1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Dawn Of The OverLords

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by keldath, Aug 7, 2007.

  1. steko

    steko Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    keldath
    I'm sorry, my English is a very bad.
    I have in the "Dawn" a BUG mod options that you can see. Tab system is not present. Small arrows in the top right they are not. I've got Dawn version 1.1 and patch 1 / "Beyond 3.19 /", how is it that I've got diferent BUG mod options? Where's been a mistake?
     

    Attached Files:

    • Dawn.JPG
      Dawn.JPG
      File size:
      142.8 KB
      Views:
      68
  2. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,527
    Location:
    israel
    hi steko,

    well, thank you for the pic,

    i have no idea why you see half of the tabs, thats the first time i see something like this,

    please delete all your overlord files and folder and re install version 1.1 + patch, and tell me if it helps.
     
  3. HannibalBarka

    HannibalBarka We are Free

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    3,954
    Location:
    Paris, France
    I've changed the files myself yesterday Keldath. I changed the air combat strength for all archer type units to 0 actually.
    the large earth map does not look really larger than the std (if you play China they both look same wize). Playing China I do not see their religion techs (I see Judaism redded for exmaple, but no trace of Taoism or Confusianism (which I suppose are China assigned religion).
    I changed game this morning and am playing archipelgo meduim sea level as Israel (random civ, I did not choose it, you must have hardcoded it ;-) ). Very cool so far. Things look truly balanced (building and wonder cost are much better balanced than before).
    cheers
     
  4. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,527
    Location:
    israel
    HannibalBarka, hey buddy,

    really, you got to change them all, well that was fast,
    can you upload the files? maybe we can make a patch of the changes youve made so everyone can choose how they prefer archers.
    good work!

    the large map = the map only a bit more enlarged (200-300 plots more). maybe next time ill do a huge one.

    i dont remember what i assigned china, but if they haven't got 2 allowed religions, then its a bug, ill take a look.

    hehe Israel...well, i never play(ed) with them, my civ is Carthage since civ2!
    i only added Israel cause a friend of mine once asked...

    yeah glad you like the changes, i changed tons of stuff for balance, since i had a full game i was able to see exactly what needed to be changed and as i played i took notes.

    hope you will provide more feed for next version :)

    p.s. - as i wrote, i found that the mod have too much units in it - i thought of removing duplicated unit class, like duel tanks (type 99 and modern armor and such - they arent that alike, but the combat system may be complicated too much?)
     
  5. steko

    steko Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    I'm re-installed complete Civ IV. Now everything is ok. Thank you for your patience.
     
  6. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,527
    Location:
    israel
    sure thing, enjoy the mod.
     
  7. HannibalBarka

    HannibalBarka We are Free

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    3,954
    Location:
    Paris, France
    here is the file that removes range bombard from all archer type units.
    I am playing Israel now, but It's weird because my civics cost almost nothing. I am making tons of money at 100% science.

    View attachment 297293

    View attachment 297291
     
  8. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,527
    Location:
    israel
    thanks.

    really? maybe i dropped the costs too much? i dont remember :(
     
  9. JrEye

    JrEye Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    I can go through most of the game and turn a profit with 100% science, just build +coin buildings and go from there
     
  10. HannibalBarka

    HannibalBarka We are Free

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    3,954
    Location:
    Paris, France
    Yep, that and the fact that civics and units cost almost nothing. In the game I uploaded in the previous post, my civics costs me 1 (I have 4 cities). I think one of the civics is making money not costing (there is a sign error me think).
    Money building are too numerous, you should either squeeze some of them of make every unit cost money and make civics more expensive.
    one last remark, settlers looks much tooo costly compared to units and makes it almost nonsense to build them once you have access to axes and swords
     
  11. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,527
    Location:
    israel
    ok,

    ill prepare a patch that will raise costs of distance maintenance, num city main, and civic costs.

    i think the money levels are low cause i touched the inflation rates in the speeds, patch will be up soon.

    thank you.

    hannibal - so to reduce settler costs then?
     
  12. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,527
    Location:
    israel
    ***********patch 2 for 1.1**********

    hey y'all,

    this patch fixes/changes the following:

    1. all the units that had ranged attack - now uses ranged attack of dale mod (controlled via revdcm tab in the bug mod). this will raise unit power and balance since you could easily conquer a city with archers.

    2. raised costs: raised a bit civic costs, number of cities, distance to capital, inflation rate and reduced free unit support.

    3. hopefully reduced just a bit settler costs.

    now the game should be harder on the research/gold modifier tab.

    thanks to HannibalBarka and everybody who helped.

    includes patch 1.1 that fixed keshik issue.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. HannibalBarka

    HannibalBarka We are Free

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    3,954
    Location:
    Paris, France
    Great work Keldath. One question, what is your usual game speed? I guess it's overlord, but I d like to be sure
     
  14. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,527
    Location:
    israel
    thanks,

    yap, overlord, although, my last game i played in marathon.
     
