1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Dawn Of The OverLords

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by keldath, Aug 7, 2007.

  1. Imperator666

    Imperator666 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    asdf
    i have bts 3.0.2.94 and overlord 1.2 installed, which makes me wonder ... anyway i can attach my savegame that crashes a few rounds in the game, if it doesnt crash after a few rounds there must be something wrong with my installation :)

    edit: it crashes exactly after one round, when the austrians adopt warrior cast, but that is probably not the cause of the crash because other civs also have warrior cast and it didnt crash...
     

    Attached Files:

  2. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,134
    Location:
    israel
    well austria is bugged....

    i forgot to the audio for them, so it causes a ctd,

    just play without austria untill i fix.
     
  3. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,134
    Location:
    israel
    imperator,
    are you playing with locked assests???


    ok - the crash is being created because of the shamanism tech.....

    so ill post a fix for that.
     
  4. Imperator666

    Imperator666 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    asdf
    not that id know of ...
     
  5. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,134
    Location:
    israel
    ok, i found the problem. i missed somthing with the shinto religion,

    i posted a new fix on the dront page.

    imperator - the patch is compatible with your savegame - you can continiue,
    thanks alot for you help!!!
     
  6. Imperator666

    Imperator666 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    asdf
    wow really nice of you - thanks :)
     
  7. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,134
    Location:
    israel
    your welcome,

    just let me know how your game flows :)
     
  8. ERLoft

    ERLoft San Diegan

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    256
    Location:
    San Diego
    One slightly annoying thing I've noticed - it seems that the AI really loves the attack promotions. They'll pick it almost exclusively over any other promo. Question is, is this smarts or stupidity on the AI's part?
     
  9. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,134
    Location:
    israel
    yeah erloft.....
    the ai stupiditi......


    i think iread that theres some fixes to the ai - read a few posts bac about solvers unofficial patch,
    i might merge it in for next version.
     
  10. Francky42

    Francky42 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    FRANCE
    I see that as son as possible
     
  11. ERLoft

    ERLoft San Diegan

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    256
    Location:
    San Diego
    Hey Keldath -

    This may already be included, but are we able to run more than 18 civs with your mod? If no - would you be able to add it in on the next update of the .dll file?

    Thanks!
     
  12. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,134
    Location:
    israel
    ok erloft,

    will be done for next version :)
     
  13. ERLoft

    ERLoft San Diegan

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    256
    Location:
    San Diego
    Cool beans!
     
  14. Imperator666

    Imperator666 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    asdf
    the issue with the attack promotion has been there since the promotions pack has been introduced, i always remember the ai picking attack promotions for attack units and city defense for defense units.
    as for my game, i have played it for a while until i found out that the only way to build gunpowder units is to have sulfur and the only sulfur source on earth was on the other continent in the mighty russians territory, well for fun reasons i cheated every civ a sulfur source and continued playing. other than typos and in my opinion somewhat imbalanced wonders (one even with +20 great people) its fun to play, after a while my economy has become so powerful that i can crank out a powerful unit in alomst every city per turn, dunno if that is the same in the original game, maybe the modern unit costs should be increased or some buildings nerfed down ... (several of my cities have 200+ hammers per turn, the capital +800 money per turn).
     
  15. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,134
    Location:
    israel
    imperator,

    that is the exact feedback i needed acctually,

    i didnt know how the fexfx speed will affect the gameprogress,
    now i know.

    ill post for you and others another minipatch with my edited speed (which i did some tests on for costs, inflations and more)

    but...as i said....i should have tested the affects of speed mod on the game flow,

    ill add the patch in a day or too.

    i appriciate the help you give,
    i kenw the mod will be unbalanced thats why i need help, i dont have the time to play,and besides,
    almost every mod thats come out gets tons of patches to find the proper balance :)
     
  16. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,134
    Location:
    israel
    new mini patch released,

    now much more balaned game play - info on the front page.
     
  17. Imperator666

    Imperator666 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    asdf
    another thing that interests me is if you have incorporated the possibility for units to have traits such as berserk, stalwart or heroes, it adds much flavor to the game by having special units to especially take care of. another question would be if you could incorporate modcomponents such as the unit statistics or the one where you get your unitstacks neatly displayed in columns?
    anyways, thanks again for the patch, will play anoter game now :)
     
  18. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,134
    Location:
    israel
    hey imperator,

    well, in the promotions i added the heroes promotions - 1-5,
    and stalwart,
    but you can get them in an oreder - to have this you need this and so on.

    gir,
    made one of the best mods i ever played - he made the promotions to work in a very awesome system, i wish he would have done it for my mod,
    its rally awesome.

    well,
    my goalwith this mod - not to over add modcomp, i want only those which affect gamely ad add stuff not too complicted,
    for two reasons:
    1. i dont know how to edit python nor sdk - only merge sdks.
    2. i dot want the mod to include many mods - cause the more mods i have - the slower th game will run on late stages, more memory use, and unbarrable gameplay (hapened in warlords).

    units stack sound not the problematic though.

    anyway, for now,
    i want first to blnce the mod s much as i can ,
    before advancin on with more stuff.

    after i get the speeds right - i wanna balace the civics more :)

    thank you for playing :)
     
  19. Kalimakhus

    Kalimakhus Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,249
    @Keldath

    First of all thanks for such a wonderful mod.

    I started a marathon game Yesterday. I felt that construction, training, improvement, etc. times are a little too much, even when my cities became mature enough.

    I looked into the Civ4GameSpeedInfo.xml and I realized that the figures assigned are more than what is required by number of turns ratio.

    I know from previous posts that you have made adjustments to these figures. What was your rational for these adjustments?
     
  20. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,134
    Location:
    israel
    hey kalimakhus,

    i thank you for the reply,

    on th lst config', i did it to fast, so i ajusted the speeds so it wont be fast bulid.

    im still tryng to get the right forula for the proper speed,
    if you know your way on the speed xml,
    i would love you to change what is needed to make it a better ratio.

    im no expert on the speeds, so im doing trail and error on the file.
    so, if you have any suggestions on which numbers should be -by al means tell me :)
     

Share This Page