. :D

    Romans were easy with a few Savaran.

    I set most of my cities outside of historical territory free (independents/Chola) after completing the 7% goal.

    Spoiler :
    Civ4ScreenShot0001.JPG Civ4ScreenShot0002.JPG Civ4ScreenShot0000.JPG
     
    Derdan and Leoreth like this.
  16. Bruhmoment

    Bruhmoment Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2020
    Messages:
    320
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Your mom's house
    Isn't there an infinite "change civs" option somewhere in the files? I'd like to change that but I don't know where to look and what to do, as I don't mess around with codes
     
  17. Cosmos1985

    Cosmos1985 King

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    692
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    What do you mean? To be able to do it without anarchy?
     
  18. Bruhmoment

    Bruhmoment Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2020
    Messages:
    320
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Your mom's house
    I mean just the amount of times you can switch civs, right now I don't think you can do it infinitely and I'm asking if there is a command or something to adjust that value.
    The pop-up that comes up with "Do you want to take permanent control of the x civilization?"
     

Share This Page