  15. HannibalBarka

    HannibalBarka We are Free

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    3,954
    Location:
    Paris, France
    Played last night: Monarch-War, Hemisphere, overlord speed and "Keldath" options (no rev,no tech trading, usable mountain, no barb civ, etc). Got Shaka randomly. Explorer trait does have no pedia text and does not seem to do much !!! Impi mobility promo does not seems to work, it even seem to work "backward", it makes the units slower: I gave my impi woodsman II promo but he still couldn't move more than one forest tile per turn.
    There are many regular buildings that give GPP: aqueduct, graveyard etc, aren't they meant to allow for a sepcialist instead? Graveyard is too powerfull: it gives 2GPP and 6 cultures!!!! which makes the Pyramids even more powerfull !!!!
    The money is still easy, though I did not look more thouroughly into my finances to find why was I making such money. The free specialists (through buildings (village hall?!) or civics (monarchy)) explain some of it. I had two shrines also, so that helped. But I did have zero money problem all game along. If your first scout gets you some money from huts than that will pay the possible early deficit, after your cities grows a little bit you're "rich".

    In my earlier games I was surprised that my archers were strenth 4 at some point, I thought that it was a bug I introduced while changing the unit file to remove range attack. I just found out yesterday that discoverning Math gives 1 additional strenth to Archers :) . I loved the idea, this is the first time I see a tech giving additional strength to units.
     
  16. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,527
    Location:
    israel
    HannibalBarka,

    i just love your feedbacks man!

    ok, ill check all the stuff you wrote,

    too much gpp, no problem, ill go over the buildings, and reduce them.

    money still easy?? interesting, i made the levels highr, but it seems that i need to push it more, specially on later stages then,
    ill raise num city maintenance, raise unit costs, and make the civics more expensive.

    the thing with the archer - i have no idea this happens, and more over i have no idea why, maybe some of afforess changes i forgot bout - can you upload a save game just for me to see?

    you provided me enough feed for a patch 3, ill upload it later on,
    plz keep up the great feed buddy.
     
  17. HannibalBarka

    HannibalBarka We are Free

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    3,954
    Location:
    Paris, France
    My Distance Maintenance is 7 and number city maintenance is -4, yep it 's negaive !!!! which makes a total city maintenance of just 3; is that normal?
     
  18. DavidB1111

    DavidB1111 Not-so-smart Man

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    662
    Wow! I get distracted by zillions of games, come back here to check out this forum, and find you have a super-updated form of your overlord mod!

    I just downloaded it and patched it, and now I'm going to go play it.

    Still though, looks like this will be a lot of fun. I'll run though a lot and add something to this topic other than my insanity. :)

    Also, for the longest time after founding Christianity I couldn't get any religion bonuses. That's because the game didn't give me the message to convert to it when I found it. Weird. Probably my bad.

    Okay, looking at the civics, some of them look a bit awkward. And very convoluted. :)
    The government civics causing a hit in relations is kind of annoying.

    Also, Monarchy is the only one worth ever using. :) The others aren't as good.

    Oh, and Power: Technocracy needs to be fixed.
    A Technocracy is all about science. Literally, it's run by scientists.
    You need to reverse the penalties.

    Or least remove the penalty to science, which really does not make sense at all ever. :)
    Give them a -10% to production, because they're all too busy making particle accelerators to build anything.

    But all things considered, there is no such thing as a Technocracy that hates science. :) Or is horrible at it. Horrible at buisness/warfare/trading/anything but science, yes.

    Okay, why would a Quarry give you 1 to healthiness. Since when are quarries known for putting out toxic gases. or smelling like a bog, or whatever. Seriously, someone tell me how a quarry is less healthy than a coal mine. :) Or I don't know, a toxic waste dump. Seriously. those two make sense to have unhealthiness penalties. But a quarry? You're smashing rocks! There is no way that is going to give you a penalty to health.

    Okay, Inland sea is bugged to high heaven. It never spawns ocean. Might want to fix that. :) My favorite map.

    Also, My galley I got from an event sank trying to enter a treacherous coral reef. There is no coral reef on the map. Just coast and ocean.
    An event that can destroy an unit shouldn't even exist. :(
    Let alone a unit granted by an event.

    Or unless it has a very very very small chance.
    Also, It's bad enough galley's can't enter ocean, which makes sense, duh, but really, it sank on the coast? Gah. Caravels should not be the only way to explore the ocean/coast.
    GAH! My Caravel sank! Okay, that event needs to be removed. It's a game breaker. It happens way too often. I didn't even get to explore with the caravel before it sank. How does a Caravel magically find reefs, and sink immediately! Fix it!

    Also, Moai Statues obsolete at Socialism. First off, never ever have National Wonders expire, ever. I mean, ever, because that ruins the city they're in because it took one spot out of the wonders.
    Second: Unless Socialism gives something that adds 1 to hammers in all water tiles, it makes no sense to obsolete them at it.
    Unless I'm missing something, and I can build something that fixes that.
    But the main thing, is you never make National Wonders obsolete. And Besides, why would Socialism obsolete the Moai Statues?
    I'm certain Stalin/Mao/Lenin would not hate the Statues. :)

    Okay, golden Age on Normal speed lasts for 7 turns. Rounding error?
     
  19. Blue Senshi

    Blue Senshi Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Why is there no future era in this version? And if it's an option, as it seems to be from the list of options enabled, how do I change it?

    Never mind. Found it in GameOptionInfos.xml. A lot of options were rendered invisible.
     
  20. Blue Senshi

    Blue Senshi Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    I can confirm that the Barbarian Civs option is working after all. I saw a barb city turn into a civ, but for some reason the mod is not announcing these events anymore.

    This time when a barb city became a civ, instead of the announcement that should have occurred, an error message came up about the event handler and barbarian civs.
     

Share This Page