Decrypting done... now 1GB patch?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Maquis, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. Maquis

    Maquis King

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    806
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    Wow... I was quite surprised to get a 1GB patch on launch day! I don't know if this is for the Digital Deluxe, or everyone?
     
  2. XOVERX

    XOVERX Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Downloading the patch is taking some time. I'm at 42% with 30 minutes to go.

    Some are saying it is a Digital Deluxe patch for the music files.
     
  3. Mivo

    Mivo Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    Germany
    I hope I won't have to download 1 GB+ when I get my boxed copy by the end of the week.
     
  4. hardcore_gamer

    hardcore_gamer King

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    672
    You may have to download it, in fact it is likely. I had already pre-loaded the full game and yet I still had to download this patch.

    But then again I bought the deluxe edition so perhaps its just stuff from that. Still....
     
  5. Louis XXIV

    Louis XXIV Le Roi Soleil

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    13,579
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    You probably will. It is there to make sure everything's running properly.
     
  6. XOVERX

    XOVERX Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    I'm past the patch, and now downloading files for first time setup. Specifically DirectX9.
     
  7. tom2050

    tom2050 Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5,516
    Some of us were pretty much lynch mobbed some months ago when we predicted that a 1GB download was going to be required for install, people calling them haters and such.

    A 1GB patch cannot be by accident, it's just too large. And that is not called 'a patch', it's called a huge portion of game content.
     
  8. timster

    timster Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    AZ
    It's most likely the digital deluxe package, as I didn't get the digital deluxe and the only thing my steam did this morning was go straight to decrypting.
     
  9. deanej

    deanej Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    Some of us were lynch mobbed for a lot of stuff that turned out to be true. Let's see:
    -Steam Required
    -DLC
    -Zero-Day patch
    -Did I miss anything? I get the feeling I did.

    I can't help but say "we told you so."
     
  10. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Super Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    33,969
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Hey, if you open a rant thread, i would even sticky it ;).
     
  11. kattana

    kattana Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    217
    i left my steam client up and running at home when i left for work this morning. it *should* have it all taken care of for me when i make it back
     
  12. dustlined

    dustlined Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    ^ This (which is why when people compared the size of the standard/deluxe pre-loads, they were the same)

    Basically, the bonus content wasn't preloadable. Probably an infrastructure thing.

    Good to know this in advance, being in the UK (I can prepare for a 2am start instead of a midnight start) - although I can see why this would be annoying for those who didn't know about it today...
     
  13. Dave_Oz

    Dave_Oz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Ugh, this makes me reconsider paying for all this trouble
     
  14. Senethro

    Senethro Overlord

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,230
    Location:
    The cutest of cephalopods
    I remember, but I also remember agreeing that these things were realistic possibilities. Indeed, I think the 500MB patch size estimates some people made were a little optimistic.

    But I never thought these things were bad. Patches are good. Fast, regular software updates are good and given they seem inevitable, why not do them well?

    This is a wonderful idea, do it!
     
  15. jblank

    jblank Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    I bought it through Direct 2 Drive and I have no prompts for a patch.
     

Share This Page